Customer Reviews for

One Summer

Average Rating 4
( 457 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(213)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

I really loved the book. it kept me on the edge of my seat.

posted by theReader278 on June 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Formulaic chick lit

It's the holiday season and Jack Armstrong is dying from an unspecified, incurable terminal illness. He's determined to hang on until the holidays for his wife Lizzie and their children, but he's totally bedridden. He makes it all the way to Chrismas Eve only to have ...
It's the holiday season and Jack Armstrong is dying from an unspecified, incurable terminal illness. He's determined to hang on until the holidays for his wife Lizzie and their children, but he's totally bedridden. He makes it all the way to Chrismas Eve only to have his wife die in a car accident on her way to pick up his medication.



In the blink of an eye, Lizzie's parents spring into action, farming the children out to Lizzie's family. They sell the Armstrong family home and Jack in placed in a Hospice facility to await death, alone.



Suddenly, there is a miracle! Jack has totally recovered and rehab brings him back to the man he used to be, albeit one without a home or income. Lizzie's plan for the summer was to take the children to her childhood home on the beach in South Carolina; a place her family has avoided since the death of Lizzie's twin years earlier. The rest of ONE SUMMER has Jack and his children facing the future in typical chick lit fashion.



I've been a longtime fan of David Baldacci and have read all of his books except for one. I have a personal aversion to my favorite mystery and thriller writers venturing into the realm of sappy chick lit, so I skipped THE CHRISTMAS TRAIN published in 2002 (the cover was enough to send me to another shelf in the bookstore). After reading multiple solid thrillers or mysteries by the same author, it feels fake when they decide to take a stroll down primrose lane.



When I received the ARC for ONE SUMMER, I decided to give it a try. My earlier mentioned aversion proved to be true, this novel from Baldcci is a sappy formulaic tearjerker, but I'm sure it will be a big beach read this summer. The cover alone is cute enough to sell it and it would look great on the end table in your beach house. Lynn Kimmerle

posted by Lynie on April 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    THIS IS WORTH CHECKING OUT!

    I promise you that you won't be able to put this book down after reading the first 20 pages.You will want to know what happens next. You will want Jack to get off his deathbed and live.I loved it!

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 30, 2011

    This was David Baldacci?

    I really enjoyed this but I honestly had to keep checking the cover of the book to verify that it had David Baldacci's name on it... It was so sad and emotional, I kept thinking it very like one of Nicholas Sparks works. And there was one major emotional twist that had me thinking of Jodi Piccoult ("Sister's Keeper").

    That being said, I'm glad that Baldacci can stretch himself as an author and veer out of what most readers might consider his usual fare. There will be many fans who will not like One Summer as it is very different from his fast-paced intrigues like Absolute Power or the Camel Club series or the King and Maxwell series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    What a great read

    I bought this after reading the reviews. While it didn't think it was as awesome as some of the reviews led me to believe, it was a really great read. I cold not believe the twist of fate near the beginning of the book. And then Grandma near the end... Definitely worth picking up.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    A bit fluffy, but a nice read

    I enjoyed this okay. Not a difficult story to follow, easy reading and there were tears streaming down my face.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Worth reading

    A good book about miracles, grief, and how to go on with raising his children. I enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2013

    I wanna do it

    My c=3*pdj*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2012

    My first David Baldacci what a joy!!

    I enjoyed this book so much!! This was the first book I have read by Mr. Baldacci and look forward to reading more. The characters came alive especially the Grandma. The story line was so good and I just could not put it down. This book should be turned into a Hallmark movie. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Wonderful, i would recommend

    Not what you think by the title. It is full of action, suspense, joy, and sadness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 16, 2012

    easy read

    Very easy to get into the story. read this book in a weekend. enjoyed the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Great read!

    This hooked me on the first page, and being from a suburb of "C" town made it extra special even though it ended in the Carolina's. A real tear jerker, with a definite twist or two in it. Couldn't put the book, opps, "E-Reader" down. Well worth the $$.
    Will watch for more from David Baldacci, that's for sure....Lu, Ohio

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Good Read

    What a nice feel good book. I loved the plot and the characters. There are a couple of characters who would do well to have a whole story based on them. The family dynamics are on point. The story is not predictable and it holds your interests from the beginning. This novel is a nice departure from the author's usual political thrillers. I am glad I took a chance on the book. It makes great reading anytime.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2011

    Well Recommended

    I have read other novels by Baldacci and this one equals them. It's an easy read and enjoyable. I had several people recommend this book to me. The story has a sad but loving family interest. Miracles do happen and life does turn out to be OK. I would recommend this book for book club reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2011

    Must read

    Very sexy and outgoing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2011

    One s One Summer

    Predictable, light, beach read! Enjoyable!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 8, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    Great book, if you need something heartfelt to read this is it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Baldacci meets Nicolaus Sparks

    Although this is quite a deviation from Baldacci's usual style, it was written with the same quality we've come to expect from Baldacci. Even though this was a predictable story line, there were a few unexpected turns that stirred some emotion in me. I'm glad I read it, but think that he should continue to write the type of books he has become famous for.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This was the first book that I have read from this arthur. It was a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    A must-read. Indulge in this touch of heaven.

    Baldacci once again warms the soul with this simple tale of a family working through tragedy to rebirth. Old friends within 30 pages, the characters face their greatest fears and discover unexpected strength both within and together. Give yourself this gift of tender mercies. Morrie couldn't have said it better on his last few Tuesdays. Enjoy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    recommend to all who love good books

    A lot of guys would consider this a girl book but it is far more. I thoroughly enjoyed this read. Love Baldacci and he didn't disappoint in this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2011

    vxssww

    Djdkkfidk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 102 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6