Customer Reviews for

One Tiny Lie (Ten Tiny Breaths Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2013

    Loved it

    Loved ten tiny breaths but thought this one was way better. Read it in one day. Couldn't put it down!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 11, 2013

    Utterly amazing!! K.A. Tucker really knows how to write a great

    Utterly amazing!! K.A. Tucker really knows how to write a great book and she did not disappoint with One Tiny Lie. It was awesome to hear Livie's story now that she is older and going through her own trials in life. I loved how genuine the characters felt and how perfect the story came together. The pace was perfect, the plot points and tension was wonderfully done, and I wouldn't change a thing. I am completely sold as a K.A. Tucker fan and cannot wait to hear what other books and characters she has in store for the future.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 12, 2014

    The Cleary sisters are back only this time Livie has grown up.  

    The Cleary sisters are back only this time Livie has grown up.  She's heading to her first year at
    Princeton, and she is is ready to make some changes.  With the help of her sister, Kacey, and
    Reagan, her new roommate, Livie's first night at Princeton is one she will never forget.

    Besides having her first Jell-o shots, Livie wakes up to her first hangover, realizes she has gotten her
    first tattoo, and gets her first look at a naked male.  Not the way she expected to start her first year away
    from home.

    Ashton Henley is immediately captivated by the beautiful dark headed girl who blushes at his heated
    glances and nearly dislocates his jaw after a stolen kiss.  But, forthe man who seems to have
    everything he could ever want, he isn't free to take the only thing he has ever desired.

    Ashton and Livie have a hesitant friendship that is fraught with sexual tension plus that something
    extra.  While Livie begins to date Ashton's roommate, Connor, it is Ashton who is always on her mind.  
    Connor is perfect and sweet.  He always seems to say the right thing, but Ashton is always there in the
    background with an arrogant smile and a teasing touch.

    As the school year continues, Livie begins to question everything she has ever planned for her life.  But
    who is she if she isn't a straight A student?  What will she do if she doesn't become a doctor?  Could
    she set aside the "perfect" boyfriend and go after what she wants for once in her life?

    What Worked...

    First I have to say, "Damn you, Kathleen, for making me love Ashton."  Ashton is the epitome of
    everything I hate in a guy.  He is a manwhore and I cannot believe that Livie even looks at him twice.  
    BUT there is just something about this man.  Even from the beginning you can tell that there are
    extenuating circumstances and that if it were possible, he would find a way to be with Livie.  Somehow
    you just know that he's not jerking her around and that he really wants what is best for her.

    I loved that Dr. Stayner is back.  If you've read Ten Tiny Breaths, you will remember his unconventional
    approach to therapy.  I was extremely happy to see him helping Livie this time.

    The entire cast of characters was perfectly written.  I could picture every single person in my mind and I
    felt like they had become my friends as well as Livie's.

    What Didn't...

    I guess I was hoping to see more of Kacey and Trent to see how they were able to work things out after
    all that they experienced in Ten Tiny Breaths.  It wasn't necessary to enjoy this book, it was just
    something I was wishing for.

    5 out of 5 stars

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Good read

    I loved Ten Tiny Breaths so I couldn't wait to read this one. It took me a while to get in to it but once I did, I enjoyed reading it. I was happy the characters from the first were a part of her story. I loved the ending!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    As much as I loved Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A. Tucker, I absolutely

    As much as I loved Ten Tiny Breaths by K.A. Tucker, I absolutely ADORED One Tiny Lie.  I loved this one even more than the first book!

    We do see a return of some of the characters that we’ve learned to love from book 1, but we are also introduced to new characters (specifically Ashton *swoon*) that are unforgettable.

    But what makes a story like One Tiny Lie memorable?  The dark secrets/skeletons in the closet that eventually come to the surface and totally blow your mind.  Yes, yes my friends.  This is what One Tiny Lie did for me.  This book…THIS BOOK… made me so freakin’ emotional that there were times that I was literally emotionally spent.

    Livie, whom we know as the baby sister of Kacey – the main character in Ten Tiny Breaths – is all grown up and heading off to college.  And not just any ol’ college…she’s off to Princeton ya’ll!  (Good on her!)  New living situation, new friends, new life…Livie is in for the ride of her life.  But still living with the ghost of her deceased father who’s mantra was “make me proud”, Livie is determined to be the best of the best.

