BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

One Summer

Average Rating 4
( 457 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(213)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(67)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

I really loved the book. it kept me on the edge of my seat.

posted by theReader278 on June 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Formulaic chick lit

It's the holiday season and Jack Armstrong is dying from an unspecified, incurable terminal illness. He's determined to hang on until the holidays for his wife Lizzie and their children, but he's totally bedridden. He makes it all the way to Chrismas Eve only to have ...
It's the holiday season and Jack Armstrong is dying from an unspecified, incurable terminal illness. He's determined to hang on until the holidays for his wife Lizzie and their children, but he's totally bedridden. He makes it all the way to Chrismas Eve only to have his wife die in a car accident on her way to pick up his medication.



In the blink of an eye, Lizzie's parents spring into action, farming the children out to Lizzie's family. They sell the Armstrong family home and Jack in placed in a Hospice facility to await death, alone.



Suddenly, there is a miracle! Jack has totally recovered and rehab brings him back to the man he used to be, albeit one without a home or income. Lizzie's plan for the summer was to take the children to her childhood home on the beach in South Carolina; a place her family has avoided since the death of Lizzie's twin years earlier. The rest of ONE SUMMER has Jack and his children facing the future in typical chick lit fashion.



I've been a longtime fan of David Baldacci and have read all of his books except for one. I have a personal aversion to my favorite mystery and thriller writers venturing into the realm of sappy chick lit, so I skipped THE CHRISTMAS TRAIN published in 2002 (the cover was enough to send me to another shelf in the bookstore). After reading multiple solid thrillers or mysteries by the same author, it feels fake when they decide to take a stroll down primrose lane.



When I received the ARC for ONE SUMMER, I decided to give it a try. My earlier mentioned aversion proved to be true, this novel from Baldcci is a sappy formulaic tearjerker, but I'm sure it will be a big beach read this summer. The cover alone is cute enough to sell it and it would look great on the end table in your beach house. Lynn Kimmerle

posted by Lynie on April 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 213 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Fantastic!

    I really loved the book. it kept me on the edge of my seat.

    21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This interesting family drama is insightful

    In Ohio terminally ill Jack Armstrong prays to God that he lives to Christmas to be there for his wife and their three young children. However, his wife Lizzie dies in car accident on Christmas Eve picking up Jack's medicine.

    Lizzie's mom Bonnie ships her three grandchildren to the separate homes of her adult children, sells her late daughter's house and directs Jack to enter a hospice. Jack somewhat recovers his health as his illness goes into remission and picks up his kids. He moves to South Carolina where years ago Lizzie's twin died; there he plans to raise his children as a single dad. Bonnie sues for custody.

    This interesting family drama is insightful when the story line focuses on an ailing widower battling to keep his children with him. Bonnie is too much a villainous instead of a concerned grieving grandma worried about the well being of her late daughter's children; while a romantic interest detracts from the tale of battling relatives. Still fans will root for Jack and his three children to make it in a world in which they learn the twists of life and death.

    Harriet Klausner

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2011

    Inspiring and endearing!

    I have enjoyed his mystery and intrigue books, but I really enjoyed this uplifting story about families, resilence, and friendship. More than a beach and summer read, it is one to read whenever one wants to cry, laugh, feel inspired, or wants to read something that can lift one's spirts.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 10, 2011

    wonderful

    i loved this book. i am an avid fan of david baldacci. i have read all of his books and have never been dissapointed. i look forward to reading his next one. i love that he switches to stories on the lighter side. i enjoyed the christmas train as well. i listen to the audio tapes and love that he chooses Ron McLarty and Orlagh Cassidy. they do a fantastic job.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2012

    Surprisingly Different

    After reading several of David Baldacci's other books that dealt with intrigue and undercover suspense, I found this book was able to draw me into the characters without any suspense. The twist in the plot was quite unexpected, but kept the story interesting. I would read more of any of David Baldacci's books. This book is for the person who likes a good story line with suprises.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2011

    Read read read

    There hasn't been 1 david Baldacci book I have not read nor
    have there been i did not enjoy if you like mysteriers then read the camel club if you want fiction then continue reading all of his books they are just great

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    This is one of his best books he has written. I stopped buying h

    This is one of his best books he has written. I stopped buying his books and did buy this one and it was VERY good! You won't be sorry if u purchase it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2014

    What a faboulos book.

    This book is perfit for every child.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2014

    wonderful read - could not put down!!!

    Baldacci is one of my favorite authors and this did not disappoint. It was up there with Wishing You Well that was my favorite read of all times. If you have not, please read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Such a refreshing, different read from Baldacci.  I love his Kin

    Such a refreshing, different read from Baldacci.  I love his King & Maxwell series, as well as his other novels, and I really enjoyed The Christmas Train, and this novel is no disappointment.  Yes, it's not the same genre that Baldacci normally writes, but it shows his versatility nicely.  A well done novel that reads well and REALLY grips the reader.  It was a VERY welcomed break from the normal genre I read and Baldacci delivered well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2014

    Such an awesome book! After you read the first couple of chapter

    Such an awesome book! After you read the first couple of chapters you will not want to put the book down! Each chapter always has the suspense making you want to read the next chapter. 

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2014

    Great story

    Loved this book......finished it in one weekend. Unexpected turns that keep you interested.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    ZE - awesome review

    Liked this review alot, gave a lot of info about the story without giving away too much. Makes me want to read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    Clomax

    Just finished "One Summer". This is certainly not David Baldacci's typical genre but it's nice to see him step out of his "comfort zone". Has the story been written before? Certainly. Have the topics of miracles and second chances been used before? Certainly. But, in my opinion, we can never be reminded too many times that miracles do happen and when love and second chances, in all walks of life, come around again we need to seize the brass ring and hold on tight. David Baldacci has achieved this with an emotional, thought provoking story. It is a short easy read that I would encourage all to consider.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2014

    Oh so good !!

    A friend bought this book and let me read it. As soon as I finished I bought 3 more. A new one to "return" to my friend, one as a gift and one nook book. Just had to share a really good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2013

    Icekt

    Purrs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2013

    LOVED IT

    I am a blg fan of David Have read many of his books This one is so moving and heart rendering Made me think of my husband's passing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2013

    Highly Recommended, a must read !!

    Once I started this book I COULD NOT put it down!!!! Breath taking. What you expect to happen DOES NOT happen. always kept me guessing. LOVED IT!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2013

    Loved It !!  ... Read with Kleenex :)

    Loved It !!  ... Read with Kleenex :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2013

    A GREAT STORY

    I had the plot all laid out and I was still surprised. David Baldacci is the greatest!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 213 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 11