BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

One Thousand Gifts: A Dare to Live Fully Right Where You Are

Average Rating 4
( 199 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(116)

4 Star

(38)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(17)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

This book actually somehow gets through!

This beautiful book is a touching, inspiring testimony to how to live each day fully, and embracing God's grace in our lives. This gets right down to the core of you. The author says "It is impossible to give thanks, and simultaneously feel fear." This is the most profo...
This beautiful book is a touching, inspiring testimony to how to live each day fully, and embracing God's grace in our lives. This gets right down to the core of you. The author says "It is impossible to give thanks, and simultaneously feel fear." This is the most profound statement, as, don't most of us live in fear? We need to STOP! We need to embrace God's grace in our every day lives. So her answer, her gift that she has written out with so much wisdom in this book, is a profound declaration of thankfulness, gratitude for all of the good things in our lives. Out of some of life's hardest circumstances, the author is delivering one of God's most powerful instructions, one that we overlook every day: Do not fear. This is amazing and inspiring and as many times as we've heard these words, this book somehow actually gets through!

posted by BLUEEYEBE on January 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

48 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

Message Gets Lost in the Words

Voskamp shares from her heart with stories about her family and her own spiritual journey, and I think anyone reading this book would come away with a heightened sense of looking for God's grace in daily life whether it be having one's child come through surgery or the ...
Voskamp shares from her heart with stories about her family and her own spiritual journey, and I think anyone reading this book would come away with a heightened sense of looking for God's grace in daily life whether it be having one's child come through surgery or the admiring the beauty of a full moon. But, this was a difficult book for me to read. Voscamp is obviously a poet at heart but the entire book is sing-songy with long descriptions and awkward word phrases that I found distracting. It doesn't read as someone would actually talk in real life conversation. Those who like that kind of wordy, poetic narrative with mystical undertones will enjoy this book. Those who don't will likely struggle to find the message in the sea of words. For me, it was just too much page after page, and it took me a while to finish the book because I had to take it in small doses. I tried to stay focused on what I felt the message of the book was: live fully and abundantly in daily life by being thankful for the gifts that come from God's grace, no matter how small. I am inspired to live more fully in this kind of gratitude.

I received a copy of this book for review by the publisher but the opinion of it is my own and was not solicited nor required.

posted by Books_And_Chocolate on February 27, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 201 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    Message Gets Lost in the Words

    Voskamp shares from her heart with stories about her family and her own spiritual journey, and I think anyone reading this book would come away with a heightened sense of looking for God's grace in daily life whether it be having one's child come through surgery or the admiring the beauty of a full moon. But, this was a difficult book for me to read. Voscamp is obviously a poet at heart but the entire book is sing-songy with long descriptions and awkward word phrases that I found distracting. It doesn't read as someone would actually talk in real life conversation. Those who like that kind of wordy, poetic narrative with mystical undertones will enjoy this book. Those who don't will likely struggle to find the message in the sea of words. For me, it was just too much page after page, and it took me a while to finish the book because I had to take it in small doses. I tried to stay focused on what I felt the message of the book was: live fully and abundantly in daily life by being thankful for the gifts that come from God's grace, no matter how small. I am inspired to live more fully in this kind of gratitude.

    I received a copy of this book for review by the publisher but the opinion of it is my own and was not solicited nor required.

    48 out of 59 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    This book actually somehow gets through!

    This beautiful book is a touching, inspiring testimony to how to live each day fully, and embracing God's grace in our lives. This gets right down to the core of you. The author says "It is impossible to give thanks, and simultaneously feel fear." This is the most profound statement, as, don't most of us live in fear? We need to STOP! We need to embrace God's grace in our every day lives. So her answer, her gift that she has written out with so much wisdom in this book, is a profound declaration of thankfulness, gratitude for all of the good things in our lives. Out of some of life's hardest circumstances, the author is delivering one of God's most powerful instructions, one that we overlook every day: Do not fear. This is amazing and inspiring and as many times as we've heard these words, this book somehow actually gets through!

    19 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2011

    This is a book to be experienced!

    This is a book not to be read, but to be experienced. Mrs. Voskamp wrote the book in present tense as though it were happening right now. The result was that it seemed as though I was reading her thoughts as they were happening even as I read her words. It was not an easy to read book. It's heavy reading. There is a lot of heart baring and heart sharing in this book.