    So how do you balance your studying and new friends?  Go to a party of course.  But too many jello shots has Livie enjoying herself so much that she doesn’t put up much of a fuss when the all too sexy captain of the rowing team, Ashton, treats her to his irresistible pick up skills.  One things leads to another, and Livie finds herself deeper than she thought she would ever be with Ashton.

    Throw into the mix Ashton’s bestfriend Connor having the hots for Livie, and you’ve got yourself one sexy, kinda sorta love triangle.  But when Livie’s past and Ashton’s deep dark secrets come up, will Livie and Ashton find the happiness that they both long for?  Or will it be just enough to shatter the beginnings of something beautiful.

    In all honesty guys, there was nothing about this book that I didn’t love!  The way in which the story was told and unfolded, the characters (both old and new), the storyline, the…the…everything!  It all melded together into a story of epic proportions.

    First of all, helloooo Ashton!  What woman wouldn’t swoon over this hunka hunka burning love.  His cockiness, his flirting ways, his words, his actions.  OMG this man was just…yum!  And holy sexiness.  There were various parts in this book that had me fanning myself from the heat and lust.  Dang sexy, I tell ya.

    And then there’s Livie!  The responsible Livie that was the rock to Kacey when she was spiraling down into a darker place.  I loved how One Tiny Lie told the story of how Livie becomes a stronger woman.  One who comes to accept her past and the life card that she was dealt with. Yes, Livie is still the responsible girl from book 1, but we also see her embracing her youth more.  Of letting go of some responsibilities and just letting lose.

    Now Connor…that guy had me fooled.  I thought that he was going to be this awesome, amazing potential love interest for dear Livie, but a few too many drinks and I dubbed him Mr. Ass.   I’m pretty sure I yelled at the book for Livie to drop the dud.

    All in all, One Tiny Lie by K.A. Tucker was a read like no other.  One that I’m so glad that I had the opportunity to read.  I wouldn’t stress if you haven’t read book 1, Ten Tiny Breaths.  Aside from some deeper background information, this book is a perfect standalone.  Fans of Ten Tiny Breaths, heartfelt contemporary reads, and sexy bad boy male leads will fall head over heels in love with One Tiny Lie.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2014

    Why'd I wait so long to read this book?  This book was first pub

    Why'd I wait so long to read this book?  This book was first published in December 2012. Guess who buried her head in the sand and ignored everything she saw about this book and didn't read it until June of 2013?  If you guessed me, you're right.  Sometimes I can't believe what I miss out on because of myself.  I could have had an a print copy with the original cover.  Now I'd have to pay a kidney for it, but sometimes think it's worth it.




    I'm not sure why I wasn't willing to read this book when I first heard about how good it was. After all, it passed the one chapter test. As in, that's all it took to grab my attention and then not let it go.  I was shocked at Kacey's and her sister, Livie's, circumstances and their flight to Miami from Michigan.  




    I want to be Kacey.  She's strong, determined, quick-witted, and just all around awesome.  I have no idea how she was able to hold herself together and be after all she'd experienced and lost.  I love Livie too.  I want to take a baseball bat to anyone who'd hurt these two.  Trent was an enigma.  I wanted him, especially since he was so hot.  I loved the back and forth between Trent and Kacey.  They had some hilarious and smoking hot scenes.  There's a certain *ahem* shower scene that had me fanning myself and wiping away tears of laughter.




      
    Ten Tiny Breaths is so awesome.  There's all the different emotions I experienced. The story is gripping and will leave you guessing what's going to happen next.  I'm an avid reader and I sure as heck didn't see the end of the book coming, or a number of the twists.   You're gonna have to read the book to see what makes it so good.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Just as good as the first!

    Yet again another wonderful story, that will keep you hooked. Ten tiny breaths was all about Kacey struggle, where as this was about Livie. It was a good flip on the story. Cannot wait to read the next!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 6, 2014

    4.5 Freeing Stars! I absolutely loved Ten Tiny Breaths

    4.5 Freeing Stars!










    I absolutely loved Ten Tiny Breaths! And ever since Livie stepped onto the pages of it, I've wanted to know her story. I've wanted to get inside her head. She's seemingly perfect; warm and kind and always looking out for others. She seems to have it all together, but as much as people try to be, they aren't perfect. And Livie had to let go of her preconceived notions of who she is and what she wants out of life to find out exactly where she belongs.

