Customer Reviews for

One Tiny Secret

Average Rating 4
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(16)

4 Star

(6)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2013

    Kunz is a Must Read!!

    Well a friend of mine (Melanie) kept tweeting and fb posting about this book. So I broke down and got it and It certainly did NOT disappoint.
    This is Adam Kunz's first solo novel. He co-writes other stories with his mother as the writing team C. A. Kunz. Adam's writing reminds me of my younger days when I devoured authors like Christopher Pike and R. L. Stine. One Tiny Secret kept me guessing. Didn't know for sure "who-dunnit" til the end. Although it has a "Mature" disclaimer, I didn't think it was too bad. When I first saw this I thought it was going to be more of an erotic thriller but its really just a story of high school seniors and college students. This story would probably be best for the older range of teens due to some sexual content.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 23, 2013

    Very fast paced

    Not as much meat as romance . short twist ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2013

    Wow! What an ending!! I never expected it!

    This book is about high school and college romance, as well as suspense and murder. Great mix of subjects, very well written, and truly enjoyable. You are on the edge of your seat the whole time; I stayed wake 2 nights in a row to finish it; and it is a very well worth your time to read it. I never suspected the murderer, so that was a shock! Excellent book, good choice! Just don't read it on a "dark and stormy night" as you will NEVER get to sleep.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    easy reading

    first time for this Author, but it was done quite well and kept you guessing to the very end. It moves along quickly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Not my favorite

    I had a hard time when the main character seemed so okay killing someone. Also, learn a little about automatic pistols.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 8, 2013

    While I've never been big on reading mystery/thrillers in the pa

    While I've never been big on reading mystery/thrillers in the past... I'm a fan now! One Tiny Secret is a fast paced read that will have you sitting on the edge of your seat trying to put the pieces of the puzzle together. Just when your mind processes one twist in the story, author Adam Kunz throws another in your path.
    I've read a few reviews where the reader figured it out within the first few chapters, but for me... that wasn't the case at all! The person I thought was behind the crazytrain our main character, Dani finds herself on wasn't the person! Holy awesome-balls! I loved this storyline, and the characters! Now, just so I'm clear, there is a small romance going on in this story, but
    it wasn't the main storyline to me. Great job, Adam!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    You might like it but I certainly did not.

    I AM A KILKER ROMANCE FAN PEOPLE SAY the romance was great but it did nothing for me, it was confusing, pointless and unrealistic. I think it couldve been better if it was solid or wasnt even included in the story. The mystery part of it was....ok. i wasnt wow-ed at the end like everyone else. It seemed to simple and unorginal. I needed something different. I saw the plot many times in movies and in books. SIGH i regret buying this. HOWEVER, if you like those stalker mystery books with romance that was just added to be added. BUY IT. I DIDNT LIKE IT but You may!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    I'm really into the N/A genre right now and this book had everyt

    I'm really into the N/A genre right now and this book had everything Romance, Mystery and Suspense. It sucked me in from page one and I couldn't put it down. It definitely deserves 5 stars and I will read anything that Adam Kunz's publishes!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2013

    Edgy suspense/thriller book with enough romance for the YA/NA re

    Edgy suspense/thriller book with enough romance for the YA/NA readers. It kept me guessing until the very end. Just when I make another guess as to who the culprit is, I'm proven wrong yet again. All of my guesses were eliminated.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 23, 2013

    This book grabbed my attention from the beginning and sucked me

    This book grabbed my attention from the beginning and sucked me in through the end. There is suspense, mystery, romance, and danger. It kept me guessing through to the very end. I loved it and had a total book hangover when it ended. JMR

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2013

    I went into One Tiny Secret not really knowing anything about it

    I went into One Tiny Secret not really knowing anything about it. I stay away from blurbs, because I love the thrill of
    not knowing where an author’s going to take me. Boy did Adam Kunz take me! Two major hitters for me:
    Kunz captured an authentic chick voice in Dani (not easy to do and I love it an author can make me believe it)
    and he sure can spin a great mystery.  While the start had me thinking this was going to be a sweet little romance,
    Kunz quickly twisted the plot into a gripping thriller. Who is this Unknown? Why are they doing this? I turned into
    such a suspicious chick, putting every character under a spotlight. Let’s not forget to mention Parker. I’d swoon a l
    ittle more if he hadn’t…wait. You’ll have to find out what was up with that. And WTH, I’ll swoon anyway, because
    Parker is worth a swoon or two!  My only niggles were ‘niggligable’. The dad- I wanted to bust him in the mouth
    for not believing Dani after a while and Janice- when what happened, happened, I thought that it was too easily
    put aside. I would’ve been climbing the walls in terror.  However, neither of these things kept me from flipping pages. One Tiny Secret reads the same way I felt when I watched the movie, Scream. I was on the edge of my seat, suspicious of everyone, and worrying over what was coming next- although it just made me turn the pages faster. A fun read! Thanks, Adam, for keeping me freaked out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    I didn't actually read the synopsis before purchasing this, so I

    I didn't actually read the synopsis before purchasing this, so I had no idea what this was going to be about. Obviously from the title I got that it was going to be about a secret but other than that, no clue.

