BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

One Thousand and One Nights (Entangled Ever After)

Average Rating 3.5
( 26 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 13, 2013

    Ok,si this was a interesting book to read.And it was tha first b

    Ok,si this was a interesting book to read.And it was tha first book like this one that I ever read.Zombies??! Nice.

    But I don`t enjoy it so much that i`ve wanted.There wore parts that I just couldn't stop and parts that I don`t wanted to read it any more.It was bittersweet.

    The story was good,I mean I love zombies.They are my favorites scary persons,if I can say like that.Just white the writing I have some problemes.I thing this story needs not so much details about the fact,just more details about the person,the actions.I know,my opinion.But I enjoy it.More tha last part.:))

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sheri has been bitten by a zombie - many times over - but the in

    Sheri has been bitten by a zombie - many times over - but the infection has never materialized like it would with anybody else, and no one knows whether it is just lying dormant, or if she is somehow immune.  For a few months she lived in a remote cabin with her sister Dani, but they knew that would not last forever.




    Aleksy stumbled upon them and told them about a compound where there were other survivors and took them in.  Upon arriving, Sheri's bites were discovered and she was immediately chained and caged.  The only thing that saved her from death was when Aleksy overheard her telling stories to her sister and he was mesmerized.  He eventually took her to his room - keeping her chained of course - so that she could tell him stories.  




    As he starts to see more of Sheri and less of her bites, will he be able to let his guard down and let her in?




    Another quick little story that was a fun read.  I liked the storytelling aspect and that it was that little nugget that kept her alive.  She would travel into abandoned towns looking for libraries and books to bring back to read to Aleksy and there is just something life affirming about that to me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Halloween is not complete without a story involving zombies. Thi

    Halloween is not complete without a story involving zombies. This was a good story, and if you like your romance to include zombies you will enjoy it. I think this could have been a really great story if it was longer. Even though it does contain some important details that bring them to the point in this story, I feel a lot of details were still missing which left me with quite a few unanswered questions at the end. Hopefully, this will continue with another book or become a series because I’d love to read more of this story line.

    Sheri will do anything to protect her younger sister Dani, including being chained to a wall every night. She chases zombies to protect the people who live in the compound that took them both in when there was nowhere else to go. No one in the compound trusts Sheri because she was bitten by a zombie before Aleksy brought them there. It’s been five years since she was bitten and she has not turned, but everyone in the compound knows it will happen eventually. Aleksy could not bring himself to have her killed, so now he’s become her captor. At night he chains her to the wall and she tells him stories so that they can forget that they are fighting zombies to survive and waiting for Sheri to become one of the things they kill every day. 

    Aleksy knows he should have killed Sheri the night he saw the bite mark on her after taking her and Dani back to his compound, but there was something that told him not to do it. Day after day he waits for the moment when he will have no choice but to end her life, but each day gets harder as his feelings for her grow. He hates that he needs to chain her for the safety of the others, but secretly her stories calm him, so he’ll keep her alive as long as he can. Will he be able to kill her when that time arrives or will his growing needs put the people at the compound in jeopardy? 

    I received an e-ARC of this book for free from the publisher in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2013

    "***Received from Entangled Publishing for an honest review

    "***Received from Entangled Publishing for an honest review***
    (This is a short story/novella. This review is not based on story length but story content as length has very little to do with how much I enjoy a book.)




    This was an interesting twist based on an old Middle Eastern fairy tale with the same title. I love that this is a zombie tale, that Sheri reads, that she risks her life to find books, that she does this to ensure her sister remains protected in the camp. I love her bravery, her devotion, her smart mouth, and her impulsiveness. I like Aleksy, the camp's King, but only for specific things--his uncertainty as to why Sheri hasn't turned even though she's been bitten, his concern for her (though that seems to be shown only in private instead of in front of the others in the camp, the ones who really need to see that she's not a threat), and his moments of tenderness with her (again, only in private).




    I understand fear of the unknown; in a post-apocalyptic world, it's acceptable. What I don't like is how Sheri is treated--stripped naked, chained to a wall, not allowed to see her sister, isolated from the others in the camp for fear she might turn and infect someone else--despite her proven loyalty, despite the fact that she has not yet turned into a zombie even though she arrived at the camp with a bite mark. I suppose I can accept her treatment up to a certain point in the story, but how can I accept it when no explanation is given as to why she hasn't turned into a zombie even though she's been bitten? What makes her special enough that she bears the marks of her zombie encounters but remains unaffected? Despite what she is, how come there isn't an attempt to answer the one question on everyone's mind: Why hasn't she turned?




