Customer Reviews for

One Summer

Average Rating 4
( 455 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(212)

4 Star

(102)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(37)

1 Star

(38)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Fantastic!

I really loved the book. it kept me on the edge of my seat.

posted by theReader278 on June 30, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

Formulaic chick lit

It's the holiday season and Jack Armstrong is dying from an unspecified, incurable terminal illness. He's determined to hang on until the holidays for his wife Lizzie and their children, but he's totally bedridden. He makes it all the way to Chrismas Eve only to have ...
It's the holiday season and Jack Armstrong is dying from an unspecified, incurable terminal illness. He's determined to hang on until the holidays for his wife Lizzie and their children, but he's totally bedridden. He makes it all the way to Chrismas Eve only to have his wife die in a car accident on her way to pick up his medication.



In the blink of an eye, Lizzie's parents spring into action, farming the children out to Lizzie's family. They sell the Armstrong family home and Jack in placed in a Hospice facility to await death, alone.



Suddenly, there is a miracle! Jack has totally recovered and rehab brings him back to the man he used to be, albeit one without a home or income. Lizzie's plan for the summer was to take the children to her childhood home on the beach in South Carolina; a place her family has avoided since the death of Lizzie's twin years earlier. The rest of ONE SUMMER has Jack and his children facing the future in typical chick lit fashion.



I've been a longtime fan of David Baldacci and have read all of his books except for one. I have a personal aversion to my favorite mystery and thriller writers venturing into the realm of sappy chick lit, so I skipped THE CHRISTMAS TRAIN published in 2002 (the cover was enough to send me to another shelf in the bookstore). After reading multiple solid thrillers or mysteries by the same author, it feels fake when they decide to take a stroll down primrose lane.



When I received the ARC for ONE SUMMER, I decided to give it a try. My earlier mentioned aversion proved to be true, this novel from Baldcci is a sappy formulaic tearjerker, but I'm sure it will be a big beach read this summer. The cover alone is cute enough to sell it and it would look great on the end table in your beach house. Lynn Kimmerle

posted by Lynie on April 16, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 212 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 11
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    Amazing

    So heartbreaking, uplifting, real life! I thouroghly enjoyed this novel through its unexpected twists and turns.... with all the truth of parenthood in its most complicated unconditional, all encompassing love.... Very well written.....

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 21, 2012

    So different but Oh so enjoyable

    Definitely a departure from his usual themes but a great read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Loved it. Thanks Ms. JOY!!!!!B

    Very good book. Bring your kleenex with while reading

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    one summer by David Baldacci Jack is on his deathbed, but his


    one summer by David Baldacci
    Jack is on his deathbed, but his wife dies and the kids are sent to other homes.
    In SC he gets better and rejoins all the kids to be a family again.
    Jack returned from the war with many medals is a construction worker and after he had worked 3 hours he was getting pains in his back, legs, all over.
    The doctors told him 6 months if he was lucky. They were in Ohio where her family had moved to due to her dads' job relocation.
    Jack was getting worse, on oxygen and taking pain meds.
    3 kids and he's not sure how they are going to handle his severe illness.
    He's written Lizzie letters, numbered, one for the last weeks of his life.
    Lizzie wants to spend one summer at the Palace, her summer home and Jack thought her and the kids would enjoy it.
    Lizzie leaves to get his meds at the pharmcy, roads are icy and next he's awake and cops are telling him she's dead.
    Lot of changes occur when he's in the nursing home when his daughter smiles at him. He does recover and nobody has a clue as to why.
    He collects the kids and bring them all to live in Cleveland, Ohio and they will summer at the Palace, that he can fix up. Lizzie's lighthouse is on the property also.
    Lizzie's grandmother who had just passed away had left a note with her lawyer for Jack when he showed up with the kids.
    Life of living at the beach and the everyday chores and parties, sand angels, all this brings back nice memories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    David Baldacci is an amazing author and it show in this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Silverbrook

    They are warriors now.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2012

    I highly recommend placing a box of tissue next to you before beginning this wonderful book.

    Reviewed by Anne B. for Readers Favorite

    When readers hear the name David Baldacci they think of intrigue and thrillers. Baldacci’s "One Summer" will leave readers with mixed emotions. Die hard Baldacci fans that cannot deal with change will be disappointed. However, my reaction was one of great excitement. Baldacci offers readers a plot that is completely different from anything he has published before. For me, "One Summer" brought out a wide variety of emotions. I laughed at the antics of little Jackie; I felt the pain of Jack, Mickie and Bonnie; I cried; I laughed; and at times I became angry.

    Our story began on a sad note. Former Ranger Jack is very ill and has no hope of surviving. His goal was to survive until Christmas. With only five more days until Christmas, each day he wrote a letter to his beloved wife Lizzie. A tragic auto accident took Lizzie’s life and left three children motherless. Family members separated the children and left Jack alone to die. Miracles do happen, Jack is healed. He works hard to regain his strength and his children. Against the wishes of his angry and grieving mother in law, the family is reunited. Jack moves his family from Ohio to a place in South Carolina, where Lizzie grew up.