    The initial chapters are full of the pain of tragedy and the ways that her family's life was destroyed by the tragedy and grief. It's very hard to read such raw pain, especially in present tense. The pain of her childhood followed her into her marriage and her motherhood.

    The journey of change begins as Mrs. Voskamp is challenged to give thanks, eucharisteo, for one thousand things, one thousand gifts. It continues through countless offerings of thanks to God even in the suffering that she has experienced in her life and that her loved ones have suffered. She writes of pain--emotional and physical pain and how God draws her close and heals her heart. The book covers about a year and a half of her adult life; but, it reaches back to a time when she was a small child and tragedy struck.

    She talks of the struggles of owning a family farm, raising a large family, homeschooling, homemaking, and family crises. God draws her closer and teaches her so much by making her aware of unnoticed gifts... the moon, the falling raindrops, the blue of her children's eyes. All gifts. All to be treasured but ultimately to lead us to a deeper love of the Giver of all good gifts. Ultimately the Love of God the Father overwhelms her and she finds peace in His love and His care for her.

    As I said earlier, it was not an easy book to read; but, I found myself challenged to look for those things in my life that are gifts. To be thankful for them. Deeply thankful to God.

    I will read this book again. I recommend it highly. I give it four stars instead of five only because it was very difficult for me to read in first person yet jumping backward and forward in time.



    I received this book for free from Zondervan in exchange for an honest book review.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2011

    Highly recommended, life-changing

    This book has changed how I look and perceive everything around me! I am learning to see God's gifts in my life and experiencing joy like never before. While I have always been thankful for God's blessings, the naming of these blessings has caused me to see God in the details of my life and to be more grateful. I am overwhelmed by God's goodness and love for me. God has gifted Ann with incredible and beautiful writing and I am very thankful for her willingness to used by Him.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2011

    Life changing...

    I keep going back...to this book that has changed my perspective on life in this new year. It is moving and has motivated me to leave my discontent and restlessness to start my own *dare*...a gratitude journal. Ann lives the grittiness of everyday life as a wife and mother and helps us to see God in the daily...the mundane...the ordinariness in which each moment is a an epiphany of God's love in our life...even in trials and setbacks. I am indebted to her and her writings. I am purchasing this for several friends...I wouldn't be a true friend if I didn't!!

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 14, 2011

    A Life Changing Must Read!

    Let me tell you up front to buy more than one copy as you will definitely want to keep yours and yet you will want everyone you know to have a copy also! It's a great read. Very thought provoking and contemplative. It will change your life for good and it is truly a wonderful book. Ann has been anointed with a gift to reach deeper than the usual and to reach into the soul. Deeply moving!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome read, I could not put it down

    Ann Voskamp writes in a very " descriptive poetic" style. I fell in love with this book and she opened my eyes to the wonderful gifts God has given me! I live my days not having to search for happiness, I just have to see and give thanks to God. This book has changed me, I can count hundreds of gifts that surround me. The words are much more saturated with life, love and happiness when spoken out loud. The rhythm of her words, is calming and comforting all at the same time. Read this book together with your girlfriends over coffee, they will love,love it. I promise you !!!!!!!!!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 13, 2012

    I think Ann is a genius!

    Ann Voskamp's insight will amaze you. Or, maybe I should speak for myself. Ann's observations are so simple and right on. They are so simple, they could be written off as no big deal. Oftentimes the obvious is overlooked. And, the act of giving thanks falls into this category. We all know that saying thank you is a good thing. But what we don't realize consciously is that the act of giving thanks is powerful beyond all reason. I really love this book and I'm so thankful for Ann and her book (and obviously the publishers for recognizing the brilliance contained therein). This book is guaranteed to make your life happier if you are ready for all that grace. Highly recommend. Very highly.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Beautifully written, requiring thought on the Reader's part

    I am only about 2/3's of the way through this book because I keep going back to the front and re-reading parts of it. But that's okay, because this isn't the type of book you power through in one night to find out the surprise ending. It's thought provoking and comforting, which is an unusual combination even for an inspirational book. I keep reading and thinking, "Can it possibly be that simple?" The basic premise of praise and thanking allowing us to learn God's grace, where we could never earn it. I'm not giving this one away, so I'll probably have to buy more copies for my friends. It's way too good not to share.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2011

