Customer Reviews for

One Year to an Organized Life: From Your Closets to Your Finances, the Week-by-Week Guide to Getting Completely Organized for Good

Average Rating 4
( 36 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Get Those Ducks In a Row!

    There's books to help you get organized, and then there's books to help you get organized- and this book is great! I think what makes it so different than your typical book on organization is that is leads you through the organizational steps and process so well....EVERY WEEK FOR AN ENTIRE YEAR!! And this, I feel, is its main strength. So how does it accomplish the lofty goal of getting one organized? According to the book, the magic formula is as follows: <BR/><BR/>1) eliminate <BR/>2) categorize <BR/>and 3) organize! <BR/><BR/>If it sounds simple, it is- or rather should I say that this book makes it about as simple as it can get. Three steps, eliminate, categorize, and organize- and that's about what you can expect to do for each month of the year for a specific disorganized area, easily broken into down steps, week-by-week. Here's some of the areas of your life the book tackles: <BR/><BR/>-the kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, attic, the home office and living room <BR/>-additionally, the book covers getting organized while traveling, while moving, while entertaining, as well as the busy school time and holiday seasons. <BR/><BR/>As you can tell, the book is really complete and will guide you to a more organized life, week-by-week for an ENTIRE year. Get it if you're lazy like me and need to be led by the hand. If you can't get past just reading the steps, try "The Sixty-Second Motivator". Good luck!

    15 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    Fantastic

    This is a must read for anyone who is feeling overwhelmed by the clutter that has accumulated in their lives as well as feeling that they have very little time to deal with it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2013

    Love the weekly to do-lists and approach to tackling a room a mo

    Love the weekly to do-lists and approach to tackling a room a month! 

    My family struggles with clutter. My justification for working full-time used to be that I could buy my family whatever we wanted, when we wanted it. That combined with our hoarding of papers, pictures, toys and every small kitchen appliance has resulted in jam packed cupboards and cabinets. I confess we even have boxes of pictures and stuff that I have not opened since we moved into our house 14 years ago. We all like to take things out, but we don’t always put things back where they belong.




    I found this audiobook at my library and thought it would give me the motivation to get our clutter under control and our house organized and boy did it! I love how Ms. Leeds breaks down the organization projects, tackling a room each month. I love her “Zen organizer” approach to tackling the room: first, she asks questions that make you think about why it has gotten to this point; second, think about how you envision the space via dream boards (Pinterest woukd work well these days);third, get down to the nitty gritty of clearing out what is not needed and fourth, simple solutions to get it organized and keep it that way. I like how she breaks down a to-do list week by week to make the task more manageable and less overwhelming.




    As a narrator, Ms. Leeds has that perfect calming Zen like voice. She explains her theories about clutter and organization clearly and gives relevant real life examples to help illustrate her points. She gives spiritual and motivational affirmations at the end of each chapter if you like that kind of thing. They are a bit cheesy for me but I take it with a grain of salt and as a reminder about how I should value myself, my home and the possessions that are important to me.




    While the audiobook is very helpful, I think this is one of those books I will keep a hard copy of so I can take advantage of those to do lists and helpful advice. I have been tackling my closets one by one, and this book has helped me keep motivated in making our house more of a home. The best compliment came the other night when my oldest son told me he was glad I decided to stay home because I was happier and making our home nicer and more organized. I love small victories!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    Getting organized

    Great book for the ones who just don't know where to start.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Motivating.

    One Year to an Organized Life is a very motivating book. It really takes it all down to the bare bones and lets you see what areas you most need to work in. I apprecaited the author's advice in all issues.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 22, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    The Key To Financial Freedom!

    I've been a fan of Regina Leeds since I discovered her Zen approach with A YEAR TO AN ORGANIZED LIFE and A YEAR TO AN ORGANIZED WORK LIFE. Now I discover her changing my life again with A YEAR TO AN ORGANIZED WORK LIFE along with her talented collaborator who is clearly a financial expert and gifted writer himself.

    Following her easy to read and simple approach, I found that this direct step by step guide is not only a recipe for financial well-being but is a boon to my self esteem! I mean, if I can re-organize my brain to handle money after 20 years of flubbing and scrapping and just making due ... think of what else I might be able to accomplish.

    I'm buying this book as a gift as well for many of the young people in my life ... why not share what I've learned?

    Thanks, Regina!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 14, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Week-by-week detailed steps for organizing your life

    Regina Leeds starts with your mother's philosophy: There's a place for everything. She provides all the details you need week-by-week and month-by-month to help you stop searching for keys and remote controls, and quit wondering when your dental appointment is. With her help, you can change from time-wasting time mode to "just do it" mode. The weekly organizational activities on her agenda range from one hour to a full day, though she rarely asks you to tie up an entire day. Leeds knows many people have busy schedules and an overwhelming amount of work to do in organizing their lives. getAbstract finds that her orderly approach might help you transform your life or, at least, your closet.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2007

    A reviewer

    Regina Leeds has outdone herself with this book. Usually, you read a book, and then you may be inspired briefly, but this book takes it apart month by month to accomplish each room and your life. I caught her website at reginaleeds.com. I think she is going to have some conference calls to help those with organizing challenges.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2012

    Very Helpful

    I thought this book had some helpful tips

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Get Those Ducks In a Row!

    There's books to help you get organized, and then there's books to help you get organized- and this book is great! I think what makes it so different than your typical book on organization is that is leads you through the organizational steps and process so well....EVERY WEEK FOR AN ENTIRE YEAR!! And this, I feel, is its main strength. So how does it accomplish the lofty goal of getting one organized? According to the book, the magic formula is as follows:

    1) eliminate
    2) categorize
    and 3) organize!

    If it sounds simple, it is- or rather should I say that this book makes it about as simple as it can get. Three steps, eliminate, categorize, and organize- and that's about what you can expect to do for each month of the year for a specific disorganized area, easily broken into down steps, week-by-week. Here's some of the areas of your life the book tackles:

    -the kitchen, bedroom, bathroom, attic, the home office and living room
    -additionally, the book covers getting organized while traveling, while moving, while entertaining, as well as the busy school time and holiday seasons.

    As you can tell, the book is really complete and will guide you to a more organized life, week-by-week for an ENTIRE year. Get it if you're lazy like me and need to be led by the hand. If you can't get past just reading the steps, try "The Sixty-Second Motivator". Good luck!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2008

    More Organized = More Productive

    This should be a 'no brainer'...take some time to pick up this book, and read it cover to cover! If you implement at least SOME of the suggestions in here, you will find that you have ALOT more time in your day...and I for one LOVE it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 36 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2