Customer Reviews for

One Summer

Average Rating 4
( 454 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(212)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(37)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

I really loved the book. it kept me on the edge of my seat.

posted by theReader278 on June 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

Formulaic chick lit

It's the holiday season and Jack Armstrong is dying from an unspecified, incurable terminal illness. He's determined to hang on until the holidays for his wife Lizzie and their children, but he's totally bedridden. He makes it all the way to Chrismas Eve only to have ...
It's the holiday season and Jack Armstrong is dying from an unspecified, incurable terminal illness. He's determined to hang on until the holidays for his wife Lizzie and their children, but he's totally bedridden. He makes it all the way to Chrismas Eve only to have his wife die in a car accident on her way to pick up his medication.



In the blink of an eye, Lizzie's parents spring into action, farming the children out to Lizzie's family. They sell the Armstrong family home and Jack in placed in a Hospice facility to await death, alone.



Suddenly, there is a miracle! Jack has totally recovered and rehab brings him back to the man he used to be, albeit one without a home or income. Lizzie's plan for the summer was to take the children to her childhood home on the beach in South Carolina; a place her family has avoided since the death of Lizzie's twin years earlier. The rest of ONE SUMMER has Jack and his children facing the future in typical chick lit fashion.



I've been a longtime fan of David Baldacci and have read all of his books except for one. I have a personal aversion to my favorite mystery and thriller writers venturing into the realm of sappy chick lit, so I skipped THE CHRISTMAS TRAIN published in 2002 (the cover was enough to send me to another shelf in the bookstore). After reading multiple solid thrillers or mysteries by the same author, it feels fake when they decide to take a stroll down primrose lane.



When I received the ARC for ONE SUMMER, I decided to give it a try. My earlier mentioned aversion proved to be true, this novel from Baldcci is a sappy formulaic tearjerker, but I'm sure it will be a big beach read this summer. The cover alone is cute enough to sell it and it would look great on the end table in your beach house. Lynn Kimmerle

posted by Lynie on April 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 212 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11
  • Posted July 31, 2013

    A Tear Jerker

    I'm used to Baldacci's suspense/thriller books, so this sensitive, emotional story came as quite the surprise, but what a pleasant surprise. I loved this book. The story and characters captured me right from the beginning, and I couldn't put it down until I reached the end. It had some of the characteristic Baldacci twists and turns, and did not disappoint. Have a box of tissues at the ready! Great read and would definitely recommend.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    Highly Recommended. One of the best.

    Loved this story. Everything David Baldacci writes is good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    A Mist Read!

    Think this is one of the best Baldacci books yet!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2013

    Highly recommened

    It was VERY good. Different from most of his books that I really like also, but I really enjoyed it. Wish it would have went on forever!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Bre

    K

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Blueflame

    Im so bored can someone talk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2013

    this is one of the best books I have ever read. I hope David fin

    this is one of the best books I have ever read. I hope David finds the time to write another book as wonderful as this one 5 star

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2013

    I have not been a reader of Baldacci's mysteries, so I don't kno

    I have not been a reader of Baldacci's mysteries, so I don't know his work. A friend recommended this book, It was a wonderful family story. I enjoyed it immensely and would recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2013

    Wanna do "it"

    My fat bo.obs r ready. (•)(•)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    A Deeper Message than expected

    An easily read story that moves from scene to scene smoothly. After my book club discussed the events we all realized what a rich plot with many twists that are memorable and should be reread. Food for thought and discussion topics include: terminal illnes and it's effects on family, teen age angst, unexpected death, single father of three, communication styles, extended family issues and the written word's power, etc. Appropriate read for teens as well as adults. Great book to read as a family. It will provide topics for critical discussion between generations.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2012

    Omg

    This book is very emotional to me!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2012

    Great Read.

    I really liked One Summer by David Baldacci. It had a fantastic storyline and was a genuine feel good book. Highly rated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2012

    Best b Amazing Book

    This is a must read book. It is a very short read but it is just so good. At first it made me really sad and i didnt want to read it anymore but it is against my nature to stop in the middle of a book. I am soooooooo glad i didnt. Must read NOW!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 23, 2012

    Wanda

    Absolutely a wonderful book, so moving and full of love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Very good

    Very good book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2012

    Quick read but worth it. Loved it!

    Quick read but worth it. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2014

    Z.E.

    Wow. This book has everything you want for a qiet rainy afternoon escape. The story centers on Jack who is facing the most fearful of imminant deaths, his own, no thanks to a terminal illness(unfortunately the author doesn't reveal what thati llness is, minor pet peeve for realism's sake) and he's preparing his family for his passing. Well, a stroke of strange albeit cruel fate leaves Jack alive and sadly widowed. This is reversal of situations in the worst way of course. In order to make sense of it all, Jack takes his family to South Carolina at a beach house for the summer. Little by little he begins to come to terms with the surprising twists and turns of life and in the process helps his family to heal. This book will leave you laughing and crying and then laughing again and it will have you cheering for the strength of human spirit right down to the very last page



    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2012

    Excellent read

    Read it in one night...stayed up all night reading it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 3, 2012

    One Summer

    Excellent read. Enjoyed it thoroughly as I do all David Baldacci novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 29, 2012

    Another must-read from David Baldacci

    As an avid reader of Baldacci's work, "One Summer" was nice change of pace from the suspense and action (Camel Club and Sean and Maxwell); the character development is exquisite. Jack's recovery was as unexpected as Lizzie's passing, and you felt the angst as a reader. If anything can be said about Baldacci's work, is that he takes you to where the characters are.

    The family's move to South Carolina was a gut wrenching one, as Jack came to learn quite a bit of Lizzie's past and also inevitably about his shortcomings.

    All in all, an amazing read! Highly recommend!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 212 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 11