    I'm thrilled to conclude its a thriller and mystery with some romance! This had me so coiled with angst. I was like a geyser ready to spring at a moments notice. Adam wrote this out PERFECT! I couldn't figure out the mystery if my life depended on it! Which of course felt like it DID! OTS also had me cracking up like a hyena! Omigosh some of that stuff was hilarious!

    Some lines I took out of the book-

    Dani's dad Mr.Mark- "Hey, I'm just trying to talk with my daughter. Is that okay? Your mom did have the talk with you, right?"

    Dani- "I'll be honest...decorating while trying not to break out into the zombie dance is kind of killing me." While reading on this particular part, I actually made a failed attempt at the zombie, that had my kids laughing and joining in!

    Alex and Rory- "I mean, we even wrote a song entitled, 'Parker is a Giant Douche Canoe.'"

    There's a ton of clips I made but I can't share them all, they would more or less give-a-way the story. But these were some of my favorites!

    One Tiny Secret is just awesome, buy it, read it, love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    If you love to read a book that entails not only romance but mys

    If you love to read a book that entails not only romance but mystery as well, this book is for you. From page one to the last page, to the twist and turns of the plot, I did not see some of the things that happened coming. And the anticipation of wanting to know who the mystery caller was drove me to read the book even faster. Just when I thought it was so and so…wrong! Hold on to your seat because you will be hooked with One Tiny Secret. Simply genius! Well done from a male author telling a story from a female’s point of view.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 20, 2013

    OMG seriously wraps up this book. Did you ever read RL Stine as

    OMG seriously wraps up this book. Did you ever read RL Stine as a teen? Author Adam Kunz has BLOWN RL Stine out of the water in his debut solo novel One Tiny Secret.

    Adam Kunz has written an adult mystery/thriller/romance/horror/ combination that will blow you away! I was not able to stop reading this book. I read it straight through. Each page leaves keeps you on the edge waiting to see what happens next.

    Danielle "Dani" Marks', our lead character learns first hand how One Tiny Secret can turn your life inside out and backwards. Dani is so well written. She suddenly finds the heartbreak of an old flame returned (Parker), the betrayal of someone close and the fear of being accused of something she knows in her heart she is not responsible for.Will Parker's return be the dream she never thought could come true or will she find herself spiral into an endless nightmare?

    YOU MUST READ ONE TINY SECRET TODAY!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 19, 2013

    OMG! I can't put into words how much I loved this book. This i

    OMG!

    I can't put into words how much I loved this book.

    This is the first thriller I have ever read, and I am very glad it was this one. This story flowed perfectly, the characters couldn't be loved, and goosebumps I got from reading this, was well worth it. It held my attention the whole time from start to finish, and the ending... OH MY GOODNESS! Never seen that one coming. Makes me want to re-read it again to see where and if I missed anything.

    One Tiny Secret made me hold my breath, repeat "NO WAY" several times, turn a small light to finish, and when it was all over, I was speechless. 

    Adam Kunz did a fantastic job on One Tiny Secret. I highly recommend this book to anyone who wants little goosebumps and a terrific read! I will be reading more from this author in the years to come :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 18, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This. Book. Is. Freaking. AWESOME!!!! It was a little different

    This. Book. Is. Freaking. AWESOME!!!! It was a little different than my normal paranormal reads, but just as creepy and exciting!! I just finished and I'm still a little freaked out but I am also dying to read it again to try and see if there were any clues that I missed the first time. (I'm also a little scared to go to sleep because of the crazy dreams I will probably have) So if you're as much of a fraidy-cat as I am, you will wanna keep the lights ON, turn your phone OFF, and get your teddy-bear before you start reading. And don't plan on doing anything else until it's finished because you won't be able to put it down. Don't worry, it's not all terrifying, there are also several sexy run-ins with the scrumptious Parker to lighten the mood, but he can be a real pain in the butt, too! (Aren't all the sexy ones?) Dani is amazing & strong to be able to keep it together after everything she has to go through, I was getting a little hysterical on her behalf a few times. So before I get carried away and reveal too much, let me just say... YOU NEED TO READ THIS BOOK!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2013

    Let me start by saying I really enjoyed reading this book. I rec

    Let me start by saying I really enjoyed reading this book. I received free e-copy from the author for my honest review, and I can’t tell you how happy I am to have had that opportunity.

    This is the story of Dani. Her dad is the town sheriff, so I’m sure that in itself can come with its own challenges as a teenager. She is a senior in high school and it is Halloween season. She is your typical teenager, at least she seems to be a lot like I was at that age. She has friends and likes boys, has a job, and works on the school newspaper. Her parents are divorced and her dad works too much, so she is often left to her own devices, which really could be a lot worse.

