Customer Reviews for

One for the Murphys

Average Rating 4.5
( 73 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(62)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

This is a touching account of a girl named Carley Conners who fi

This is a touching account of a girl named Carley Conners who finds herself in a foster home full of Murphys. The Murphys are good people, willing to let Carley into their hearts and home, but Carley isn't used to that concept. As the story unfolds, you begin to underst...
This is a touching account of a girl named Carley Conners who finds herself in a foster home full of Murphys. The Murphys are good people, willing to let Carley into their hearts and home, but Carley isn't used to that concept. As the story unfolds, you begin to understand how a girl could feel she somehow doesn't deserve a stable place with people who love her. There are revelations that are truly surprising, and took my breath away. Lynda Mullaly Hunt's writing is spot on- you feel like you are in Carley's head, navigating these uncharted waters right along with her. If you think you know how a book like this might end, you probably don't. I didn't see it coming, and I am glad I didn't. It's an engaging story right up to the authentic end. Give this one a read and you're apt to gain some real insight into what it means to belong and what is truly important in your own life.

posted by 1357829 on May 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

?

When I got the sample it only showed me the table of contents now I don't know what the book is like?! (I am giving this book a fake review because i have not read it yet)

posted by 10929009 on January 30, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    This is a touching account of a girl named Carley Conners who fi

    This is a touching account of a girl named Carley Conners who finds herself in a foster home full of Murphys. The Murphys are good people, willing to let Carley into their hearts and home, but Carley isn't used to that concept. As the story unfolds, you begin to understand how a girl could feel she somehow doesn't deserve a stable place with people who love her. There are revelations that are truly surprising, and took my breath away. Lynda Mullaly Hunt's writing is spot on- you feel like you are in Carley's head, navigating these uncharted waters right along with her. If you think you know how a book like this might end, you probably don't. I didn't see it coming, and I am glad I didn't. It's an engaging story right up to the authentic end. Give this one a read and you're apt to gain some real insight into what it means to belong and what is truly important in your own life.

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    This book is pretty Wicked...

    We read this in class, it is a touching book about a twelve year old named Carley Conners, her step father abused her and she was put into foster care. The Murphys seem too perky and perfect at first but she learns that sometimes "it's time to be changed for the better"(-Wicked) I love this book dearly, the abuse and violence may be scary for children under the age of 10, but I'm sure that if you read it first it is probably ok for as young as you see fit...

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2012

    This lovely, character-driven story about twelve year-old foster

    This lovely, character-driven story about twelve year-old foster child Carley Connors should resonate not only with kids who are or have been in the foster care system, but with any kid who has ever felt like an outsider, or has felt weird and unlovable. It's hard to fit in when you're twelve no matter what your story is.

    The writing is clean and unadorned with sentimentality, much like Carley herself as she moves through a scary new chapter of her life that she had no part in naming. There's plenty of wit and memorable characters (I wished I'd had a friend in school like Toni Byers, or a Social Studies teacher like Mr. Ruben), and so much heart and soul here that I barreled through the book in one sitting because I HAD to find out how Carley's story turned out. Five days later she's still here in my head. Score!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2013

    Dont buy the free sample

    Dont buy the free sample. It only gives you 8 pages, and none of them are even the writing in the book. Dont waste space on your nook and just buy it or not. Read some reviews maybe? Well i can tell you the book is good!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2013

    Best book ive ever read

    This is an amazing heart warming read for all ages

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    A must for foster/adoptive families

    Thank you from a foster/adoptive home for almost 30 years.
    Lana

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A Beautiful Account of What Family Really Means

    4.5 stars

    Carly Connors is a beaten down, jaded, kind of bitter, but truly sweet girl. She’s had a rough life, gone through more than any child should, and starts off the story by heading to a foster home. These are all things that many middle grade readers cannot relate to, but then we see the kind Carly who has a knack for the sarcastic and who loves making the two little boys she moves in with happy.

    Throughout Carly’s time with the Murphy’s, we see every side there is to her: She’s young and vulnerable, so we see her cry; she’s tough and has had to grow up far too fast, so she’s smart and independent; she could easily be closed off because how she’s been treated in the past, but slowly, she opens up. Her relationship with Mrs. Murphy is the backbone of the book and incredibly touching. Carly grows to love this mother figure that she never really had before.

