BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

One by One

Average Rating 4.5
( 27 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(20)

4 Star

(4)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    agree with zzz...

    Not their best. After the first few songs they all start to sound the same and it gets tiresome, big disappointment after Colour and Shape.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    This album won a grammy for a reason

    Both the AMG review and the review below me seem to think that frontman Dave Grohl's songwriting has dissipated. They're dead wrong. They are right about one thing: This album lacks the structure that the previous albums had, the great contrasts that made the Foo Fighters, well, the Foo Fighters. And there is nothing here thats as haunting as Everlong, but there are gut wrenching and majestic tunes on this album What this album lacks in structure, it makes up for in sound. The songs are more complex than the album. The guitar is incredible. The grammy winning, gut-wrenching "All My Life" is a killer opener, but it gets better. Next is the coolest song Dave Grohl ever wrote: the almost - dare I say it - electronic "Low", with distortion galore and Taylor Hawkins ridiculous drumming. The classic "Times Like These" is not as haunting or as majestic as its predecessor: Its a perfect mix of the two, plus as much syncopation as you can handle. The album stays strong all the way until the one song that tops "Learn to Fly" in its majesty: the amazing "Come Back", 7 minutes of pure bliss. Despite what they say, you can't go wrong with this album. I'll admit it wasnt as good as the Colour and The Shape, but its not as poppy as There Is NOthing Left To Lose, like everyone claims. This album won a grammy, and with good reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    zzzzzzzz...

    It sounds as if these alt rock heroes of the past are like forty years old or something. What? They are like forty years old or something? Well, I guess you can't blame them for aging. Some descriptive words: adult-contemporary-sounding, lethargic, lame, cool-4-your-dad, etc. I'm working on making myself believe that Mr. Grohl took a vow of silence after There is Nothing Left To Lose - which was good, really good. On One By One, every song fails to deliver the goods, even though you sit there desperately wishing for another This is a Call or Aurora. I tried to like this album - I really did. But ultimately, I had to recognize it for what it really is - um, a bad album, I guess.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Dark, Aggressive, and the Best They've Ever Done!

    Don't get me wrong, I've been a fan of the Foo Fighters since I heard 'My Hero' for the first time, but this is by far their best album. They sound more together than on their other albums, and the lyrics are hauntingly wonderful to listen to... My favorite song on the album have to be All My Life and Tired of You, though Come back is an absolutely AMAZING song- don't be put off by t's length. Trust me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    have heard it through a downloaded copy

    Stellar cd...as good as last cd? NO. Different sound this time around. Harder, which I like, but songs are not as tight as "There is Nothing Left to Lose". I would rate this as high as the first cd though. (Which so many people love the most anyway!) So if you haven't heard it yet, take it from a real Foo Fighters fan, don't wait to buy/burn this cd. pick it up next tuesday...rrt

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Life is great!!!

    Dave Grohl has proven to many fans that a drummer can do anything. To all the Foo Fighters fans out there get out the crowbars and fork out the cash for this awesome album. If you can get the DVD extra you're in for a treat.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Foo Fighters Kick Ass...Again

    So October second rolls around and I fly into the store to snap up my copy of the Foo Fighters new album. Couldn't even wait, I had the lady open it and slap it in my CD player right at the counter. Wow, this CD blew me away, first song I heard was Overdrive, one of my favourites on the CD and it was amazing. Hell the whole CD is full of Foo Fighter goodness. Anyone who needs to be rocked should get snag this CD, you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Best Yet

    This cd is everything you would expect from the Foo Fighters: great lyrics, mixture of different music styles, and some great beats; plus much more. I was excited for the new cd when it first came out, but doubtful they'd ever make a cd as good as the Colour and the Shape (1997)... Boy was I wrong. I really think this is the best Foo Fighters cd yet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    totally kick@$$

    this cd is awesome, every song is amazing. the lyrics are perfect and you can bang your head to everything. awesome.buy it without a doubt and then buy all the others

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One Cd

    I have been a Big Foo Fighters Fan For almost 4 years now. I am 13 years old. This cd is not only the foo fighters best yet, but it is extremly breath-taking 2 guitarist a bass player a drummer a engineer a producer and a vocalist who can switch from delicate harmonies to fiery, hard-edged leads at the drop of a hat. This is the best cd ever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I'll won't go getting tired of this album

    It has happened again. The Foo Fighters have put together a new album that is great for listening. While I own and enjoy all four Foo Fighter albums, One by One is the best album as a whole; the others have great songs but a disjointed feel, while this new album flows together from beginning to end. One by One begins with the driving chords of ¿All My Life¿ and doesn¿t let go until the end. Some of the tracks start a little slower for example, ¿Disenchanted Lullaby¿, ¿Lonely as You¿, ¿Tired of You¿, and ¿Come Back¿, but rock fans don¿t skip these tracks because the rock turns back up and they will grab you and pull you back in. The lyrics on this album apply to the common person and their life experiences. Some of the lyrics are inspiring like those in ¿Times Like These¿ that remind us that ¿we can learn to live again¿ and ¿we can learn to love again.¿ Others have a more romantic feel like those in ¿Tired of You¿ since the most repeated line is ¿I won¿t go getting tired of you¿. When I hear the final track ¿Come Back¿ and Dave sings, ¿I¿ve been gone so long/but I will come back,¿ I can¿t help but hope he is talking about coming back to my part of the country, and to my town. Whatever time the band took off to work to re-group was worth the wait. On this album the band has a musical togetherness that is unmatched on any other album. They are all working together to create a musical experience in which they are all equals and on the same wavelength, but don¿t just trust me, find out for yourself