    When she goes attends a secret Halloween party hosted by a classmate, things start happening that shouldn’t in such a small town. Dani starts receiving texts from an unknown number that can only be described as threatening. People in town start to disappear or die and for some reason this unknown person is trying to get Dani blamed for it. With the help of her recently returned ex, Parker, she is trying to save everyone she knows from becoming “Unknown’s” next victim.

    I really liked the flow of this story. Kunz kept things moving along very nicely and I never got bored or felt like anything was over-written. There are plot twists and excitement. I seriously did not see the ending coming at all. Just when I thought I had it figured out, I found out I was wrong! As much as I always try to figure out the “who done it” part of a story, I really like it when I can’t actually solve the mystery.I love how Kunz was able to accurately tell the story from a teenage girls point of view, despite the fact that he is definitely NOT a teenage girl. And everyone says females are such a mystery! Pshht, apparently not for him!

    If I had to complain about anything it would be this: the title. For me, it was misleading, but I may have just missed a point. I never felt like there was a real secret. I mean, yes, climax had some things revealed, but I never saw them really a being classified as a secret. Like I said though, I may have missed something though, so that is why I still gave it 5 stars.

    I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a good YA mystery/horror type of read with interesting characters and a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    I absolutely LOVED this book. It was very well written and clear

    I absolutely LOVED this book. It was very well written and clearly a lot of heart and soul went into creating it. I am not usually a present tense reader, but this story and character sucked me in so fast I didn't realize I was reading it like that and I was able to enjoy the story! 




    I never do spoilers in reviews and with this book, I would hate to spoil anything! I had so many people picked out as "Unknown" but I was wrong, time and time again. It made me think all the way through. Then, at the end, I was filled with so much anxiety over what would/was happening I didn't want to turn the page, but I had to or my curiosity and anxiety would have kill me! I HAD to know! I stayed up till my eyes burned, with my heart racing every step of the way. 




    VERY well done! A great YA thriller!
    Oh, and PS. I loved the romance lol



     Eeep! Be on the look out for One Tiny Secret, it's gonna make waves!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2013

    Absolutely, 1000% in love with One Tiny Secret! I honestly didn'

    Absolutely, 1000% in love with One Tiny Secret! I honestly didn't think a book could be this great. It had me hooked the entire time, reading page after page and constantly looking over my shoulder. I couldn't guess the ending to save my life, and that is the number one thing I loved about it. I love when I can't guess an ending, because it makes me that much more eager to keep reading and find out the truth. There were many times when I thought I had it figured out, but I kept finding out I was wrong and second guessing myself. Overall fantastic novel! Great job, Adam!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    awesome & suspenseful...you gotta read this one!

    I cannot get over the fact that this book had me sitting on the edge of my seat throughout the entire book. I mean that...literally. ONE TINY SECRET had me wound so tight I thought I would explode from the intensity of it. I am usually not a huge fan of murder/mystery books, but Kunz added in some romance and it evened the book out perfectly for me. (I have to have some romance in my reads.) In fact, the romance just added to my suspicions on who this Unknown was. Read it…you’ll see what I mean.

    From the moment the old friend next door was mentioned my brain went on alert. I have watched enough movies over time to know when something is amiss and should be remembered so to help me solve the mystery that is sure to come. Ever seen PRETTY LITTLE LIARS? Yeah, A has nothing on Unknown. Unknown makes A look like a pansy when compared. Plus this book was more believable. Some of the things A does makes you roll your eyes and think 'Whatever'. And that is actually one of the reasons I quit watching the show. But not with ONE TINY SECRET. Oh no, this book was shockingly believable. So much so, I was wide awake checking doors and wondering what lurked outside. (Pssh! As if someone would stalk me.)

    Another thing...I am usually not a fan of male authors who write romance and sometimes just books in general. I know, I am picky like that. But with Kunz I was blown away. I can now add him to my growing list of male authors who I adore. Yes, Kunz wrote a book that surprised me, had my interest the whole time, and definitely had me floored in the revelation of Unknown. Wow. I seriously did not see that coming. Like any of it.

    Man, I am telling you the suspense will get you in this one. But it really is balanced out nicely with romance, which of course I loved! Once you start reading you will see how hard it is to put down. The one thing that irked me? Well, the dad. He drove me nuts not believing his only daughter. For a guy who is a Sheriff, he doesn’t seem all there at times. Or maybe that is just me. But everyone else was great in the book. I liked how they all seemed real and each had some weaknesses that made them that much more realistic.

    Love movies like SCREAM or I KNOW WHAT YOU DID LAST SUMMER? Well then you are going to love ONE TINY SECRET. Just think of it as a similar plot but with better actors. Get this one when it is out and you will see what I mean.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2