Customer Reviews for

One for the Money (Movie Tie-in Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1719 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(963)

4 Star

(468)

3 Star

(183)

2 Star

(62)

1 Star

(43)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

90 out of 92 people found this review helpful.

I'm HOOKED!

I stumbled on this series while looking for downloads for my new nook. The reviews were all so positive that I decided to try the first book in the series. This book had all of the elements of a great, fun read...characters that captivate, laugh out loud humor, drama,...
I stumbled on this series while looking for downloads for my new nook. The reviews were all so positive that I decided to try the first book in the series. This book had all of the elements of a great, fun read...characters that captivate, laugh out loud humor, drama, and suspense. It's neither overboard nor lack lustre, it's solid and incredibly entertaining!!! I loved it! I read it in one day and have already started on the second book! This may just be a new favorite author for me. If it weren't for others that took the time to write reviews, I would've have never given it a try, I'm so grateful!

posted by NookLover74 on July 9, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

Well developed characters--too much language

This is the first book I have read by this author. She develops the characters well and the storyline never gets dull. I don't happen to be a big fan of the "F" word, so did not like all the foul language. Certainly think characters can be developed with much less of...
This is the first book I have read by this author. She develops the characters well and the storyline never gets dull. I don't happen to be a big fan of the "F" word, so did not like all the foul language. Certainly think characters can be developed with much less of that language; otherwise, it was entertaining.

posted by 7710269 on January 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    Well developed characters--too much language

    This is the first book I have read by this author. She develops the characters well and the storyline never gets dull. I don't happen to be a big fan of the "F" word, so did not like all the foul language. Certainly think characters can be developed with much less of that language; otherwise, it was entertaining.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    Good and easy read

    Overall I thought this book was a quick and fun read. I'm not sure I loved it as much as others out there though. The writing's simple, plot not too complicated, characters enjoyable, but I feel that there are other books out there that capture mystery and romance a bit better. I didn't feel like it excelled in any category; I wasn't WOWed, but it had a nice balance of everything. Since the reviews for this series are so great, I'm giving the next book a try.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Hmm

    This series was so highly recommended to me so I gave it a try. I didn't hate it, but I wasn't into it either. I am really not sure if I will give this series another shot in the future, but for now I'm done with it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 30, 2014

    This book has it all. The characters were described well and the

    This book has it all. The characters were described well and the humor had me laughing out loud.  We meet Stephanie right away who has a good job, house, money and car. Then she suddenly loses her job and can't pay the bills so she sells just about everything she owns to get her phone turned back on and pay other bills  Desperate for a job, she blackmails her cousin, Vinnie, into giving her a job at his bail bond business as a recovery agent. She has no experience in finding people who have run out on their bail so she gets herself into some very dangerous situations. She takes on her first case because she needs the money and didn't think it would be very hard to find someone who had skipped bail. But once she starts looking, she sees that it will be really hard to find and apprehend Joe Morelli who happened to be someone she was intimate with in high school. Joe is now a cop who was charged with murder, maintains he is innocent so skips bail and tries to find the evidence he needs to prove his innocence.

    Stephanie is cute and funny but because of her 'I gotta do this job' attitude, she is not too smart a lot of the time, getting herself into dangerous situations. In the beginning we learn that Joe was scum when Stephanie knew him as a teenager but later learn that he has grown into a pretty decent man.

    After reading the reviews for One For The Money I was really looking forward to reading it but it turns out that I didn't love it as much as most of the other readers.  Don't get me wrong - it is a good book but just not as great as I expected. Stephanie came across as a bumbling idiot and I didn't like the neighborhood setting.  It's an easy read with an uncomplicated plot and terrific last few chapters. The ending was great and I was surprised with the way things wrapped up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2014

    Fun book.

    Easy light reading that makes you chuckle every now and then.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Keep reading the series

    Have read several later books of the series and they get quite a bit better Very funny and entertaining

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Disappointing

    I expected a much better plot-line. Felt like a teen read.
    And hate to say it, but Lori Petty's voice totally got on my nerves...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 26, 2012

    .

    It was a fun read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    Easy read

    Just Okay quick read. Entertaining but probably the only book I will read by this author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2012

    check it out

    Loved it and all the rest of the Stephanie Plum series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2012

    It was ok

    Not what i thought it would be but good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    very funny

    amazing

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    Lmm feb 7, 2012

    Found this book to be quite good. However after reading the reviews of others, I've decided to stop at this one and not spoil the memory with her other books. Time is important at age 72, don't want to waste one minute of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2012

    great basic storyline and the grandmother is hilarious

    i liked it ...it was fast moving and kept my attention . The characters are really cute. i don't think i will like the movie.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    Bhffgkkjfxccb

    It was good

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2012

    Just okay

    Really, just okay. Not boring, but nothing special. I would read these books only for something different once and awhile.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Hmm...

    This book came highly recommended by my family members.. I don't know though. I got into it and then lost interest and had to force myself to continue it. Stephanie Plum is a sort of ridiculous character... Kinda Sookie Stackhouse, but lacking. I wanted to love her, but found myself giving up on her. She takes way too many showers and gets herself into the dumbiest situations. For example, continuing to be in the neighborhood of her stalker. Will read the other novels? Yes. But, only because I was told that the series gets better. And, i'm kinda hoping that's the case. The book however did have a few laugh out loud moments. But the who done it at the end was hardly a surprise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2012

    Worth the Four Bucks I spent on it

    Love Stephanie! She was personable and her family hilarious. I really enjoyed all the characters, in my opinion this is why the series is a hit. The story itself was decent, a bit repetitive and the mystery wasn’t too exciting, far from what I would consider a page-turner. Won’t read it again, but can’t wait for the movie!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2011

    Interesting start...

    Haven't made my mind up about this one yet. Not bad, but didn't capture my interest like I thought it would. Looking to read the next in the series and see if it grabs me further into Stephanie's story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 20, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Not Impressed

    I was disappointed. I was expecting a 5 star novel because of all of the hype surrounding the book but I found it mediocre at best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 183 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 10