Customer Reviews for

The One and Only Ivan

Average Rating 4.5
( 309 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(255)

4 Star

(23)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(8)

1 Star

(15)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

80 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

What does a gorilla artist think about?

This is a wonderful book. It is told from the viewpoint of Ivan, a silverback gorilla who is an artist. The language is beautiful. I read it to my 4th grade class and they LOVED it! The students wanted to learn more about poaching and how zoos work. I would HIGHLY recom...
This is a wonderful book. It is told from the viewpoint of Ivan, a silverback gorilla who is an artist. The language is beautiful. I read it to my 4th grade class and they LOVED it! The students wanted to learn more about poaching and how zoos work. I would HIGHLY recommend this book. Adults will love it also!

posted by Mnloonsong on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Stella

My teacher read it to my class and the entire fith grade in willamsburg elementry in the world read it and it was preaty sad

posted by 16920995 on December 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 309 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    What does a gorilla artist think about?

    This is a wonderful book. It is told from the viewpoint of Ivan, a silverback gorilla who is an artist. The language is beautiful. I read it to my 4th grade class and they LOVED it! The students wanted to learn more about poaching and how zoos work. I would HIGHLY recommend this book. Adults will love it also!

    80 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    A must read for ages 9-90. I don't want to use too many words, y

    A must read for ages 9-90. I don't want to use too many words, you'll understand once you read the book. Get your box of crayons and tissue ready.

    41 out of 53 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Loved it!

    I bought this for my 4th grader, but started reading it myself to see if it was appropriate before I gave it to her. I found myself literally crying tears of joy upon reading the end of this story. Ivan is more humane than most humans, as Stella is more patient & wise. Bob is a scene-stealer with his painfully insightful comments about us humans. A wonderful story for all ages!

    40 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2013

    Loved, the book and touched me very deeply because I knew the re

    Loved, the book and touched me very deeply because I knew the real Ivan.Here are some details.  Ivan was born in 1962 in Africa and came here at 6 months. In 1994 he finally found a grand home at the zoo in Atlanta. Ivan lived there until last summer where he died at the ripe old age of fifty which is ancient for a gorilla. Most don't live past thirty-five.. Our entire community was deeply saddened by his passing. No one had ever forgotten him; he was special to us. His ashes have been returned to his home here and a memorial with a statue of him will stand in  beautiful local park where he will be remembered for many years to come. As I said, I grew up with Ivan and can fill in his story. He lived a big store called the B&I in Lakewood, WA for twenty-seven years.  Like most of the people who grew up during the Ivan years 1962 - 1994, I remember him vividly. I was a child in the 70's and didn't realize how alize how unfair it was to Ivan to have no other gorillas. I do remember not liking his cage. It had been state of the art in the 1960's but it didn't age well. Although we were ignorant at the time, Ivan was adored by all of us. To the owners of the store who bottle and spoon fed him as an infant, he was part of their family. Really, though, it felt like he was a part of all of us. As a kid, it was a BIG deal to see Ivan and anyone of us from that era have only fondness and love for him. As we aged nd scientific knowledge of gorillas grew,  we knew it was wrong & cruel to keep him behind glass in a concrete enclosure so we were overjoyed when Ivan found a home in the Atlanta zoo. He had a home where he could be outside in fresh air, interact with other gorrilas and be stimulated by his envioronment rather than caged.  There was also a wistfulness for him too. We missed Ivan immensly. Over the years we kept tabs on him, but the internet really gave us the ability to see pictures and his wonderful home. Ivan has a Facebook page where anyone can see him. Go check him out. You will see the tremendous happiness when the page appeared with many comments and memories. You'll also see the heartache at his passing. You will also see this book reference many, many times. We loved him. Go check him out!.    

    33 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 26, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I requested this book for review from LibraryThing because I was

    I requested this book for review from LibraryThing because I was a big fan of the Animorphs series, penned by Applegate as K. A. Applegate, when I was young. I had never read anything other than these books by her before, so I didn’t really know what to expect. I did suspect, however, that I would like it. I was right. I am very glad that my receipt of the novel was only delayed and not cancelled, because it would have been a shame to miss this one. The One and Only Ivan is a wonderfully written, feel-good novel. It is a novel written from the perspective of a gorilla named Ivan. For years, he has been a feature of the Big Top Mall and Video Arcade. He has lived in his domain making quiet observations about the humans that come to stare at him through the glass panes. He doesn’t think about his old life in the jungle. That’s the key to living in his existence — his twin sister couldn’t let the jungle life go, and died as a result. There are no other gorillas at Exit 8. His only friends are an elephant named Stella and a skinny, stray dog named Bob. When a new elephant baby named Ruby is brought in to help salvage the business, Ivan is torn between his seeming inability to make any headway with the humans and fulfilling his promise to secure Ruby a better life.

    If there was ever any doubt that a children’s novel could make an adult tear up, The One and Only Ivan dispenses with this notion. I don’t even like monkeys, and am not particularly fond of gorillas either. But the talent of the author’s storytelling overrides my original biases. Applegate is so wonderful at writing from Ivan’s perspective — taking an outsider’s probable observations of humans and putting them to paper in a way that is simple, yet poignant and often funny, charming, and sometimes alarmingly resonant. The messages of this novel are much like that of a well-crafted Disney movie or something of the like that is widely held to be enjoyable by children and adults alike. The content is simple and whimsical enough for children to enjoy, but the lessons about humans and their differing treatment of animals is serious enough to give adults something to consider when they are done reading.

