Customer Reviews for

The One from the Other (Bernie Gunther Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(7)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2006

    Reprinted from the Nov 2006 'The Historical Novels Review'

    Think Sam Spade as a German PI in postwar Europe, only here the streets are meaner than any in Dashiell Hammett¿s California, and Phillip Kerr¿s creation, Bernie Gunther, has more baggage than a Deutsche Bahn express train. Like many of the classic detective stories, this one starts with a stunning blonde in a red dress, arriving with a seemingly simple task. It leads Gunther into his most complex case, one with consequences that he may not escape. His investigation takes him into a world where good and bad seem synonymous, and one cannot tell the `one from the other.¿ Written in the style of Hammett and Raymond Chandler, this book can be both humorous and disturbing, often in the same paragraph. But the evil portrayed is anything but fictional, from an appearance by Adolph Eichmann to the complicity of the CIA in subverting justice for war criminals. Kerr¿s main character is complex as well, with a past tainted by Nazism and the brutality of war. Far more than just a mystery, this book sheds light on a postwar period largely forgotten, and brings to the fore the very real criminality of both victor and vanquished. For all its rather serious nature, it is a highly entertaining book, imaginatively conceived and smartly executed. Although it stands as a remarkable work of historical fiction, fans of hard-boiled detective stories will not be disappointed. This is the fourth in the Bernie Gunther series, written some fifteen years after his initial appearance. The only disappointment would be if we have to wait another decade and a half for another.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    loved it

    Good light and compelling does great work

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 23, 2013

    Fact and fiction mixed together.

    Having read the trilogy I had to have the follow up. Really enjoyed the history of that era. Mixing the history of the Nazis and rolling it with fiction of the plot, terrific. I can only afford a book every 3 months so I look for to the continuation when I get the next one. Wish they were less expensive. WW2 I relish in the history of it, and the research done for these books I thank you for it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    ┬┐These Bernie Gunther stories just get better and better. Here w

    “These Bernie Gunther stories just get better and better. Here we see Nazi mass killer Adolf Eichmann being whisked out of Europe after the Second World War through the underground Old Comrade system. He sails to Argentina and eventual capture and trial/execution by the Israelis. His sailing partner is our protagonist Herr Gunther, now a private detective on the run from Austrian police, the Odessa agents and revenge-minded Israelis. A fabulous story of changed ID's, wicked medical experiments and double-dealing Americans. The author continues to come up with interesting and riveting plots intermingling factual events and suppositions that leave one anxious to read another page. I dug this book very much and recommend it to history and mystery buffs.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2013

    The first Bernhard Gunther book that Kerr wrote for about 10 yea

    The first Bernhard Gunther book that Kerr wrote for about 10 years. I thought the time showed, initially - the book was a bit uneven and slow compared to the Berlin triology, and Gunther did not have the same degree of sharp wit, dark humor and repressed violence. But a nice twist in the plot at the end livens things up, and I'm looking forward to reading the next in the series. Lots of backfill in Bernie's WWII service also in this book, and I note the new book in April 2013 is to be all WWII.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2012

    Great historical murder mystery fiction!

    Kerr does not disappoint, Bernie Gunther is still tough as nails, but caring too, as he deals with post-war crime in Munich and Vienna. Good insight into how the Nazi hating Germans felt following the horror that their country had created, and they had personally put up with.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    Incredible research of historical period

    For fans of Bernie Gunther this is a must. Kerr has done indredible research and makes yesterdays very understandable. He ranks as an author of World War 2 material with Alan Furst. This book lets the reader into the incredible adjustments taken by the average German in the post war period.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Brillant Series

    Book 4 in the Bernie Gunther series

    The novel follows the "Berlin Noir Trilogy", with a detective story set in post war Germany. It contains a wealth of historical details spun into a complex plot. It covers the reconstruction period of Germany and its new threat, the rapid growth of communism.

    The story starts with a prologue set part in Berlin and part in Palestine in the late 30's. Gunther is sent to Palestine with two mandates, one to facilitate a dealing that would allow a Jewish businessman to flee Germany and the other to shadow Nazi intelligence officers.

    After the introduction that set the tone and is an intricate part of the novel, the action moves to 1949 Germany. Gunther now a struggling hotel owner in Dachau decides to throw in the towel after he is approached and threatened by an individual with a questionable agenda... Soon after the encounter, Gunther decides to return to his former field of expertize, a P.I. with his own business in Munich and at the same time to be close to his wife who is interned at a psychiatric hospital.

    Looking for missing persons can be a messy business especially in post-war Germany where Nazism still taints the air. Hunting Nazis on the run can make the task even more hazardous and adventure filled. Gunther's experience has taught him, clients are not always forthcoming with all the details and a P.I. can easily find himself caught up in a web of spiralling disasters fighting for his own survival....

    Mr. Kerr excels at making his reader's part of the story with first person narration it sometimes feels like Gunther is communicating directly with you. He comes across as a hard boiled, wise- cracking character strongly affected by his past; a past where he has been used as a pawn by multinational plotters in devious games and exploited in political shenanigans. This novel is impeccably plotted; it captures and sheds light on some of the intriguing aspects of post-war Germany while stimulating our interest in a stressful period of history. This is a totalling enthralling story, brilliantly written.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2010

    Gritty realism

    I found this book to be in line of what I have come to expect from the
    author, Philip Kerr. Down to earth believeable characters. The main
    one, Bernie Gunther is presented as a "real man" who would have been welcomed by me as a comrade in arms during my past military career.
    It was hard this book down when I needed to sleep. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 18, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    The One From The Other

    For readers interested in reading an author who is witty as well as informative, this book is for you. Germany before & during the WWII era is the main subject & although I've read novels written by American authors with the American slant, this is written with a German slant. It makes you wonder how & why the whole thing started. A very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Imperfect hero in an even more imperfect world

    Bernard Gunther has lost more things in life than most of us ever had.

    He was a cop as the Nazis took over Germany. He became a private investigator who people trusted, distrusted and respected in roughly equal measure, hired by people who scorned him and then pressed back into service by the very police force he quit in disgust. Near the end of WW II, the Russians captured him and treated him as a war criminal. The One from the Other takes place after the war. Having lost everything, Bernie has resettled his life in Munich and returned to investigating, only to be maltreated by every side in post-war Berlin, Munich and Vienna. (As this book ends, he will flee to Argentina with two of Germany's most infamous characters, where his career will be revived, once again, against his wishes.)

    All the books in Philip Kerr's Bernie Gunther series are "stand-alone" so sequence is not important. I read this first and then went back to order all the others, enjoying every one. Kerr writes with great detail, as moody and evocative of Germany and Austria as Dickens was of England. Bernie is morally diverse, a compromised idealist with a jabbing, wicked, ironic sense of humor which he cannot contain and it pulls him into trouble at every turn. Kerr's scenes, from womanizing and brutality to his observations about civilian life under Hitler and his gang, are vivid and believable. His plots involve unraveling secret histories others have worked diligently to develop and protect.

    There is no job Bernie Gunther takes that winds up anything like the way it starts. Nothing is as it seems, a darkly fathomable thicket of lies, deceit and misdirections. In one way or another, just about everyone Bernie meets is a victim and a perpetrator. This is escapist historical fiction as real and vivid as it can get.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2009

    Really enjoyed

    I wasn't too sure I wanted to buy this book but I ended up really enjoying it. Historical Fiction genre with insight into the confused and conflicted German during Hitler's reign.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2