    I've already said how much I can connect with Kacey, but I can also connect with Livie. I loved her POV and how she told the story. It was fresh, innocent, and fun. But it was also heartbreaking, heavy, and confusing. On the outside, Olivia Cleary is perfect. She's not afraid to talk about her parents, seemingly has overcome that grief, and is on her way to becoming a doctor in pediatrics (specifically, oncology). But it's Kacey, and Dr. Stayner, who notice that maybe she's holding onto her parents in a dangerous way. Not like Kacey's self-destructive nature, but in a way that is much more subtle and hard to detect. It's dangerous because Livie has spent so much time being perfect, that anything less sends her spiraling. And she's been hiding so much of herself away for fear of straying from this path she's on that it makes her question everything about her life.

    Ashton makes her question everything about her life. I fell so hard for Ashton, maybe even harder than I fell for Trent. He's a womanizing, arrogant male with no regard for how he hurts people and who doesn't care what anybody thinks of him. But there is more to this guy than anyone knows. Ashton's story broke my heart, made me cry, and gave his character so much depth that I found myself absolutely loving his development. It was beautiful and heartbreaking; it was just so damn good. He was such a complex character. He was arrogant, cocky, and a cheater. But he was also caring, protective, and even sweet. It took a long time for the real Ashton to come through, but it was so believable. What he went through, what he's still going through is not something that a person can get over completely in a few days. And Livie never gave up on him, giving him whatever he needed, because she understood. He was flawed, and she got that.

    The relationship between these two was so wonderfully written; their chemistry so strong and so passionate. It was amazing to see how it unfolded. From their drunken first kiss to the on-and-off romance, I loved watching it develop (even if I disliked it at times). But their bond was so deep. 

    The way these two interacted, from their teasing to their passionate exchanges, I was captivated. That scene in the bathroom after Livie hurt her ankle was one of the best scenes I've ever read, in any book. It was simply exquisite. It showed that they are flawed individuals who feel with their entire beings. It showed the depth of their relationship. It was subtly romantic. They gave each other what they needed. They understood each other in way that no one else could. God, I loved it.

    BUT. It was hard to like sometimes, because of certain circumstances. I'm not a fan of cheating, in any sense of the word. I really wish Livie had done things differently, but I found myself not caring that much. This wasn't about cheating or just wanting to give into the passion you feel for someone else. This was about Livie and Ashton. This was about a girl who never explored who she really was and who never let herself feel or think or do anything that would challenge that perfection. This was about her making mistakes and trying new things and letting herself just... live. This was about a guy who shut everyone out to make his life easier and who was going to accept that he'd never be free. But Livie became his freedom, his Irish girl. She became the catalyst that would help him decide to break free of his father and just be himself.

    These two characters were so complex, and I loved their development. The emotions were intense, the level of depth shown brilliant. One Tiny Lie was a truly wonderful and beautiful read.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 5, 2014

    One Tiny Lie is the second book in the Ten Tiny Breaths series.

    One Tiny Lie is the second book in the Ten Tiny Breaths series. I just love these books! This is a New Adult book that centers around Livie. Ever since their parent's fatal car accident, Livie has always been the strong one. The perfect one. Her older sister Kacey was in the hospital for a year following the accident, and then spent years after that using drugs, alcohol, and sex to forget about the pain. Livie always wanted to make her dad proud so, along with taking care of Kacey, she focused on her schoolwork and her future.

    When this book begins, Livie starts college at Princeton. All her hard work has paid off. She had a well laid out plan for herself, which involves medical school and marrying a man her dad would approve of. She meets the perfect guy – Connor. He is handsome, sweet, and wants to take things slow. Her parents would have loved him. But she can't stop thinking about Connors best friend and roommate – Ashton. Ashton is arrogant and drives her nuts. He is a man whore, and Livie has never even had sex. But she is so attracted to him. He gives Livie butterflies, and Connor doesn't.

