Customer Reviews for

One Touch of Scandal

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Excellent................................................... Goo

Excellent...................................................
Good mystery. Nice romance. Not so generic sex. Touch of the mystical. Nice overall combination. If you like this type of book w/o the mystical try Ashley Gardner's Captain Lacey series. They're also...
Excellent...................................................
Good mystery. Nice romance. Not so generic sex. Touch of the mystical. Nice overall combination. If you like this type of book w/o the mystical try Ashley Gardner's Captain Lacey series. They're also excellent.

posted by kronan1 on February 24, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Thoughtful characters - complicated plot

One Touch of Scandal is the first book in a new trilogy by Liz Carlyle. The trilogy revolves around a secret society, Fraternitas Aurea Crucis. Lucifer, Lord Ruthveyn is one such member. He is surprised to find Grace Guathier on the front stoop of the clubhouse in searc...
One Touch of Scandal is the first book in a new trilogy by Liz Carlyle. The trilogy revolves around a secret society, Fraternitas Aurea Crucis. Lucifer, Lord Ruthveyn is one such member. He is surprised to find Grace Guathier on the front stoop of the clubhouse in search of help. Grace has been accused of murdering her fiancé. Her father now deceased had told her if she was ever in trouble to find Sergeant Welham. Instead of finding her childhood friend, Grace finds herself ensnared by the dark enigmatic Lord Ruthveyn.

There is a lot going on in One Touch of Scandal. Amongst the romance between Grace and Lucifer there is the mystery surrounding Grace's fiancé. There is also the secret society and its political intrigues and then there is a paranormal/psychic quality to Lucifer's personality. All of these different side-plots were very well thought out. I especially found the murder plot very intriguing. However, with so much going on in the book I thought the romance between Lucifer and Grace suffered some. This could be due to my lack of interest in the political parts of the book, when I would rather to get back to the romance.

I liked Grace's character. She was able to pull Lucifer emotionally out behind the wall he built up around himself. The trust between these two characters was crucial and for both characters. Grace is accused of murder and Lucifer intuitively believes Grace when she says she didn't do it. He never waivers in his belief of her. Similarly, Grace accepts that Lucifer is different and patiently waits for him to trust his secrets to her. I think if the external plot points had been toned down a little I would have enjoyed the story more.

posted by Romance_rookie on December 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    I am glad I kept reading even though the 1st 100p was a choppy a

    I am glad I kept reading even though the 1st 100p was a choppy and overly complicated dual storyline - until it clicked in place that it was a paranormal read. Heads up. The rest of the trilogy is not good. Anisha - Rance story is boring and overly dramatic in a repetitive annoying way barely made it to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 24, 2013

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent................................................... Goo

    Excellent...................................................
    Good mystery. Nice romance. Not so generic sex. Touch of the mystical. Nice overall combination. If you like this type of book w/o the mystical try Ashley Gardner's Captain Lacey series. They're also excellent.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 5, 2010

    Thoughtful characters - complicated plot

    One Touch of Scandal is the first book in a new trilogy by Liz Carlyle. The trilogy revolves around a secret society, Fraternitas Aurea Crucis. Lucifer, Lord Ruthveyn is one such member. He is surprised to find Grace Guathier on the front stoop of the clubhouse in search of help. Grace has been accused of murdering her fiancé. Her father now deceased had told her if she was ever in trouble to find Sergeant Welham. Instead of finding her childhood friend, Grace finds herself ensnared by the dark enigmatic Lord Ruthveyn.

    There is a lot going on in One Touch of Scandal. Amongst the romance between Grace and Lucifer there is the mystery surrounding Grace's fiancé. There is also the secret society and its political intrigues and then there is a paranormal/psychic quality to Lucifer's personality. All of these different side-plots were very well thought out. I especially found the murder plot very intriguing. However, with so much going on in the book I thought the romance between Lucifer and Grace suffered some. This could be due to my lack of interest in the political parts of the book, when I would rather to get back to the romance.

    I liked Grace's character. She was able to pull Lucifer emotionally out behind the wall he built up around himself. The trust between these two characters was crucial and for both characters. Grace is accused of murder and Lucifer intuitively believes Grace when she says she didn't do it. He never waivers in his belief of her. Similarly, Grace accepts that Lucifer is different and patiently waits for him to trust his secrets to her. I think if the external plot points had been toned down a little I would have enjoyed the story more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2014

    Why do all the customer reviews refer to Ruthveyn as Lucifer???

    Why do all the customer reviews refer to Ruthveyn as Lucifer??? His name is Adrian!!! Great book. Great match with Grace. Little supernatural but I could overlook that for the great romance involved.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2013

    Annoyed person

    Horrible

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 8, 2013

    Liked it good read

    A bit of paranormal worked in was different for a historical but i liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2013

    Mysterious and romantic

    If you like a romance that is more than just 2 characters kissing/in bed a lot, then this is a good choice. The protagonists are each a bit mysterious, especially Adrian-and the underlying mystey is a good plot twist. Plus there are good supporting characters-Some of whom will reappear in later books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2013

    Horrid

    Why did I buy this book?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2013

    Very good

    Loved it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2011

    Very sexy!

    Liz Carlyle has an incredible way with words! And the steamier parts of this novel are enhanced by the more supernatural aspects of the plot. However, I have to admit I'm a little lost at the placement of all these new characters in a world Carlyle had already created. Maybe it was just time for something new, but I had come to almost expect stronger ties to her previous works.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    A very good read

    I've read all of Liz Carlyle's novels and enjoy them very much. Liz writes darker stories with dry wit and era-perfect prose.

    With One Touch, the author chooses a hero and heroine who have problems integrating into nobel society because of their past. In one scene, Grace is bemoaning the fact her father 'married down.' Her father was English, her mother French. Lucifcer's mother was from India. He responds, 'So did my mother." Lucifer's father is English. It was a clever turn around.

    Overall, well-written, engaging. I don't know that you'll want this in your permanent library, but it is a great Sundary afternoon read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 51 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3