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Foo Fighters best album

    I believe that 1X1 would have to be the best foo fighters album. If you are a true rock fan this is for you! The music and the lyrics rock which makes this album awesome.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Just an incredible record

    ¿All My Life,¿ the gritty and powerful first track of the Foo Fighters fourth album immediately knocked my socks off. And why wouldn¿t it? The song¿s contrasting quiet/loud scheme just works so well. The next two songs, ¿Low¿ and ¿Have it All,¿ show off the Foo¿s great guitar riffs along with soft, passionate growlings by Grohl. A real gem on the album is ¿Tired of You,¿ aided with the help of the one and only Brian May, which contrasts well with the upbeat-sound of ¿Halo.¿ My personal favorite, ¿Lonely as You,¿ is deliciously good. I can¿t even explain it. `One by One¿ sadly leaves us wanting more with the last track, ¿Come Back,¿ yet another epic song by the Foo¿s. Overall, `One by One¿ is a very consistent and very complete rock record, easily the best of the year. Oh, and super cool too. `One by One¿ and the Foo Fighters definitely lived up to my expectations, saving rock music once again. I urge anyone and everyone to buy this record immediately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One By One

    Admitting that I am a Foo Fighters fan is certainly an understatement. So, I naturally woke up the morning of October 22nd in anticipation, I had been waiting for this album forever it seems, and I wasn't disppointed. The awe elusive sounds in "Disenchanted Lullably", and the rock opus "Come Back" proves that these guys can rock!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    The best Foo album to date

    This album is definantly the best album the Foo Fighters have ever made, it just go's to show they are getting stronger and stronger. Go buy the album! I can promise you will get a brilliant cd you can listen to for hours and never get bored! Well worth the money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Foo Fighters - One by One

    One by One. Finally the Foos comeback with the follow up to 1999's "There is Nothing left to lose" and lay "One by One" on the table. There was talks of a break up with the band when Grohl went to play drums with QOTSA, and the fourth studio album was looking in doubt. But this was just a rumour as the foos are stil together strong as ever, and sounding as good as ever. The album opens with the superb All my Life, a great big chunk of pure rock music the way it should be, next comes Low a weird, dark and clostraphocic sound with calm vocals and apowerful guitar and drums, this is then followed by Have it all, which has a catchy chorus and riff where nobody could refuse to smile. Next up on the agenda is the fantastically written Times like these, an emotional song which is straight to the point. Disenchated Lullaby follows and is a powerful song with a great grunge chorus ("I may be scattered, a little shattered, what does it matter, no one has a fit like i do") its a great song. Now its time for possibly one of the greatest songs to come from the Foo Fighters, Tired of you with the help of guitarist legend Brian May this song is slow and the vocals are quite haunting, truly footastic.Now for Halo, great song, great lyrics, what else can i say. Next up is probably the weakest song from one by one but by no means is it a bad one, overdrive a pop punk tune which is very catchy and cute. Next is another beautiful song and another of Grohls greatest, Burn Away. And finally the album is finished off with the epic Comeback playing for almost 8 minutes a fantastic song which finished off a fantastic album. One by one is evidence of the foo fighters growing as a band and the arent stopping any time soon. Definetly buy this album I can garuntee you will not be disapointed. 10/10

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    One by One - best album of the year, atleast!

    The new Foo Fighters album will "tear the colon tissues out of your little a**es!" And Dave Grohl can't be wrong! Neither can the millions of Foo fans all over the world! This album is packed with poetic, artistic, melodic rock! The best album of the year, atleast!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    YAY!!! The Brandtidos Return!!!!!!!!

    With "One by One" finally the Foo Fighters came back in the land of music, with their rocking and rude songs to give us a breath from the various pop singers and boy bands that keep appearing and annoying on the various music channels.. pfewwwwwww!!!!!!! The album is really good, starting from the hit single "All my life", throughout the rockin "Low", "Have it All", "Times like these", "Halo", "Overdride", "Burn away", broken by the esotheric "Disenchanted Lullaby", by the heart breaking "Tired of you" and expecially by the sadly sweet heart-touching "Lonely as you" that explodes more and more while listening to it (absolutely my fav!!). A must.. if u wanna hear again the real rock!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Foo Fighters Rock

    One by one would have to be one of the best albums the Foo Fighters have released to date. The band has ultimately rallied for argubly it's most cohesive and dynamic effort yet that bristles with charged energy and a sense of renewal. "All My Life", "Low" and "Have it All" Kick things off with it's heavy power riffs, but it is not all loud and proud, though: The pop shimmer of "Overdrive"., the textured moodiness of "Disenchanted Lullaby," and the richly melodic "Halo" nicely counter and complement their sonic compatriots and thy help to set up "Come Back". In "All My Life" Dave sings that "Nothing satisfies, but I'm getting closer... to the prize at the end of the rope" Truth be told, he's much colser than he may realize. One of the best Albums this year, a must have for the record collection

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Foos Rule

    The best straight ahead rock and roll record in years. Stripped down sound and great lyrics. If there is one positive result from the death of Kurt, its that we got the Foo Fighters!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2