    Real

    I adore this book... its a refreshing autumn wind, a cool drink on a summer day, absolutely inspiring and humbling to read. Its an experience that stays with you for a long, long time. Worth re-reading over and over for sure!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    hard to follow

    i really wanted to like this book. i saved it to read on vacation and found it very difficut to follow because of the writing style. i couldnt make it past page 80 and i really had to force myself to get that far. i hate to not finish a book but i dont think i will be able to finish this one.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 25, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Bought on recommendation of friends not sure I will recommend

    I am finding it very hard to follow her writing style, at least I think that is where my problem is. She tends to take the long way around to say what she wants to say. A friend and I are reading this together and we both are finding the same difficulty in reading this book. Her premise is very achievable if you can get past her winding road.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 15, 2011

    Wonderful

    What a WONDERFUL book! Immediately after reading a few chapters I started making a list of the precious gifts from God.

    How many of us feel it is our perogative to indulge in every pleasure we possibly can? How about those who feel pleasure is a right that has to be earned?

    Once you read this book it isn't hard to see the gifts all around us. For instance, this morning after getting out of bed I saw a cardinal and his mate right outside my window. How beautiful they were and how much joy it gave me to watch them.

    Go ahead and start your treasure hunt, look for the gifts already given to us.

    I received a free e-copy of this book from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2011

    Love this book. Highly recommended.

    As someone who has been following Ann Voskamp's blog, A Holy Experience, for almost 3 years now, this book did not disappoint. I must admit that the first few chapters were difficult to read because of the emotion but what is sparked from the tragedy her family has seen is beautiful. It has sparked in me a desire to see the beautiful and difficult moments as gifts from a loving God who only wants us to grow in our trust in Him and our walk with Him. I will undoubtedly recommend this to friends and strangers alike and read it again and again.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2013

    I like the idea of this book, counting your blessings, and looki

    I like the idea of this book, counting your blessings, and looking at life from a different angle.  
    I purchased this book with hopes of getting a new perspective on  what to be thankful for, other than the obvious things.
    I am very disappointed in this book.  I found it to be depressing, and very difficult to continue reading.  I did finish it.  
    I found it a waste of my time, honestly, and did not get much out of it.  I really did NOT enjoy her style of writing at all. 
    NOT worth the money, or the time, in my opinion.  :(

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 9, 2012

    This is an excellent book. I have read the book of Genesis mult

    This is an excellent book. I have read the book of Genesis multiple times but Ann opens up a whole new world for me to ponder upon. Excellent work. Once of the best books I have read thus far. You have to read this book. I am a software developer and I read extensively, but this book has a touch of grace. Ann is a very talented writer. God bless.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2012

    Beautiful writing. Poetic. Inspiring. Real. Ann shares from her

    Beautiful writing. Poetic. Inspiring. Real. Ann shares from her heart. The practice of gratitude in the midst of ALL life has changed me for good. I would recommend this book to all. This book is challenging. It is not just about looking for the easy thankfuls in life but in making your life thanks in the midst of all circumstances. It is about looking at life from a different perspective. Trusting and seeing God's hand all around us.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 13, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    This book helped me acknowledge my own fear and lack of trust in

    This book helped me acknowledge my own fear and lack of trust in God. Ann Voskamp shares who she is and what she has learned through her journey of journaling her one thousand (plus) gifts from God. This is a book that all women should read! The aspect of Communion is so deep and Ann helps us dig into our own souls to discover God's desire to be fully one with us.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Worth the effort

    I won't go into all the reasons I love this book...because it's all been said in the other 5 star reviews. However, it is true that this is not a book that you will speed through. Please, don't let that keep you from reading this book! If you have to read in small snippets in order to process what is written, well...that's fine. Read slowly. Read with purpose. Read and then re-read if necessary. For some, her writing speaks to their soul and flows from the page. But, for some, it will take effort to get used to her style. Please press on! It's worth it!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    Incredible! Best book of the year

    Touching, inspiring, profound, and spirit-filled. Highly recommend this great-insight book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 201 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11