    There is so much more to this story but I do not want to give away too much of the plot. Baldacci has created a tale that kept me enthralled to the very end. This review is on the audio format. The music that was used to heighten the sense of danger was magnificent. I could see the hint of bits of mystic happenings in this tale. I felt as if Lizzie was looking down from heaven and watching over her family. I liked the characters. If you have ever raised a teenage daughter you just might see a bit of your child in Mickie. Jack and Lizzie had a unique relationship, a marriage made in heaven. Readers grieve alongside him and cheer him along. Cory and Jackie had smaller parts in the plot but they also had distinct personalities. I loved the characters Liam, Susan and Sam. Bonnie was a unique character; I could understand her anger and her grief. I believe Baldacci captured the essence of a mother grieving for her adult daughter.

    I cannot say enough about this book in such a short review. I loved it and hope David Baldacci will write more books along this line. I was reminded of Nicholas Sparks. I highly recommend placing a box of tissue next to you before beginning this wonderful book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Touching

    Very very very good a must read for sure !

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Douglas

    All I can say is "WOW"!! Excellent book. Very different from his other ones, but very good!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2011

    Great book!

    This book grabs you from the very first page. I read this in one day because I could not put it down! Very moving.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2011

    Loved this book :)

    This book was a great read. I couldnt put it down as I began to read it and it took me only a few sittings to finish it. If you like stories about mircles, love and all that "chick flicky" stuff, this is a book for you. Enjoy :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 21, 2011

    GREAT READ

    I'm quickly becoming a serious fan of Baldacci. I just love his style of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very good!

    It was a great read and much different from his normal fare. A great story how a man that survives a terrible desease only to lose his wife in an accident. How he finally manages to reconnect not only with his children, but life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    I loved the story. Enjoyed reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2011

    A perfect summer read! Highly recommended!

    I received this audiobook for review from Hachette Audio. I did not receive any compensation for my review, and the views expressed herein are my own. I should preface this review by saying that this is not the type of book that I normally pick up, but the synopsis was very appealing to me and I thought that this would make a perfect summer read! This is a heartbreaking love story, and you will be in tears as you read this! Jack Armstrong, a young married man in his mid-30s with three children, is dying of a terminal disease. As his family prepares for his death, the unthinkable happens - Jack's wife, Lizzie, is killed in an automobile accident. If that wasn't bad enough, his in-laws take the children away from their father to live across the country. And if THAT wasn't bad enough, they split the children up with the eldest child staying with their maternal grandparents and the two younger ones living with each maternal aunt. Can a protagonist be any more tragic? He loses his wife and his children in one fell swoop. Left to die alone without the comfort of his children, Jack is taken into a hospice facility to live-out his remaining days. The miraculous happens and, instead of dying, Jack gets better! He improves gradually and is moved to a rehabilitative facility to regain the use of and strengthen his atrophied muscles. Wanting desperately to reunite his family is what drives this man to overcome the odds. Baldacci is a new-to-me author, and I loved this book! This is one of those books that you read with a lump in your throat and an ache in your chest, with wet Kleenexes strewn about, and a tear-streaked face. I couldn't help but imagine myself in a similar situation and how devastating it would be to lose my husband and be separated from my children! Talk about an unbearable situation! Baldacci's prose is beautiful and touching, especially as he reads the lovely letters that he had written to his wife for her to read after his death. Oh my, you cannot help but be moved to tears! The message that Baldacci leaves the reader with is that love transcends all, and it is not limited to time or space or even life. We all need to be reminded of this from time to time, and anyone who has lost a loved one will find comfort in this poignant novel. So, it isn't just about loss and grief, but also about love and life and healing. This is also my first audiobook with Ron McLarty and Orlagh Cassidy as narrators. I enjoyed having the two narrators, McLarty as Jack and other male characters and Cassidy as Lizzie and other female characters. Both narrators gave unique characteristics to each person, so it was easy to differentiate between them all. The narration was superb, and rich with emotion. I felt as though I was watching a play with my eyes closed, and I was completely captivated by their voices. I was surprised that some instrumental interludes were added to the reading, and it did have the desired dramatic effect. I loved One Summer, and I plan to read more of Baldacci! MY RATING: 5 stars!! I loved it, and I highly recommend it!! Thank you, Hachette Audio!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    good summer read

    You would think this is a sad little book, and don't get me wrong you will need some kleenex to get through it,but it is truly uplifting! Easy weekend reading!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    "One Summer" - I LOVED IT...."The Chateau"- I LOVED IT!!! Two great books!

    Oh my heavens, I lOVED ONE SUMMER. It as such a great book, I used up a lot of tissues for this novel, but then began to smile through the tears. It held my interest, and I loved the dynamics of the family. A feel good story. Excellent!********************************************* I also purchased THE CHATEAU by CD SWANSON- it was a fantastic read! Great characters, plot was phenomenal and it held my interest and kept me on the edge of my seat until the explosive climax. LOVED IT! *********************************************************************** Two great books and I am so happy to have read them! Highly recommend both!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2011

    Great vacation read!!

    Loved it!! could not put it down!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2011

    Loved it!

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2011

    The best in so many ways!!!

    I could not put down this book when i got it. Its all you could want in a book. I loved it and i know you will to, if you dont.. you dont have a heart!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 41 – 60 of 212 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 3 of 11