Customer Reviews for

One Was a Soldier (Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne Series #7)

Average Rating 4.5
( 90 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(56)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

This book has it all

I loved this book. I think it may be my favorite in the series. The story was great. I liked that it dealt with those returning from war and the impact of it on their trying to adjust back to the life they left. It felt well researched and I would love to know if the my...
I loved this book. I think it may be my favorite in the series. The story was great. I liked that it dealt with those returning from war and the impact of it on their trying to adjust back to the life they left. It felt well researched and I would love to know if the mystery was based on truth.

The book covered many areas - love, mystery, humor (I laughed out loud!) and it also made me cry. I couldn't have asked for more.

I highly recommend this book.

posted by RaeOH on April 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

A must for Fergusson/Van Alstyne fans

If you're as hooked on this series as I am, this is a must-read book. If you're new to this author and these central characters' ongoing relationship and homicide-related adventures, reading this one will probably inspire you to go back to the first in the series and f...
If you're as hooked on this series as I am, this is a must-read book. If you're new to this author and these central characters' ongoing relationship and homicide-related adventures, reading this one will probably inspire you to go back to the first in the series and find out more about who these people really are and how they got to where they are now. I am already waiting for the next one.

posted by 17453475 on April 8, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted April 10, 2011

    This book has it all

    I loved this book. I think it may be my favorite in the series. The story was great. I liked that it dealt with those returning from war and the impact of it on their trying to adjust back to the life they left. It felt well researched and I would love to know if the mystery was based on truth.

    The book covered many areas - love, mystery, humor (I laughed out loud!) and it also made me cry. I couldn't have asked for more.

    I highly recommend this book.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    A must for Fergusson/Van Alstyne fans

    If you're as hooked on this series as I am, this is a must-read book. If you're new to this author and these central characters' ongoing relationship and homicide-related adventures, reading this one will probably inspire you to go back to the first in the series and find out more about who these people really are and how they got to where they are now. I am already waiting for the next one.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This direct sequel to In the Bleak Midwinter is a great military thriller

    In Miller's Kill, New York clinical therapist Sarah Dowling runs a group session for returning veterans. Her current patients consists of orthopedist Dr. George "Trip" Stillman, Marine Lance Corporal Willem Ellis who lost his legs in theater, Guard helicopter pilot Major Clare Fergusson, Military Police Guard Sergeant Eric McCrea of infamous Camp Bucca, and Army Specialist Mary" Tally" McNabb. Being a small town, the quintet knows each other.

    Over the next few months the group meets several times with each trying to conceal their fears of what has changed in family dynamics while they were deployed. However besides each one struggling to catch up with the different civilian scenarios from when they mobilized, corruption and suicide to cover what Clare believes is a murder add to the sense of feelings disengaged and non-anchored.

    This direct sequel to In the Bleak Midwinter is a great military thriller that focuses on returning veterans with diverse issues struggling to return to civilian life after time in theater. The murder mystery seems standardized when compared to the plight of each vet and their family; that is until one understands the best that money can buy. Readers, except the military-industrial-Congressional complex thirsting for the next war, will appreciate this deep look at vets returning with different degrees of Post Traumatic Stress Disorder and a realization that life in the home-front kept breathing without them.

    Harriet Klausner

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    Best Yet!

    Some authors get stale as they write a series but Ms. Spencer-Fleming just gets better and better. The plot, dialogue and setting are timely and meaningful while at the same time being marvelously entertaining. Bravo and keep writing Julia!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2011

    Serious mystery with great characters!

    The Rev. Clare Fergusson is back from her tour in Iraq - and before she can even get back to the rectory, she finds herself in the middle of a mystery, courtesy of a bar fight. She's brought some demons with her, and convinces herself that she can manage her pain by falling into her comfortable role of pastor and priest to others, and substances that can dull the pain. But her veterans therapy group won't let her off the hook, and her complicated romance with Russ Van Alstyne is her greatest comfort and her greatest worry - she's nothing like his first wife. Julia Spencer-Fleming gives us great characters: people with complicated lives and no easy solutions. Hadley Knox, the only female on the Miller's Kill police force, has to figure out what she wants for herself, and how to deal with the complexities of gender in a male world. Anne Vining-Ellis has to figure out how to deal with her son Will, who has returned a double amputee. All this in the midst of the apparent suicide of another returning veteran, Tally McNabb. The vets are determined to find out what's happened to her, because it's the way they can begin to understand what's happened to them. Spencer-Fleming deftly mixes romance, mystery, and current events into a book that you'll want to read twice (I did.)