    Carly’s relationship with her schoolmate, Toni, has all kinds of wonderful parallels to her own life and teaches her more than one lesson, but it never comes off as preachy. There was not one moment in the book that I could imagine a middle grade reader becoming frustrated with. The pace and the tone of the book remain constant throughout and the entire story comes off as realistic. Toni’s obsession with Wicked is also a nice touch.

    Any Bostonian will appreciate the little nods to the Red Sox. I know I enjoyed it, along with Mr. Murphy’s true Sox fan attitude toward the Yankees. His reaction to Toni’s taunting help to lighten the mood. Because with such a deep and emotional subject matter, One For the Murphys does have its tearjerker moments. It would be wise to have a box of tissues handy, especially towards the end.

    One For the Murphys is a heartfelt, heartbreaking, subtle, and beautifully realistic show of one girl’s journey from broken home to finding out what family means. The characters have so much depth and readers will find themselves thoroughly attached to Carly Connors and the entire Murphy family. Lynda Mullaly Hunt has masterfully taken the subject of fostering and opened it up to a new audience. Carly’s story has its ups and downs (remember those tissues!), but the ending is perfectly bittersweet.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 22, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Carley’s life has never been picture perfect, but there is

    Carley’s life has never been picture perfect, but there is one thing that keeps her going, the love she has for her mother and the love she believes is returned. That is, until the day her mother betrays Carley, choosing an abusive man over her very own daughter and places Carley’s life is in jeopardy.

    After a brutal attack by her stepfather that left Carley with several bruises and her mother heavily sedated in a hospital bed, Carley is released and is left in the care of a foster family. Carley’s emotions are spinning, she feels betrayed, but nevertheless, she doesn't want to live with another family.

    Never knowing how it feels to be part of a real family, one that loves and genuinely cares for one another, once Carley experiences such affection, she feels as though she doesn’t belong and that she doesn’t deserve the kindness that the Murphys have shown her. After several weeks have passed, the time has come for Carley to return in her mother’s custody. Will Carley return to her mother and receive that warm and loving embrace she’s been dreaming of, or will her emotions toward the Murphys prevent her from leaving?

    One For The Murphys is an emotional tale that will leave readers shedding tears at this heartfelt story of Carley Connors and the journey she takes to discover herself as well as the true meaning of the love of a family.

    My favorite aspect of One For The Murphys is how relatable and engaging the characters were. To me, the characters were real. I could clearly imagine young Michael Eric tie a cape around his shoulders, run around the living room and pretend to be a superhero, watch Adam play Michael Eric’s sidekick or ignore him to play with his cars, and of course, watch Daniel dribble the ball and smile brightly at Carley in the stands just at that moment where he finally scores his first shot at his basketball game. I could also smell the delicious pie Mrs. Murphy makes just for Carley when she needs it most, and hear Mr. Murphy cheer for his favorite baseball team no matter the score after a long day of working at the fire station. There were so many special moments that Carley experiences in the novel that made me laugh along with the characters or reach out for a box of tissues, moments that are truly unforgettable.

    Lynda Mullaly Hunt is a phenomenal writer whose work I hope to read more of. One For The Murphys is one of my favorite reads of 2012 so far, and Lynda Mullaly Hunt should be commended for this truly wonderful and unforgettable debut.

    I recommend One For The Murphys to those who enjoy reading Young Adult and Contemporary titles.

    5/5 MUST READ! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 10, 2012

    Congrats Mrs.Hunt!

    I am proud to say I met you in person today. I am wearing my wrist band right now! The book is amazing and sitting in the front row seat of your presentation was awesome! I am going to write my own book someday, you inspire me Mrs.Hunt!