    Livie feels her plans for herself spiraling out of control. She struggles to make good grades and she starts having second thoughts on her career goals. She finds herself stuck in a tough situation between Connor and Ashton. She starts partying and drinking, which she's never done before. She doesn't even know who she is anymore. And Ashton has a side to him that nobody would ever have imagined.

    I loved this book. It was emotional, intense, swoonworthy... Livie and Ashton have some majorly hot chemistry. I was glad to see appearances from Kacey and Dr. Stayner in this book. I'm really looking forward to reading book #3! K.A. Tucker has become a must-read author for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2014

    Best K. A. Tucker book yet!

    My favorite to read so far from her! Loved the characters and storyline!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2014

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2014

    Amazing

    I could not put this book down. Everytime I knew I had a chance to read, this book was my first option. I can't wait to read more by K.A Tucker!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2014

    Could not put Down...planned on reading over the weekend ended u

    Could not put Down...planned on reading over the weekend ended up reading in one day

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    One Tiny Lie is the second book in the Ten Tiny Breaths Series b

    One Tiny Lie is the second book in the Ten Tiny Breaths Series by K.A. Tucker, where we originally met a younger version of the main character, Livie Cleary.  Livie is now 18 years old and starting freshman year at Princeton.  Her goal is to become a pediatric oncologist, something she has worked toward relentlessly since she was a young girl, even more so since the death of her parents when she was 11 years old.  It's her first week there and her sister Kacey and her new roommate Reagan, along with the blessings of the infamous Dr. Strayner, have taken Livie out for a wild night so that she can experience what being a freshman college student is really about.  That may sound strange to some, but since her parents died, Livie has pretty much been and acted like a small adult, never really letting go and having fun.  She gets pretty wasted and has the time of her life, embarrassing herself, but also meeting the hottest and most infuriating guy she ever laid eyes on, Ashton Henley, who affectionately dubbed her with the name Irish.  Thus begins a whirlwind of a ride for Livie.  She finds herself insanely attracted to Ashton, yet he's not available, and he's also a man-whore.  Shen then begins dating his best friend and roommate Conner, which makes things even odder.  As the story progresses, with the additional help of the behind the scenes influence of Dr. Strayner, Livie questions everything in her life - her goals, her dreams for the future, and must decide whether or not to take a chance on love and on someone that may be more broken than she can imagine. 




    I loved Livie's character.  She was funny and I loved her inner rants as much as her actual dialogue.  Ashton was such a hottie and I totally fell for him.  He has so many issues, but Livie sees through his facade, just as he sees through hers.  As far as the other characters.  It was great to see Kacey again, and I enjoyed getting to know Raegan and some of the other guys in the story.  Dr. Strayner is a hoot also.  The chemistry between Ashton and Livie is sizzling hot and the romance aspect of the story was wonderful. 




    I love K.A. Tucker's writing and her ability to enable you to really connect with the characters she creates and truly experience the story with them.  I didn't want to put the  book down and truly enjoyed it from beginning to end.  One Tiny Lie is a wonderful companion novel in the Ten Tiny Breaths Series and I thoroughly enjoyed it and most definitely would recommend it to all contemporary romance fans. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was a raw, emotional read. I loved every minute of it. As

    This was a raw, emotional read. I loved every minute of it. Ashton was so perfectly damaged. The twists and turns keep you reading. You fall in love with Liv and Ashton's story. Your heart breaks and then it is put back together. "Your my forever girl!"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    It was a great read! With such a deep story behind it. I couldn'

    It was a great read! With such a deep story behind it. I couldn't put it down ! 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    My review of the first book can be found on my blog (KDH Reviews

    My review of the first book can be found on my blog (KDH Reviews).

    I devoured Livie’s story much faster than I did Kacey’s. Okay, it wasn’t that much faster. I finished One Tiny Lie in two days where Ten Tiny Breaths took me three. Still… it certainly seemed a lot faster to me. That being said, it’s absolutely safe to say that if you enjoyed Ten Tiny Breaths, you’ll enjoy this one. In fact, I’ll even say that I enjoyed this one slightly more than the first.

