Customer Reviews for

One for the Road

Average Rating 5
( 4 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Great Noir Book!

    Right at the beginning, you are hooked. I just couldn't put it down. A coin toss determines if you go east or west. 1948 Vegas where mobsters are fighting for the control of power & gambling. You have gun shots, fights, drinking, and interesting characters. A drifter at first seems to be looking for a job but is there more to him? Loved the characters names like Fat Head, Meatheads, Little Benny and Lou. This noir worth reading if you loved Raymond Chandler style! Enjoy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    Guns, Whiskey, and Women

    This book took me by surprise. Slow at first, like a good drink, it ended with a kick in the pants. Johnny Flamingo is the quintessential noire anti-hero. When he walks into 1940s Las Vegas, he quickly comes across a creaky casino run by two men with very different ideas. Out to make a little cash and whole lot of trouble, Flamingo lights the flames between the two parties just in time for the casino's grand reopening. Throw in some guns, whiskey and women, and this is one week Las Vegas will never forget.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2011

    Fast Paced and fun

    Downloaded this and rocketed through it. Loved the dialogue and characters. This time period in Vegas is so interesting and its fun to see a fictional portrayal of the mob in sin city. The antihero is relatable, funny, vicious, and hard drinking: perfect noir characteristics. Worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 30, 2011

    Classic Noir in Las Vegas

    Edgar J. Rossi combines the best aspects of true, classic noir with the seedy beginnings of 1948 Las Vegas. His character is everything a noir reader would want - a good guy turned bad by the way now drifting from town to town bringing the dark clouds with him. If you are looking for a book in the vein of Hammett and Chandler, then this would be an excellent choice. A quick and fun roller coaster of a read. Every chapter is action packed and brings the reader to the stunning conclusion.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 4 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1