Customer Reviews for

One of Those Hideous Books Where the Mother Dies

Average Rating 4.5
( 190 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(127)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted September 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    One of those hidious reviews that people read!!

    I absolutly fell in love with this book! It was so hilarious to me! But yet it was serious. Weird, but a good mix. I told one of my friend to read it, but she didn't like the way in was writen in a long paragraph instead of a chapter (I really didn't like that either, but I got over it), so I started to read it to her, and she fell in love with it!! This book is about Ruby, who has to go live with her movie star dad, Whip Logan, since her mother died and her Aunt is going away with her new boyfriend. Now to me that would be heaven!! Living next to movie stars, going to a cool school (where teachers actually let you call them by their first names!), and having lots of money to buy anything you want!But to Ruby it's torture! She has to move away from her best friend, and her more than awesome boyfriend,Ray! Once Ruby gets to "Less Angeles" she is forever hating Whip. But Whip is bound to get her to like him. But little does Ruby know Whip has some secrets. What are they? Like I'm going to tell you!! Read it for yourself!!

    12 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    This book is great!

    This book is absolutely amazing, its very great. Its very emotional, funny, and thrilling. Its truly unforgettable, I enjoyed reading this book, Its just so FANTASTIC. I recommend this book for ages 13 and up. This is probably the best book i've read in years!!!!!!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2011

    Amazing

    This book is amazing I read it about 5 times and it never got boring. I don't care about haters so if you don't like it don't bother with it. :)

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Loved it!

    It was amazing! Not writing in paragraphs annoyed me at first, but I got over it quickly! The characters weren't developed the best, it might leave you wanting to know more about Ruby's personality, and past like it did with me! I didn't feel the love for Max like Ruby did, but I didn't despise him. I liked how the author got you to dislike characters quickly! *cough* Ray *cough* Lizzie *cough* But in the end I did like Lizzie. I wish there was more of Colette though. She seemed like an iffy character, like you wanted to have a trio of best friends, and Colette was there just to be another number. The plot was fresh, interesting, and cute! I haven't read anything like it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2012

    Amazing!

    I don't usually read chick books, but even though this may seem like one, its not. Its funny and a good fast read. I read it in less than five days.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of those hideous books where the mother dies

    One of those hideous books where the mother dies by: Sonya Sones is probably one of the best books I have ever read.! I defiantly recommend this book! It was interesting and easy to relate to. I loved how it was set up like journal entries and just not long boring chapters. Everything is so relatable and it was very easy to follow. Also, just when you think you have finally figured out how it going to end up, BOOM! It changes on you. I found lots found lots of things hilarious and I found myself laughing out loud. But it also had some really sad and serous moments, that I was imagining myself being in. This book is about a girl named Ruby, whose mother dies and she is forced to live with her father, famous movie star Whip Logan in Los Angeles. Who hasn't been there at all her whole life. This means she has to leave behind her house where she lived all her life, her best friend, her Aunt Duffy, and the love of her life Ray. She has to start a whole new school, make new friends, and get used to the fact that Cameron Diaz is her next-door neighbor. After a boy at school is killed in a car-accident she realizes so many things. Then when her life comes tumbling down she realizes that Whip has tried to be here for her all along. A great read! This is defiantly a five star book!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 12, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Mark Frye, author and reviewer for TeensReadToo.com

    With perhaps one of the catchiest titles in young adult fiction history, Sonya Sones has created a novel-in-verse that readers will breeze through and find thoroughly satisfying. With an economy of words, Sones creates an enthralling story of loss and recovery that is a wonderful edition to the genre of teen "chick-lit." <BR/><BR/>The narrator, Ruby, is sent to live with the father she's never met in person when her mother loses her battle with cancer. The fact that he's a famous movie star doesn't help matters; the world may love him, but Ruby is determined to make him pay for ignoring her all those years. As she juggles grief over her loss, resentment towards her father, and adjusting to life in Hollywood, Ruby is an increasingly sympathetic character. <BR/><BR/>But the father himself grows in the story, as well, as he tries to earn his daughter's love and respect. Teen readers will identify with Ruby's embarrassment at his dorky efforts to protect her and appear "cool," but may also wish that she would be more sympathetic to someone trying so hard to win her heart. To her credit, the author doesn't clumsily rush the revelations about Whip's relationship with Ruby's mother and others, but gradually unfolds the mystery of why he "abandoned" his daughter. <BR/><BR/>There are more than a few surprises for the reader along the way to a happy, satisfying conclusion. Sones ties up many loose ends in a believable manner and introduces many likeable secondary characters, ones essential to the story and ones who are periphery - such as "cameos" by Cameron Diaz, for instance. All of the characters have depth - strengths and weaknesses fully displayed - including Ruby herself, who learns that the mother she has marbleized had flaws of her own. <BR/><BR/>This novel will be especially appealing to teens who have lost a parent or even ones who are embarrassed by the ones they have. Highly recommended.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    Good

    The first half was good, a little slow but it was good. Then it got a little better in the second half. And liked book title references, some I either read or heard. However with the ending, I kind of liked, since like with the What My Doesn't know books endings, the ending for this one I kind of like but felt ended abruptly. But still liked it at the same time. If that make, again makes sense. Do I recommend these verse books, I guess? Actually, sure, why not.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2014

    Awesome

    One of my favorite books ever

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    This was another great verse novel from Sonya Sones. This is the

    This was another great verse novel from Sonya Sones. This is the fourth of Sones' books I've read, and I can say I haven't been disappointed yet.

    I was a bit surprised with where the story went on this one. I was thinking it was going to be more of a romance focus, but instead there was more of a focus on Ruby healing after her mother's death and other major life changes. It was this and some other minor themes that really made the story stick for me. The characters and their actions were very realistic, especially Sones' younger characters. This author is a great at writing a teenager's point of view and voice effectively.

    I always enjoy the way Sones can work a well-developed plot, characters, and conflict into her verse. The limited word count allows for each line to be to the point and, at times, more thought-provoking than a normal prose novel could. If this were written in prose I don't think it'd have held as much enjoyment, for me. Though, I have a feeling if this author were to write prose novels, I'd be just as eager to read them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    To the page # questioner

    Does it matter how many pages? If you want it get if you dont then dont get it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    OMG

    I LOVE THIS BOOK IT IS SO GOOD CANT WATE TO READ MORE OF HER BOOKS

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    Best book i've ever read

    I love this twists in the story and the shocking events. I also reconmend what my mother doesnt know i love that book too.sonya sones is one of the best authors ( in my opinon)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2013

    Tterrific

    This book is very interesting. In the beginning i thought it would be boring but when i got further along, i started to love it. It is a very interesting story and you have to read it all the way through.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    To Below

    Here is a shocker for you... He got a divorce from her cause he was gay and relized it too late... and she asked him not to help with child support...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    Awesome!

    This was an incredible writtien book that made me smile laugh out loud and cry all at once i think that if your 12 or up you should definetly read this

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2013

    Im at war with myself

    This was a good book really short bonly 80 pages waste of money but it was still good i also didnt like how it ended so abrupt

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2013

    one of those hideous books where the mother dies :)

    This book is amazing, I loved every bit of it! I read the book over and over again because its that good.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    Question!

    How many pages sre there!:)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2012

    The hideous book where my mother dues

    I love this book! I read it in one whole day as soon as I started reading it I could not stop! This was one of my first books I bought on my nook and it was totally worth it! If you are looking for a book to buy I highly reccomend this book!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 191 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10