Customer Reviews for

The One and Only Ivan

Average Rating 4.5
( 337 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(277)

4 Star

(27)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

87 out of 92 people found this review helpful.

What does a gorilla artist think about?

This is a wonderful book. It is told from the viewpoint of Ivan, a silverback gorilla who is an artist. The language is beautiful. I read it to my 4th grade class and they LOVED it! The students wanted to learn more about poaching and how zoos work. I would HIGHLY recom...
This is a wonderful book. It is told from the viewpoint of Ivan, a silverback gorilla who is an artist. The language is beautiful. I read it to my 4th grade class and they LOVED it! The students wanted to learn more about poaching and how zoos work. I would HIGHLY recommend this book. Adults will love it also!

posted by Mnloonsong on February 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Stella

My teacher read it to my class and the entire fith grade in willamsburg elementry in the world read it and it was preaty sad

posted by 16920995 on December 29, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 277 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2012

    Cry

    The book msde my teacher cry at the end

    7 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    I was an Elementary Public School Teacher and I read about Ivan

    I was an Elementary Public School Teacher and I read about Ivan quite awhile back.  My specialties were 1st, 3rd, 4th and 5th grade.  
    I am going to read it again and have my grand, great grandchildren and children read it to those too young to read.
    I, too, would recommend it  to ALL ages, as I am now almost 83.  READ IT, if you have a heart, you'll have to LOVE it.
    'classicalall'

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    It sound like a really cute book and I would want to read it if

    It sound like a really cute book and I would want to read it if I bought it my friend has it and she lets me read the book when ever  I like I mite go buy it pretty soon >3

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Worlds best book

    Katherine Applegate really hit it on the nose

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2012

    Animorphs

    I love Applegates animorphs but this is greatt, to i recomond ti anyone but still nothing overrides animirphs

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    Summary
    Ivan, a mighty Silverback Gorilla, lives at the “Exit 8 Big Top Mall and Video Arcade.” He is part of a small circus with a small dog named Bob, and an old Elephant named Stella. Ivan has been part of the circus for 27 years. As life goes on, less and less visitors come to see Ivan, who is locked up in his domain. But hopes go from bad to good for a bit as a new animal arrives. Her name is Ruby, she is a young Elephant. Even though more visitors come to see Ivan and Ruby, the owner of the circus is forced to sell the animals and the property to avoid bankruptcy. All of the animals were moved. Ivan and Ruby in particular went to the Zoo Atlanta. Bob was adopted by the daughter of the janitor for the former property. Ivan and Ruby were more satisfied there because they were with more of their kind.
    Book Review
    I liked this book. The pictures were very detailed, so I was able to vision what was happening in my head. If there weren’t any pictures I could still get a picture in my head with the adjectives that Katherine Applegate used. I was able to get the story from Ivan’s perspective of view. If you like animals and heartbreaking stories, this is one to read.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2013

    Holy smokes did I ever love this book! It had such an emoti

    Holy smokes did I ever love this book! It had such an emotional connection for me. It was a really quick read, so I finished it in one short sitting. I can totally see why this book won so many awards last year. It deserved them. It is a touching read that will stay with you long after the last page is read. It's a beautiful, beautiful story.

    I loved getting to know Ivan and follow him as he searches for a way to keep the impossible promise he made to a friend. His story was so touching, it had me sobbing as I cheered for him and his friends. I still get choked up when I think about it. Seriously, an amazing story. Highly recommended!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2013

    Kdfn

    U have one word awesome

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2014

    LOVE IT

    I love this book PERIOD! It is recomended for any age it is a cute and say book if u love elphants amd gorillas and dogs then definatly read this book u wont regret it

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2014

    Amazing work by kathriene applegate

    Ivan is an gorilla artist that lives in the big top mall in captivity. He hardly remembers hisnold life as a wild silverback gorilla or any of his family. He dosent find his life so bad because he has his friends, bob, a stray dog, and stella, an elderly elephant.but when a baby elephant named ruby comes to the mall, he must save her so she can roam the outdoor zoo. The genre of thie book is realistic fiction, but what makes it unique is that it is told from ivans point ov view. The one and only ivan is a terrific book.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Fabulous!

    My 5th grader loved this book!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2013

    Great

    It made me cry to the very last minute. It was maybe the best book I read in a long time.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 12, 2013

    The one an only ivan. Amazing book

    This is the best book i've ever read. I found my self crying, laughing, and awing. I think this is a great book for any one. Take it from a 12 year old. ( that's how old i am.)
    READ THIS BOOK!!!! NOW!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    For kids of all ages..up to 109

    Every person should read this book, it is warm, charming, sad, happy and all of a sudden Ivan becomes alive in your heart! A Great book for kids and for adults who are kids at heart

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2013

    Great book

    This is a rrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrreeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaalllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllllyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy gooooooooooooooooood booooooooooook!

    4 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2014

    Heartwarming!

    My 4th grade daughter & myself loved this book. Easy read. Hartwarming.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2013

    Anonymous

    Amazing!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2013

    Movie making

    They should make a movie

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2013

    Yessssss! Totaly awesome

    I loved the one and only ivan so much and I have no reason to understand why somone would give it a bad reveiw. Its a story about a gorilla who finds friend fears and talents, and in the he fulfills the promise he made to one friend to help another. Ivan is one tough cookie and though he faces problems, all he has to do to solve it is throw a me-ball. Read the defination pages in the front to know what a me-ball is. Anyway, its a book you should definately read. And it is NOT for five year olds. - from a bookworm.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 26, 2013

    Lovely, lovely story

    Not just for kids only! Wonderful story for adults as well. Since it is based on a real gorilla, I was compelled to search the internet for the story of the "real" Ivan. I highly recommend this book and urge you to look up the real Ivan as well.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 277 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 14