Customer Reviews for

One Simple Idea: Turn Your Dreams into a Licensing Goldmine While Letting Others Do the Work

Average Rating 5
( 25 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted November 19, 2011

    The book (and author) are my inspiration...

    What a great and useful book. This book is an inspiration to any entrepreneur, inventor or anybody who wants to become one. The author, Mr. Stephen Key, uses his vast experience in the field to coach how to initiate creativity and gain confidence in inventing, developing, protecting and licensing of new ideas and products. He provides so many productive tools and approches to make the idea fruitful. I found this book so useful and enjoyed reading it while working on my new ideas and patents.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2011

    Really enlightening book

    Nice to read about a subject from someone who has really done licensing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    Simple & easy guide to fullfilling your dreams!!!!

    I just finished talking to Stephen on the phone. He is personable and so eager to help you find your way through this maze of trying to get your product to market as easy as possible. Your not just getting the very best book and guide on the market to help you, you are also getting a very intelligent, caring man to stand with you through the process. Good luck my new friend!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    A Must Read for any aspiring inventor

    Thank you Stephen for writing this book! I've had a bunch of ideas for consumer products over the years but could never figure out how to profit from them. I heard about licensing a few years back but couldn't seem to get my idea in front of the right people in the right format. I've read a bunch of other books about inventing but couldn't seem to make any progress. One Simple Idea lays out a simple, cheap, effective 10-step process to evaluate your idea and present it for licensing quickly and easily. If it flies, great! If not, put that idea aside and start on the next one; none the worse for wear and a bit wiser! I'm about to start presenting the first of my ideas and can't wait to see the results. Awesome book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    This book HAS to be your next purchase!

    Stephen Key is so generous with his knowledge. If you have ideas, but always wondered what to do with those, this book is the answer. Easy to read, to the reach of everybody, 10 simple steps to be successful at licensing your idea.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    I couldn't put it down... success is just around the corner for me!

    Thank you Stephen for providing a most helpful guide. Well written and edited. Has REAL information for taking action. This book will save you BIG $$$. A must read for inventors wanting to patent and bring a product to market.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This is a must read for anyone thinking of turning an idea into a reality!!

    I have lived and learned... As a matter of fact, I have a masters degree in the "school of hard knocks"! About ten years ago, my wife and I came up with an idea. Being young and energetic, went ran with it, made a prototype, packaging, a mold, made product, and spent $150,000 and lost a whole lot of stomach lining. I can safely say, that if I would have read Stephen Key's, One Simple Idea, first... I would probably be retired and basking on a beach somewhere right now! We did everything wrong... well, actually that's not true. We did come up with an idea and we had the guts to go forward. I only wish I had the clear concise roadmap that Stephen provides. For 10 years I was bitter and upset, and then something inside of me was telling me to go to the book store and look, and without being to dramatic, that blazing yellow covered book screamed my name as I walked by. I will have to tell you, I could not put it down. My creative juices started flowing and I found that my true passion is in being a product developer. Stephen quickly and seamlessly guides you thru the 10 steps to getting your product licensed. He is a realist though, he tells you it's not easy, but with guidance and direction he helps you decide before your in deep, is this a winner and is it worth pursuing. I have only started my new journey, but with a well defined roadmap to success, I'm sure to succeed! Thank you Stephen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2011

    I can do this! I feel like I have been EMPOWERED!!!!!

    This is a great resource for anyone with an idea for an invention. Not just the book, but the free resources that Stephen tells you about in the book - especially information on his own website. It's like a regular guy speaking from his own experience. It answers the "how do I . . . ." questions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    This book should be on every inventors bookshelf!

    I don't believe there's anything left out! A complete guide without any missing steps.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    A must have - highly recommended

    This information in this book is incredible. Simple, clear and concise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    This concept can work for anyone!

    I am a product developer myself and had NO idea about what a terrifically viable option licensing was until I found Stephen Key.

    Stephen has been a wonderful resource to new product designers for many years now, always ready to offer advice, support & encouragement both personally and through his Inventright program.

    This new book is one of those books that as read it, you can't wait to turn the page, yet you don't want it to end. My book is already fully underlined and flagged throughout.

    The beauty of this book is that he sset out a very logical, achievable course of action for anyone who is serious about moving their new creations forward.

    I went down the other path and developed both a new product and a new manufacturing process, all the while having to learn about marketing, selling, managing inventory, employees, and on and on. The process has been worthwhile but how much simpler it would have been to just license the idea right from the start! In fact, I'm now a convert to this method and am in the middle of creating another product which I will immediately find a licensee for.

    Congratulations Stephen on an excellent job with this book! One can tell that you know what you're talking about, as the real life examples are compelling. You offer us ways to get over our own mental obstacles about "going up against the big guys", all the while encouraging others to reach for their dreams.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 21, 2011

    When God saw what Stephen Key had written he said, "This is good!"

    Stephen Key is the Obi-Wan Kenobi of product developers. Key is not only an accomplished inventor his is also an excellent teacher of his craft. In One Simple Idea he explains how to take a product idea and turn it into a licensed agreement with a manufacturer. At Last! A book that shows us what to do with all those "Million Dollar Ideas" we keep coming up with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 17, 2011

    Excellent! Highly recommended!

    This is an incredibly insightful step-by-step guide filled with practical knowledge for anyone interested in making money with their ideas. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2