Customer Reviews for

One of Our Thursdays Is Missing (Thursday Next Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 77 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(37)

4 Star

(31)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Worth Hanging in There - The Mystery Wrap-up's a Killer

It's been a long while since I read the preceding entry in this series (Thursday Next: First Among Sequels), and it took me awhile to settle back into the sort of crazed pace paying attention to apparently-silly-but-frequently-pivotal puns and points of reference, but I...
It's been a long while since I read the preceding entry in this series (Thursday Next: First Among Sequels), and it took me awhile to settle back into the sort of crazed pace paying attention to apparently-silly-but-frequently-pivotal puns and points of reference, but IT ALL PAID OFF! Hang in there fans, all the bizarre loose ends were tied up and the take-offs on various genres were well worth the wait. Highly recommended!

posted by Little_Flyer_Speaks on March 14, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

A Good Read

I love reading Jasper Fforde's books especially the Thursday Next stories. Loved it. There is some very creative writing and his books inspire me to read more classics.

posted by Luv_to_read on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 30, 2013

    One Of Our Thursdays Is Missing is the sixth novel in the popula

    One Of Our Thursdays Is Missing is the sixth novel in the popular Thursday Next series by Welsh author, Jasper Fforde. Not long after the Remake of BookWorld, it seems that Real World Thursday Next is missing. Written Thursday (Thursday 1-4 from First Among Sequels, the huggy one) has been trying to play Thursday with dignity, but the series is virtually unread, so the presence of an understudy allows her to investigate with the help of Sprocket, a clockwork butler she has acquired (everyone needs a butler). This instalment features Men in Plaid as enforcers, a Triumph Bonneville, inter-genre cabs, a book sabotaged by rhetorical worms, a geologist thrown from a window, and a car chase. Written Thursday travels to the Real World, meets the real Landen, is kidnapped by a Wiltshire Stiltonista, tries to interpret obscure clues to Thursday’s whereabouts, travels up the Metaphoric River, meets some Loser Literary Siblings (The Mediocre Gatsby, Brian Heep, Tracy Capulet, Sharon Eyre etc) and is finally offered a job with Jurisfiction. Concepts like character assassins, a mime field, the Large Metaphor Collider and the intricacies of a character’s backstory are also a source of entertainment. Fforde still delights with some absurd names like Keitel Black, Red Herring and D.J. Growling, and each chapter is prefaced by a pertinent passage from Bradshaw’s BookWord Companion, which, we note, runs to at least fifteen editions, confirming that Colonel Bradshaw’s eventual retirement must have been profitable. As always, Fforde is incredibly clever: this is a brilliant read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 14, 2012

    Worth Hanging in There - The Mystery Wrap-up's a Killer

    It's been a long while since I read the preceding entry in this series (Thursday Next: First Among Sequels), and it took me awhile to settle back into the sort of crazed pace paying attention to apparently-silly-but-frequently-pivotal puns and points of reference, but IT ALL PAID OFF! Hang in there fans, all the bizarre loose ends were tied up and the take-offs on various genres were well worth the wait. Highly recommended!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2012

    A Very Good Fix :)

    This was a great step in the series, allowing readers to experience the world of Thursday Next from a new P.O.V.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    A Good Read

    I love reading Jasper Fforde's books especially the Thursday Next stories. Loved it. There is some very creative writing and his books inspire me to read more classics.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2013

    I Missed Jasper Fforde

    I had forgotten how cool and original these books are. It took awhile for the story to get going, but I loved having to guess who is the real Thursday is. Can't wait to read the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    Love this book

    I loved this book. I'm a huge fan of the series and i highly recommend all of Jasper's books. I first read The Eyre Affair in my comparative lit class and I couldn't put it down. After that I got all of Jasper's books. Jasper Fforde is one of my favorite authors.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Great new addition to the series

    Even though I love Fforde's work, I was a bit reluctant to read this one because I didn't care for the synopsis. Once I finally settled in to read the work, I found that I loved the new direction the series was taking. The ending didn't go quite as far as I would have liked it to, but overall, it was still a great work.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good reading, but still a spin-off

    I have enjoyed every book that Fforde has written including this one. It was definitely worth reading, but not as original as the first couple books in his Thursday Next series. I think Fforde's brilliant "book world" can provide material for at least another one or two books, but this one felt more like a spin-off to me rather than a continuation of Thursday's original story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    Love this series

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2011

    Fantastic read! Jasper Fforde does it again!

