Customer Reviews for

The One Year Chronological Bible NLT

Average Rating 4.5
( 58 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Get the Whole Story

    I started reading on January 1st, planning to read each day. I have read, however, I find that I get so hooked into the events, I can't put it down! The scripture goes in chronological order. In the same section, there may be verses from different books, both the old and new testaments. Anytime a reference is made, all scripture verses are included. It is a fabulous way to read the entire Bible. It flows more like a book. I like the way the Psalms are connected to the stories of David. After reading the background information, the Psalms feel more connected. I feel that this is the best way to read the Bible through. Events and stories make more sense to me now that I am reading about them in full context; I get the entire story that is spread throughout the Bible. I am really enjoying reading this book.

    20 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I have owned the paperback version of this Bible for severa

    I have owned the paperback version of this Bible for several years now. The cover is curled, the pages are bent and worn. There are marks, highlights and notes throughout - and I plan to keep using it! The ebook version will be for my convenience when traveling or running to school too early to do devotions. I wasn't sure about this version at all, even though it came highly recommended to me, because I tend to be a NKJ or KJ person. There are some passages I still prefer in KJ, but I love the NLT! Also, this was my first chronological Bible. My church reads the One Year Bible, and I did too - then I found this and having things in Chronological order is a real eye opener! You get to see the sequence of events and realize all sorts of things that were happening at the same time in a way you never realized before. I recommend this Bible to everyone!

    There are days when it will take longer than 15 minutes to read - and some of those I split up. There will also be days you get caught up in the story and go past your daily reading. Either way is alright! The thing is, you are reading the Word! Don't beat yourself up and quit if you miss a day or two - or even more. Just pick it up and start again. If you don't have time to catch up, start at the date you are on. God understands. He is glad you are spending time with Him. Buy this Bible! You will love it!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Everyone should read it

    How can you give a Bible any less than the highest rating? Aside from that , I would greatly recommend this Bible for an interesting and informative change. Read the daily readings and at the end of the year you will not only have read the entire Bible but you would have read it in the order it happened.
    Greatly recommend it.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    Highly recommend

    This Bible is easy reading and written is story form. If you have problems understanding the Bible, buy this book; very interesting and easy to understand, this would make a lovely gift, especially a new Christian.

    I WANT THIS AVAILABLE ON NOOK.....VERY UPSET NOT AVAILABLE. I AM HOOKED ON THE NOOK

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2009

    Good One Year Bible

    I chose this because I wanted the New Living Translation which I believe can be easier to read. The amount to read each day is definitely do-able - may take 10-15 minutes. I liked this version as well because the words go all the way across the page and are not in columns like a "normal" Bible, so I feel it's easier to read - more like a book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Love it!

    I looked for this last year and it was not available, so I snatched it up this year and have been reading it daily. I love ebooks.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    Interesting format

    This helps bring historical events together with Psalms etc.
    It brings together elements of the New and Old Testaments.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    Really helpful

    I sent copies of this book to family and friends for Christmas. This translation is so easy to understand and the chronology arrangement makes more sense when reading the Bible. I'm on my third time through and still picking up things I missed. It is being used in at least one Bible study group.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Fabulous!

    This bible has been a terrific investment for the new year. It is easy to read and takes only about 15 minutes each day. Would highly recommend as a 'read thru' bible. Would not recommend as only bible in your library as it is not condusive to looking up scriptures, etc. It's never too late to start your daily reading plan!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    Cserfvdq

    O m gosh i love this bible.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    great read

    love to start the day reading this bible

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2014

    Such an easy way to read the bible

    I have been wanting to read the bible through for years and this is truly the way to do it. It is easy to understand and reads like a chapter book.
    I bought the hardcopy and had to have it on my nook as well since most of my reading is done before bed.
    Highly recommend

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2014

    My kids and I love this bible! We read it together every night b

    My kids and I love this bible! We read it together every night before bed, and even my five year old understand most of it. I always hated reading the bible because I didn't understand KJV. Now, our faith has deepened and I actually understand God's truths. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2013

    Awesome!

    This has brought the Bible ALIVE, and I understand so much more now that I have read it in chronological order...........worth every penny I spent!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    Highly Recommended

    Very easy to read and reference. Easy to keep track of daily readings. I would not change a thing, and will to continue to highly recommend the One Year Chronological Bible.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    I love this Bible!

    I purchased this Chronological Bible to hopefully make it easier for me to stick with my goal of reading the Bible within a one year time frame. The only problem is, with the way this Bible is set up, like a continuing story, I'll probably have the entire Bible read in about six months! It's easy to read, interesting, and I don't want to stop when I reach the end of the day's "required" reading! I recommend this Bible to anyone who is wanting to better understand the written word of God, anyone who wants to experience a more rich and rewarding personal Bible study and worship, and anyone who, like me, simply wanted to achieve a goal of reading the entire Bible in the time frame of one year!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 18, 2013

    Ighly recommend for someone who wants to read the Bible through in a year in today's English.

    Love it! Easy reading and easy to find where you left off. Other times I have tried reading the Bible through in year I would get behind and never know if I was back on track.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2012

    Great translation and works well on Nook

    I purchased this version of the One Year Bible after trying a different one that did not work on Nook. This one works very well and is a great way to read through the Bible in one year.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    A good starting point to study the Bible.

    I would recommend this in either hardcopy or NOOK formats (I have it in both). This is a good starting point if you're unfamiliar with the Bible and interested in reading it start to finish in a structured way.

    I'd been interested in learning about the Bible but had trouble with the King James Version (KJV) because the language wasn't modern. This translation puts the text in plain, modern English and includes footnotes throughout that show wording and translation from other texts so you get a sense of how older versions are worded and can compare it to the modern translation.

    The one year reading format is very helpful because it's divided into daily readings. I tried to read the whole bible from start to finish on more than one occasion but always put it down. Having it broken into daily readings helps to keep my reading on track.

    The chronological layout of the readings is both interesting and sometimes confusing because you are reading about events in the order they occurred but are often reading from more than one book of the Bible at a time. I plan to re-read the Bible at some point in a non-chronological format to become familiar with the order in which it's commonly published.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    one year chronological Bible

    I love this Bibles ... But I have had nothing but problems with it.. It crashes all the time.. even In my app I have on My ipad.. I wonderful if anyone else has this issue.. I sure wish they would fix it.. It is a great Bible .. Loop

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 37 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2