    This story picks up a few years after the first and is centered around Kacey’s younger sister, Livie. While we do see glimpses of Kacey/Trent, they certainly don’t steal the show from Livie. Normally, I don’t know how I feel about another book (or show or movie, etc.) starting from a different perspective than that of the first book. However, I love it here! The Kacey/Trent story wrapped up in the first book, but everyone else was left wide open to have their story told. And K. A. Tucker is taking advantage of it and performing flawlessly!

    The next book in the series centers around Cain and I absolutely can’t wait to read his story. I would say that it’s official… K. A. Tucker is certainly on my list of favorite authors.

    * I received a copy of this book via Netgalley in exchange for an honest review. *

    Be sure to check out all of my reviews on my blog, KDH Reviews.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Coming of Age, Learning to Live

    Livie is living up to her personal commitment of following in her father’s footsteps and going to Princeton, and like everything else in her life, she feels she must be perfect, strong, and regimented since the death of her parents and the complete emotional implosion of her sister Kacey. But apparently, this attitude is as unhealthy as her sister’s was. Enter Dr. Stayner, whose quirky ways and ideas are designed to break Livie out of her emotional prison and allow her to truly go on with living. Unfortunately, Livie is not prepared for college life, or anything that will happen to her or because of her. Livie is emotionally repressed and her “prescribed” actions are more than a little overwhelming. Enter Ashton and Conner, best friends, polar opposites and both have captured Livie’s attention. In spite of committing to Conner, the “safe boy,” Livie is drawn to Ashton, the “bad boy,” who appears to toy with her emotionally. Will one tiny lie, or several tiny lies end up hurting Livie and those around her or will it make them stronger? What secrets are being kept? What deceits cannot be forgiven? Which boy is right for Livie? How much will growing up hurt?

    One Tiny Lie by K. A. Tucker is one emotional trip right out of the gate until it crosses the finish line! K. A. Tucker nails another hit with these characters and this plot, painful as it can be to read, there are moments of light-hearted humor that add a much needed balance, depth and even sweetness to this story. But, when I want to shake some sense into a character or sit them down and have “a talk” with them about their irresponsible behavior, their blindness to the world around them and their lack of compassion towards others and their feelings, an author has done their job of totally involving me in their story!

    One Tiny Lie is a coming of age and a healing story as Livie learns the hard way to actually live her life, for herself. The realistic learning curve was marvelous and the consequences well done without being unrealistic. Great read, great characters, great escape, great writing! Tons of angst, cluelessness and good intentions!

    I received a review copy from Atria Books in exchange for my honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    I stayed up late into the night reading TEN TINY BREATHS and fre

    I stayed up late into the night reading TEN TINY BREATHS and freaking loved that first book in this series. While I was excited to get to this next installment of the Ten Tiny Breaths series, I was a little worried about getting into Livie's story. See, Livie is the proverbial good girl who is, like, the best girl in any story I've read recently. She's smart, sensitive, good humored and, as it turns out, more than a little repressed in her feelings. Seems the good girl DOES have some things to work out after all. Yes!

    You should expect another emotional roller coaster in this storyline. Livie learns about her repressed feelings through two relationships she forms at Princeton. One with Ashton, the hottest guy/playboy on campus and the other with Connor, the guy that fits into the perfect life she's chosen for herself. Classic love triangle setup going on. I went back and forth on what boy I wanted her to be with. They both have faults that could be deal breakers, but one will succeed in winning her heart. And probably yours. *sigh*

    And, OH! Be prepared, my sweets. Tucker delivers another ending that will make your tear ducts overflow and wonder how the hell the situation our heroine finds herself in will be rectified.

    Dr. Stayner is back and he's starting to creep me out a little bit. I feel like he's a bit of a puppetmaster in this universe. Instead of that magic of serendipity, I walked away thinking the story happened because it was the good doctor's will for things to happen the way they did. I think Livie would have come to the same conclusions eventually, but HE made things happen. Not her, which is really what I thought the point of the story was, you know? Livie coming into her own and being who she wants to be.

    We get to see a good amount of Kacey and I'm SO HAPPY she's in a good place. She's a great sister to Livie and watching the banter between the two of them will have you giggling (and blushing) quite a bit. I love that ONE TINY LIE brings back the characters I feel in love with TEN TINY BREATHS. I hope this happens in future installments,

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3