    The only problem with Mr. Fforde's books is that you can't put them down once you've started one and once you're done, you have at least another year or two before he comes out with another one. The latest in the Thursday Next series didn't disappoint. Do yourself a favor, if you like this series, give his other two a shot as well. You won't regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    It's Finally Thursday!!

    It's been almost four years since the last installment of the Thursday Next series, but One of Our Thursdays Is Missing: A Novel by Jasper Fforde was well worth the wait. The novel follows the Written Thursday as she traverses BookWorld looking for the Real Thursday, who seems to have gone missing while deep undercover.

    The majority of the story takes place in BookWorld, which has recently undergone a remaking based on a geographic model. The peace talks between Racy Novel and Women's Fiction and Dogma are coming up fast and the Written Thursday is being pressed upon from all sides to find the Real Thursday or replace her at the peace talks. Her journey takes us all around the BookWorld, through fiction and non-fiction, with interesting treks into Vanity and Fan Fiction. Along the way, she manages a trip into the Outland, where she finally meets her love, Landon. Landon is killed off early in the written series, so the Written Thursday has spent her life longing for someone she's never known. Her trip to the Outland raises questions about her identity: could she possibly be the Real Thursday? Suffering from some sort of delusion?

    I love this series. The stories are original and smartly written. Fforde uses literary device to his own ends to create something spectacular. This is classic. He reminds me of Mark Twain in his use of humor to address societal issues, while still poking fun at himself and his work. I can't find strong enough words to explain how much I enjoy his work. If you haven't read any of the Thursday Next series, go get started on The Eyre Affair: A Thursday Next Novel.

    Mr. Fforde, if you're out there, please do not make us wait another four years for Thursday. While worth the wait, not much out there that can fill the void while we await another Thursday Next adventure.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A Fforde Ffans delight!

    Thursday5 has been quietly running the revamped TN series, salvaged from the awful mess left by Thursday1-4's erasure (since the series was an awful mess to start with, there was probably no appreciable difference). She is summoned to an accident site (she has joined the accident investigation team since failing as a Jurisfiction cadet) but on the way she is accosted by an odd red-haired man....who hints that something has happened to the real Thursday Next. As Thursday5 goes about her accident investigation, she realizes this was no accident and she, as the written Thursday, is in as much danger as the real Thursday. Fans of Jasper Fforde will love Thursday5's impetuous journey through a revamped BookWorld in the company of a robot butler, chased by the Men in Plaid, and all under the darkening clouds of an all-out Genre War with Racy Novel. If you have yet to find your way to a Fforde novel, start with The Eyre Affair - it sets the stage for all Thursday's future stories - and enter the BookWorld proper in Lost in a Good Book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Fans who enjoy humorous satire will appreciate the return to a realm where lost plots are lethal

    In BookWorld, the dispute between the various genres has not always been civilized as insults are literally ugly. The Council of genres tries to keep the peaceful coexistence from becoming a book burning battle in which everyone loses in that combat scenario. The Council needs a hero but cannot hold out for one any longer, as Thursday Next has retired and relocated in Realworld.

    Desperate situations call for desperate measures. The Council asks the written version of Thursday Next to serve as the peacemaker and peacekeeper of the written (and other formats) word. She begins her mission traveling the Metaphoric River where she uncovers a diabolical twisting plot to end BookWorld.

    Once again skewering the hand that feeds him, Jasper Fforde returns to BookWorld with another super First Among Sequels saga. The literature Thursday is an interesting spin of the Realworld Thursday as the literary wannabe heroine sails the Metaphoric only to discover that reading may be fundamental but can prove deadly when Something Rotten is occurring. Fans who enjoy humorous satire will appreciate the return to a realm where lost plots are lethal.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4