    Did I enjoy this tale? *shrugs* Yes, but not as much as I think I would have if an explanation had been given concerning Sheri's condition. I had too many unanswered questions by the time I got to "The End" that I felt deprived and confused. Still, it is a beautifully written mini-thriller that I would read again simply for enjoyment and entertainment."

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2013

    An interesting take on the children's classic....and on zombies.

    An interesting take on the children's classic....and on zombies. The heroine is great, a real survivor....the hero I'm not to sure about...Good story turns very sexy at the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ¿I received an eARC from the Publisher (Entangled Publishing, LL

    “I received an eARC from the Publisher (Entangled Publishing, LLC) via NetGalley for my honest opinion.”

    So I plan on making this one short and simple much like the book itself. One Thousand and One Nights was in
    fact a good read if not a bit on the slow side. I was initially drawn to the book description… A female zombie hunter
    and an avid reader, so needless to say being a zombie anything aficionado and a reader I jumped on the
    opportunity to read this one and review it.


    The book had its strong points, mainly the character development. Sheri was pretty cool if not a tad on the
    nympho side, which felt more like a need for attention than anything else and Alesky was the perfectly conflicted…
    something you could definitely understand. It was just the lack of drive in the story that almost lulled me to sleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    This was a unique story about future with zombies and less peopl

    This was a unique story about future with zombies and less people. I thought the story could have been longer to be developed more or the first of a series that would be continued.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    It is a good Halloween read, it will scare you and make you root

    It is a good Halloween read, it will scare you and make you root for the couple.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    This is a short post apocalyptic tale of fairy tales, romance an

    This is a short post apocalyptic tale of fairy tales, romance and zombies.
    Sherri is kept chained up in the bedroom of Aleksy, she stays in order to keep her sister safe. Aleksy is leader of the few remaining humans that haven’t been bitten by zombies. He should kill Sherri but finds himself intrigued by her story telling.
    The story is interrupted by fairy tales, so it’s kind of like a bunch of stories in one.  The story is already short so there is not a lot of story to the plot, but at the same time the story is engaging and you find yourself wanting to know what is going to happen to the characters in this tale.  The story flows smoothly from the plot to the story telling keeping the reader intrigued.
    The story would be a good tale to share on Halloween around a camp fire with friends.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    Sheri loved telling stories and getting in trouble. Taking care

    Sheri loved telling stories and getting in trouble. Taking care of her sister Dani after going from home to home. They packed up everything they could when the plague hit and zombies were all around. They made a home as best as they could to keep safe. When one day Sheri happen to come to an empty store for supplies but there was a human there named Alex. Sheri took Alex back to the cabin where they were staying at and Alex was telling them about the compound he was stating at with other humans. Sheri knew that Dani needed other people around and decided it would be best for them to go. When they seen that Shari had been bitten they treated her badly and chained her up to see if she would turn to a zombie. Months went by and she didn't but to pass time, she told stories to Alex. Alex put Sheri to a test to see what she could do and she was bitten again but still didn't turn. Alex finally gave in and seen Sheri for what she really was human. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 30, 2013

    I really did like this quick little read. I liked the inclusion

    I really did like this quick little read. I liked the inclusion of the Scherezade-type story-telling and how Sheri keeps herself and her little sister alive throughout the course of the book. I get the paranoia that surrounds the compound, given the whole zombie thing. What I never fully understand, and maybe it’s not really explained anywhere, is just why Sheri never is consumed by the zombie infection despite the bites she has taken.




    Aleksy is a bit of an ass, keeping Sheri chained up the way he does, but it makes sense if he’s afraid she could go zombie at any moment. And, ultimately, they find their way to a resolution and they find themselves romantically involved, but I’m not sure I could call this a happily ever after. More of a happily for now sort, because in a world like the one they exist in, can love be forever?




    So, I don’t really have too much to say about this other than I enjoyed it. Hopefully we’ll have more books set in this world. I’m apparently on a bit of a zombie kick, given I have another zombie book from Entangled to review. Heh.




    Thank you Entangled and Ms. Browne for letting me read this.




    Book provided by NetGalley in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1