Customer Reviews for

One Step Behind (Kurt Wallander Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2009

    Great read--until the end...

    Mankell is an intelligent writer who knows how to combine the detail of a police procedural with the drama of a thriller. His insights into present-day Sweden are particularly informative (if dismaying). I'm about to start his eighth book in the Wallander series, and can't wait for his newest effort to be published in English.

    But I do have an issue with Mr. Mankell. Reading his Wallander series is an enjoyable experience for mystery buffs, especially those who like police procedurals. What takes the edge off these experiences, however, is the way in which Mankell wraps up the stories--i.e., the apprehension of the culprit. Starting with his second effort, "The Dogs of Riga," Mankell turns Wallander into a James Bond-like character at the end of these books. After writing 400 pages of totally believable narrative about good police work, Mankell throws it all away and turns Wallander into a superhero. In "One Step Behind," Wallander locks his gun in his desk and forgets his cell phone in his office while a psychotic killer is on the loose. Of course, this enables him to capture his target unarmed and without backup, but the final scenario is without credibility--especially compared to the believability of the rest of the book.

    Not sure why Mankell felt obliged to deviate from the realism of 400 pages and switch to a Hollywood-type ending in the last 25 or 30, but it does take the edge off an otherwise extremely enjoyable reading experience.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2006

    Two thumbs up for Mankell

    One Step Behind was the first Mankell I've read, but is will not be the last. His protagonist, Kurt Wallander, is a believable and flawed character which makes the process of solving the mystery all the more realistic. A great psychological thriller.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2005

    Another Brilliant thriller by Mankell!

    You just can't put this one down. For fans of Ruth Rendell and PD James, Henning Mankell is their Swedish equivalent. Buy this one immediately!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    strong Swedish police procedural

    On Midsummer's Eve 1996, the three twentyish friends garbed in period piece costumes celebrate the holiday in the woods that is near the midpoint between their homes until someone kills the trio. Swedish Inspector Kurt Wallander just returned from vacation worries about what diabetes is doing to his health, but the shootings take precedent over his personal pity. Though the illness seems to tire him, he contends with the demands from the media, brass, and politicians to solve the case yesterday. Adding to Kurt¿s pressure is the murder of a fellow officer Svedberg with half the man¿s head blow to bits. Kurt digs deeply into the personal life of Svedberg, uncovering things he can not fathom with what he knew of his peer. As he realizes that the cases tie together and a serial killer haunts the south of Sweden, Kurt and his team constantly fails to stop an adept killing machine. ONE STEP BEYOND is not a rehash of the scripts from the TV show, but instead is a terrific English translation of a strong Swedish police procedural. Though at times the interpretation seems off, the story line provides the audience with a delightful investigation and a deep look at the aging protagonist as he struggles with health problems. The sleuthing makes for a wonderful time for those readers who relish international flavor to their law enforcement stories. However, the key to this novel is the hero, a tired person who pushes to perform his duty. The genre audience has the treat of six other Wallander cases will also be translated and published over the next two years. Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 13, 2013

    exceptional

    exceptional

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    These books are the best!

    I had never read a Mankell "Kurt Wallander" book before but now can't wait to read them all! This book got my interest right away and I really couldn't put it down. Wallander is a down to earth, smart detective, and I look forward to reading many more of his adventures.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    Veryyyyyy good!

    Exelent book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2009

    outstanding mystery novel

    This is possibly the best Wallander mystery, and that's saying something. Mankell is at the top of his Ystad game here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 31, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1