Customer Reviews for

One Summer

Average Rating 4
( 462 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(215)

4 Star

(103)

3 Star

(69)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

I really loved the book. it kept me on the edge of my seat.

posted by theReader278 on June 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Formulaic chick lit

It's the holiday season and Jack Armstrong is dying from an unspecified, incurable terminal illness. He's determined to hang on until the holidays for his wife Lizzie and their children, but he's totally bedridden. He makes it all the way to Chrismas Eve only to have ...
It's the holiday season and Jack Armstrong is dying from an unspecified, incurable terminal illness. He's determined to hang on until the holidays for his wife Lizzie and their children, but he's totally bedridden. He makes it all the way to Chrismas Eve only to have his wife die in a car accident on her way to pick up his medication.



In the blink of an eye, Lizzie's parents spring into action, farming the children out to Lizzie's family. They sell the Armstrong family home and Jack in placed in a Hospice facility to await death, alone.



Suddenly, there is a miracle! Jack has totally recovered and rehab brings him back to the man he used to be, albeit one without a home or income. Lizzie's plan for the summer was to take the children to her childhood home on the beach in South Carolina; a place her family has avoided since the death of Lizzie's twin years earlier. The rest of ONE SUMMER has Jack and his children facing the future in typical chick lit fashion.



I've been a longtime fan of David Baldacci and have read all of his books except for one. I have a personal aversion to my favorite mystery and thriller writers venturing into the realm of sappy chick lit, so I skipped THE CHRISTMAS TRAIN published in 2002 (the cover was enough to send me to another shelf in the bookstore). After reading multiple solid thrillers or mysteries by the same author, it feels fake when they decide to take a stroll down primrose lane.



When I received the ARC for ONE SUMMER, I decided to give it a try. My earlier mentioned aversion proved to be true, this novel from Baldcci is a sappy formulaic tearjerker, but I'm sure it will be a big beach read this summer. The cover alone is cute enough to sell it and it would look great on the end table in your beach house. Lynn Kimmerle

posted by Lynie on April 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 463 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 24
  • Posted August 22, 2014

    Disappointing

    There was nothing in this story that was believable. It was a little sappy besides.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2014

    Ssndra brown

    Balducci. Maxwell and king

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Such a refreshing, different read from Baldacci.  I love his Kin

    Such a refreshing, different read from Baldacci.  I love his King & Maxwell series, as well as his other novels, and I really enjoyed The Christmas Train, and this novel is no disappointment.  Yes, it's not the same genre that Baldacci normally writes, but it shows his versatility nicely.  A well done novel that reads well and REALLY grips the reader.  It was a VERY welcomed break from the normal genre I read and Baldacci delivered well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Such an awesome book! After you read the first couple of chapter

    Such an awesome book! After you read the first couple of chapters you will not want to put the book down! Each chapter always has the suspense making you want to read the next chapter. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Great story

    Loved this book......finished it in one weekend. Unexpected turns that keep you interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    ZE - awesome review

    Liked this review alot, gave a lot of info about the story without giving away too much. Makes me want to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Clomax

    Just finished "One Summer". This is certainly not David Baldacci's typical genre but it's nice to see him step out of his "comfort zone". Has the story been written before? Certainly. Have the topics of miracles and second chances been used before? Certainly. But, in my opinion, we can never be reminded too many times that miracles do happen and when love and second chances, in all walks of life, come around again we need to seize the brass ring and hold on tight. David Baldacci has achieved this with an emotional, thought provoking story. It is a short easy read that I would encourage all to consider.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    A bit fluffy, but a nice read

    I enjoyed this okay. Not a difficult story to follow, easy reading and there were tears streaming down my face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2014

    It was not what I expected from this author. I had to keep check

    It was not what I expected from this author. I had to keep checking...I thought I was reading Nicholas Sparks.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Oh so good !!

    A friend bought this book and let me read it. As soon as I finished I bought 3 more. A new one to "return" to my friend, one as a gift and one nook book. Just had to share a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Highly improbable plot, fast read.

    If you can forget the improbable plot, you might enjoy this fast read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 7, 2013

    Hey hav u heard

    The bird bird bird.b bbirds the word!Suck on dat miley cyrus

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Icekt

    Purrs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    One Summer doesn't measure up to other Baldacci books I've read.

    One Summer doesn't measure up to other Baldacci books I've read. I usually look forward to breaks in books when there is dialog, however, when I got to the dialog in One Summer, I found it annoying. I couldn't help but think that the author know nothing about the way children speak. The dialog wasn't authentic. The descriptions of what was going on in Jack's mind (the father) were perfect and evoked lots of emotion from the reader. The other downfall to this book was that the plot was predictable. I liked the characters in the book but was annoyed with the amateurish writing style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    LOVED IT

    I am a blg fan of David Have read many of his books This one is so moving and heart rendering Made me think of my husband's passing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2013

    definite winner

    I haven't read this one yet but I have read all his other books and I love this writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Highly Recommended, a must read !!

    Once I started this book I COULD NOT put it down!!!! Breath taking. What you expect to happen DOES NOT happen. always kept me guessing. LOVED IT!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Worth reading

    A good book about miracles, grief, and how to go on with raising his children. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Loved It !!  ... Read with Kleenex :)

    Loved It !!  ... Read with Kleenex :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2013

    not worth the time

    if you are used to reading baldacci's work to pass time and entertain, you will find this novel useless. it is atypical for him, and will disappoint the casual thrill seeker.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 463 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 24