    I highly recommend this novel. Applegate has proven, once and again, that she is a talented author. Even if you don’t particularly like gorillas, don’t let that stop you. The One and Only Ivan is a novel that transcends the characters; it is a story of humanity and the thoughts and feelings of animals that we are often too quick to ignore.

    This book was obtained freely through the LibraryThing Early Reviewers program in exchange for an honest review.

    24 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2013

    AWESOME BOOK!!!!!

    This book tells about a gorilla stuck in a circus with two elephants. I'm 10 years old, and our librarian read this book to us and we all loved my class was so exited when she read that book to us so, BUY IT NOOOOOOOOOOOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    22 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2013

    Amazing!

    This book was spectacular, and, so far, the only book ever to quench my unsatiable hunger for new books for two whole days (with the exception of Pride and Prejudice). I cried through nearly the whole book and it was so sweet! The One and Only Ivan is a must-read book for EVERYONE. Personally, I am not an animal-lover and, when I found out this was an animal-centered book, was a bit skeptical, but I love it. It is an amazing read and everyone and anyone should read it. It ought to be on the required reading list of EVERY school in the nation and in the world. New favorite book!

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2013

    The one and only ivan

    When i read the one and only ivan it made me cry it was really sad and it was awared the nebary honnor book of 2013

    17 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2013

    The one and only Ivan

    Succh a wonderful book!!! :)

    17 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2013

    Love this book! I laughed and cried. This a book that should be

    Love this book! I laughed and cried. This a book that should be on school's reading lists.

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Good book.

    One pf the very BEST books i ever read.If i cuold give it more stars i would.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Loved

    I loooooooooooovvvvvvvvvvvvvvvvveeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeddddddddddd this booooooooooooooooooooooooooooook

    10 out of 21 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 5, 2013

    The One and Only Ivan is an inspirational book for me. The main

    The One and Only Ivan is an inspirational book for me. The main character in this book was Ivan the gorilla. He lives with many animals at a human habitat called Exit 8 Big Top Mall and Video Arcade. Mack is the owner of the Big Top Mall. The mall was located off Interstate 95 with shows at 2:00, 4:00, and 7:00. Ivan has many friends but his main friends are Stella [elderly elephant], Bob [a dog], George [worker and Julia’s father], and Julia [an artistic girl]. All of them are almost like a wonderful family. Ivan was sort of an artist because Julia influences him to draw. Then, he could draw bananas. Ivan’s drawings are on sale for $25 each.




    Let’s talk about Stella. Stella was an elderly elephant. She was the only elephant at the mall like Ivan is the only gorilla. One day, Stella didn’t want to do an act in front of the crowd because her hind legs bothered her. She was in pain after that! To bring company for Stella, there was a baby elephant named Ruby that was shipped to the mall. Stella took good care of Ruby and treated it like a son/daughter. One day, Stella was very ill and sick. The next day she died! Everyone at the mall was horrified. After that incident, Ivan and Julia took good care of Ruby. They all went along. 




    Now the mall is losing money. Mack could not run the mall successfully and the mall started losing some money. One day, George got fired by Mack. Julia also had to leave. Julia told all the animals that she loves them. Before she left, she gave Ivan a picture of him and Ruby together. A day later, all the animals at the mall were sold to the Atlanta Zoo. What’s even worse was that all the animals had separate domains in different areas. Everyone’s worried of Ruby the most. But also had company of having fun with other elephants. In the same way for Ivan. Ivan also had company with another gorilla named Kinyani who indeed wanted to make romance with Ivan. They all lived happily ever after.
     
      This story was based on a true story. Ivan was indeed a real gorilla that did live at the Atlanta Zoo. He was captured as an infant from Democratic Republic of Congo. He was actually housed at a circus- themed house in Washington. He actually spent 27 years of his life in a cage! The mall Ivan lived in was bankrupt so he was placed on a loan to the Atlanta Zoo. Ivan was a celebrity. He lived with Kinyani and other gorillas. Ivan unfortunately died last year! Everyone will also never forget Ivan.   

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2013

    Newbery

    My reading class was reading books that might win the newbery. I knew this would win. In your face lions of little rock.

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    Best book of the summer!

    This beautifully written book has truly touched my soul. Told in animal voices, Applegate reveals their stunning everyday insights and offers an honest portrayal of their lives in captivity.It is easy to see why this wonderful book was awarded the 2013 Newbery Award. Highly recommend for grades 4 and up.

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    In the One and Only Ivan the story takes place in a mall where I

    In the One and Only Ivan the story takes place in a mall where Ivan and other animals live in cages. Ivan a silverback is no longer interesting to people and causes Mack the owner to lose money. When a new animal comes in to earn more money Ivan has to try getting her out to a better place. He promises Stella a different animal that he will get the new animal out. Ivan then has to use his very small art skills to help get the new animal out.
    I gave this book 5 stars because I liked the characters and how an animal could be so smart. I liked how Ivan used his skills to get the new animal out. I never got bored because everything kept coming after another. I would recommend this book to everyone because it’s so good.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 13, 2013

    Finally, a Newbery book that will appeal to the majority of youn

    Finally, a Newbery book that will appeal to the majority of young readers. This is the perfect story for families & teachers to read aloud. Beware: you will be moved to tears of happiness. (Librarianreader)

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    OMG

    I love this book you so so so so so meed to raed this book if you don't you stink

    7 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2013

    The One And Only Iven

    This book was grate i dont even know what to say but this book is gtate for kids 5+

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2012

    Rosie

    Rented it from the libray. It was so sad and toching. It jad the moral about never giving up on a good dream.mlw.

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 309 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 16