Customer Reviews for

One Summer

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(17)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Me

    I read this book years ago; but I had to downsize, after the kids went to college and during the move I lost it. Now l'm happy I found it again in the nook, because it is a big favorite. Also a big favorite is "After the Night", give it a try if you haven't read it, you won't be sorry.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2013

    Always love Karen

    Another great read from karen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Decent read

    Good read but not her best

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Loved it!

    Read it a few times. Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2012

    Great Author

    Easy read before bedtime

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    Not Bad

    Loved the hero Johnny the ex con, super bad boy, with a brain. The heroine was to perfect, stiff and boring. Covers quite a few taboos teacher/ student affair, parole after 10yrs. for murder and younger man/ older woman. It could have been better, but did love Johnny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Outstanding!

    I couldn't put it down. I never read a book twice but I will make an exception with this one. I just wish there was a sequel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Touching and Titillating!

    A steamy read with vulnerable,sexy character's. One of those books you will read again and again! My all time favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2011

    Highly Recommended - One of my favorites

    A lovely, spicy romance to warm you on a winter night; coupled with a murder mystery to keep you intrigued. A hero, vulnerable enough to be believable will make you want to keep turning the pages. It's a book I've reread many times.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2011

    Eh....

    Not my favorite by a long shot. Kinda high school-ish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2007

    Great story!

    Johnny Harris is considered 'trash' by the people of town. When he is convicted of murder, on very little evidence, most people see it as no more than could be expected out of 'his kind'. But Rachel Grant, who always does the proper thing, never believed in his guilt. As his ex-teacher she saw a side of Johnny that others never did. When Johnny comes home he's belligerent and angry. He's also as hooked on Rachel as he has been for half of his life, but feels she could never be happy with a guy like him. It's both heartbreaking and heartwarming to watch these two try to overcome the differences in their personalities and life styles to be together. Granted there wasn't much murder mystery involved but it wasn't needed with the rest of this story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2006

    FANTASTIC!

    This is my ALL TIME favorite book. I absolutely love it. The love story between Rachel and Johnny is romantic, hot, exciting, riveting and sweet. I felt so bad for Johnny's upbringing/childhood and the events that lead up to his incarceration. He seemed like such a sweet and well intentioned character and, unfortunately, bad things happen to nice people. Rachel is equally as sweet. She doesn't have a bad bone in her body and you can totally understand why she and Johnny make a beautiful couple. This is a great book and I highly recommend to anyone looking for a little alone time in the world of Rachel & Johnny! Only ONE complaint: We didn't get a lot of insight into what Johnny was thinking. I think there's like two pages or so (maybe more) devoted to Johnny's point of view. The rest are all about Rachel's thought's. I don't know. Maybe Johnny's actions speak louder than words. It was a great read, however. I loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2005

    ROMANTIC!

    This is the most ROMANTIC book I have read to date by Karen Robards. Ms. Robard's is a master at combining romance and mystery into her books. Her books come to life with each turn of the page. I couldn't put this book down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2003

    CAPTIVATING

    Never before have I read a novel so captivating in all my literary experiences. 'One Summer' fiercely held my heart and soul from the primary page to Johnny's verbal long awaited 'I love you' on the last. This has been my first Robard's experience and I HIGHLY recommend that if you're an escapist you read it. You'll be filled with immense enthusiasm as you tear through each page with thirst for what's to happen next. Be sure to lay yourself down without anticipation of getting up because you'll be reluctant to put away this shear indulgence.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2002

    STEAMY!

    Great summer read! Sexual tension was taunt and vibrant. I loved this book! If you want a story that makes you remember that high-school hotty bad-boy and wonder what he turned out like a few years later... this is your book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2000

    Incredible!!!

    I could hardly put it down. Ms. Robards is fantastic. She knows how to give her readers a great story. With an intriguing plot and sensational characters, it is a must read. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2