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2014

    Must Read

    This is my ALL TIME favorite book. My friend reccomended it to me, but I thought it would be too sad, and I really don't like sad books. I didn't read it. She basiacly forced me to read this book after a while because she loved it so much, so eventually I read it. Oh my gosh, we talk about this book NONSTOP! Do I have to say that we're both obsessed wit books? Lol we both just loved it! Its about a girl who got abused by her stepfather. Carley ends up in her foster home, the Murphys, who treat her 'too well', as she doesn't understand why they care about her so much. (Carley thinks this way because her mother, a Vegas girl, was not the most loving mother at times.) She ends up loving the Murphys, after living in their life for a while. Then, Carleys mother breaks some news that leaves Carley with lots of tears, thoughts, confusion, and a few important decisions.


    Again, this beautiful book is a must read! If you like this book, I would also reccomend 'Almost Home' by Joan Baur. Its about a young girl, Sugar, who loses her home. Sugar, her mom Reba, and their dog Shush end up homeless. When Reba has a serious and scary breakdown, Sugar has to work hard to stay her positive self with her foster family.



    This book almost compliments One for the Murphy's. It has to do with young girls losing their homes, losing their parrents (but not perminently), and trying to navigate the world when its toughest. HOWEVER, and I think this is amazing, Sugar and Carley's story's are very similar, right? Well, their personalities, especially in the beginning of the book, couldn't be more different. You get to think as your reading One for the Murphys, "How would Sugar handle this problem?" And while reading Almost Home, you might say to yourself, "Wow, Carley would not agree with Sugar there" Its perfect. For some reason, at least to me, these characters are the sister characters of the realistic fiction genre! They could relate to eachother with their thoughts and problems, but they verbally express them so different. They couldn't be more different in their alike stories, but little things make them click.


    In summary: Read One for the Murphys. Next, pick up Almost Home. Do you see what i mean? Mrs. Hunt, if you ever, ever, ever can, please read this review of your amazing book. You know Carley so well, I'd love to see if you agree with me.


    Thank you all,
    An 11 year old Bookworm

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Love

    Love this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    The day comes when Carley connors becomes a foster child and mov

    The day comes when Carley connors becomes a foster child and moves in with the Murphys. The Murphys show her a stable family that she had thought that it never existed. The Murphys show her what it feels to be belong. But until her mother show up and wants her back but carley can't decide where and how to live. She said shes not really a Murphy but the gifts they given her have opened a future.
    When Carley connors  find’s out the truth that  her mother didn't tell her what had happen and what was the reason she didn't so she would not have got mad with her and upset because she thought that her mother had helped dennis smack her.
    The characters were awesome because how they thought things and their reactions were good  like at the end carley didn't know with who do go with her mother in vegas or stay with the murphys who showed her a lot of surprises and showed her that a real family existed. Even if some harsh things happened to her she know just to keep going and do what you think is best.
    This is a great book that makes you want to know what is going to happen next in the story .and I recommend it to teenagers.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    My favorite book ever~

    I love this book. The end is so sad how Carly might not be able to see the Murphys again. I recomended this book to kids9-14.(But its a great book for everyone.) If you have not read this book make sure you do. Then when your done reading it tell us what you thought. You can just write a review or you can write a review to cakepop123. I love to here what you think about books!
    cakepop123

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 18, 2012

    This debut novel is full of heart and humor. When the story begi

    This debut novel is full of heart and humor. When the story begins, Carley is a victim of intimate violence. She endures bruises, a hospital stay, and the greatest betrayal of all, without shedding a tear. While in foster care with the Murphy family, Carley experiences the unconditional love of a family. The experience changes her forever. So why is she crying now? You'll have to read the book to find out. One for the Murphys leaves the reader with one important unanswered question, How can I be somebody's hero?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Anonymous

    I loved this book! It is my new favorite book. My favorite character is Michael Eric. :)

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2014

    Would like to read

    I herd it is a really good book from alot of sorces

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2014

    Must read

    It is so touching
    I am very hard to interest me with books and this was interesting
    I couldnt put it down , no really i ignored my friends trapped in this book if u reading this and dont know if u should get it, get it
    This made me want to adopt a sister lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2014

    Amazing

    This is an amazing book, i could not put it down one of the best!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 4, 2014

    One of the best books I have ever read.

    One of the best books I have ever read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2014

    One for the murphy's

    This was the best book ever.u

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 62 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4