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2012

    Loved all these books!

    Loved all these books!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 21, 2011

    Disappointed

    I didn't realize this was part of a series. This book and series may be good for those who are just learning to follow a series, learning to understand a suspense or crime novel.

    I found this book too simple and predictable. The ending was a oomplete disappointment.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2012

    Great Series Ending

    Excellent series and great ending....hoping for a #8 somehow.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    Worth the Wait

    It's been almost three years since Julia Spencer-Fleming has given us a new view into the people and happenings of Millers Kill, N.Y., the setting of her Clare Fergusson/Russ Van Alstyne mystery series, but it was worth the wait. Clare, an Episcopalian priest and former Army helicopter pilot, and others from the town have just returned from serving in the military, and no one has come back without scars. We get a heart-wrenching view into the adage, "War is hell," not only for what soldiers experience while at war but how hard it is to come home again while not being the same person who left. When one of these veterans dies, Clare and Russ, chief of police and Clare's love, are at odds over whether it's from suicide or homicide. Even though the death comes later in the book, the mystery builds from page one, when the veterans gather for a support group meeting. What is each of these people hiding? From others and themselves. I couldn't wait to start reading this book, and I wasn't disappointed by a single moment. It was definitely tough to read at some points, witnessing the pain of the veterans and the people who love them. However, it was what I've come to expect from a Julia Spencer-Fleming book: skillful writing, engrossing characters, an intriguing mystery, soulful romance, and a deft touch with humor. I'm already anticipating my next visit to Millers Kill.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    I have read all the books in this series and have loved every on

    I have read all the books in this series and have loved every one of them. I just finished One Was A Soldier and cannot wait for the next in the series. This series was fun to read, got me caight up in the stories and the characters and made me want to just keep reading..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    I have read all the books in this series and have enjoyed most o

    I have read all the books in this series and have enjoyed most of them.  While some of the plot lines are pretty unbelievable, the books are interesting with good characters and lots of detail.  However, the last few books seemed a little "off " to me, and after reading this one, I know why.  I just do not like Clare Fergusson.  She is supposedly an educated, accomplished woman who often acts in a bewilderingly reckless manner.  It is very hard to believe that she takes care of her parish and does all the other things described in the book.  And quite frankly, she is childish and petulant in her dealings with Russ.  The man is a saint to put up with her.  Don't know if I'll read the next one.    

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Must Read

    Let's you into the mind of soldiers returning from war how they deal, and has a little bit of a mystery in a small town too very intense but well worth the read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Good story, kept you guessing

    Good story, talks about things veterans may go through that people may not know about. Good reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Is this the military rp

    ?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Claire was annoying in this one

    Although I did enjoy reading this book, I had a lot of problems with it. After reading and enjoying the previous six novels in the series, this is the first one I can remember where Claire annoyed me. Her denial and obstinacy in failing to deal with her own problems, while quick to point out and deal with other people's, was annoying in itself. But deliberately going behind Russ's back and interfering with a police investigation (and taking a malicious glee in doing so) angered me and made me lose respect for her character. The fact that she never did apologize and admit she was wrong just made it worse.

    I admire the author for her obvious attempt to honor soldiers that have served in Iraq and Afghanistan. That said, I think maybe she was concentrating so hard on doing that she compromised the mystery itself and some character consistency. The set up to the actual mystery seemed to take forever to reach. While the resolution to the crime was satisfying, the eventual outcome was not and kind of made me think the whole investigation had been a waste of time.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Cc

    Sits

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2013

    Sam

    Hey alex!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2014

    commander aiden

    well dont expect anymore friends. I take out a ciggarete. I light it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Alex

    New nook

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2013

    This series is another that wrote itself into such unpleasant

    Situations and descriptions it is as unpleasant to read. Basic flaw is that there is one commandment with no way to resolve it is done. No bishop would recommend an ordanined priest to return unless as a noncombant chapline. A soldier kills e g murders. War is not a duel between two knights. I looked at this at library flipped through and didnt bother to take it out. The library culls twice a yesr for book sales and few series are on shelf just the last printed

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 90 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5