Customer Reviews for

One of the Boys

Average Rating 4.5
( 70 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(40)

4 Star

(20)

3 Star

(6)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

You Know You Want To Listen

With humorous tracks like Ur So Gay, I Kissed A Girl, and Waking Up In Vegas, you'll find yourself replaying these hits and singing along in no time. Thinking Of You is a song that will make you feel like you have just ripped your heart out, where as One Of The Boys wil...
With humorous tracks like Ur So Gay, I Kissed A Girl, and Waking Up In Vegas, you'll find yourself replaying these hits and singing along in no time. Thinking Of You is a song that will make you feel like you have just ripped your heart out, where as One Of The Boys will have you relating to the lyrics. Her music is infectious and real, so just go and get a copy of the CD already.

posted by MuSiC-iS-lOvE on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

ehh

its okayy but a song like I KISSED A GIRL..its not a very good influence on teenage kids my daughter listened to it and asked me if shes supposed to like girls instead of boys!!!!!! it was a horrible disscusion!! =[

posted by Anonymous on October 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Good album

    One of the Boys is a good album, but Katy's second album Teenage Dream is my favorite.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    A reviewer

    All I have to say is wow. Katy Perry truly is the definition of girl power. You can tell she couldn't care what anyone thinks, from "I Kissed A Girl" to "Ur So Gay". Her uniqueness and rebelliousness can be heard on her CD, "One of the Boys", with a cool techno, rock, pop feel going on. Recommended, yes, but if you're narrow-minded, find another CD dude!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2011

    Good album

    When I heard katy perrys song on the radio "Hot N Cold" I really wanted to get this album to see what it would be like. I think that katy perry made a good album with fun songs to dance and sing and listen to.
    I like the song one of the boys, I kissed a girl is not such a girl song, it should be I kissed a boy, waking up in vegas is one of my favorites, I really like the song thinking of you, that is a good song with a good meaning, mannequin is a good song too! ur so gay I didn't care for because the meaning of the song was bad, hot n cold I would have to say is one of my favorites too, if you can afford me is a cool song! I like self inflicted, and finger prints, the only thing I didn't like about this album is the cuss words are used a lot but over all katy perry did a good job! :-)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 1, 2010

    ¿ It.

    I've only heard Hot 'N Cold and I Kissed a Girl, which is why im only givig it a 4-star rating, but i love both of those songs and i think the rest of the album will be as ah-mazing as her top singles, which is why im even giving it a 4 instead of just a 2 for the 2 songs ive only heard. <BR/>rock on, katy!!! :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Katy Perry has the chance of being the next major rock pop star

    I agree with many other reviewers, Katy Perry is being overly-judged. Although she has many cursing words in her songs, how can you go against that? It's part of human nature to cuss without knowing it. Katy Perry's single, &quot I Kissed A Girl&quot might seem inappropriate to some people, but I truly think it shows how determined this new rock pop star is to be a big hit. She shows her wild side in all of her tracks and she also has a sense of humor in her lyrics. She shows that she won't let anyone put her down all because she sings, &quot I kissed a girl, and I liked it, I liked it&quot . I, personally, find artists and celebrities who are a mature wild silly and will have actions outside of the box the best. But you can't compare Katy Perry to heiress, Paris Hilton or Britney Spears. She's more mature than that, and I believe she knows how far she can go. I rate her album, &quot One of The Boys&quot as a 4-star recommended because the lyrics are good, but not the best. She can continuously repeat the same thing over and over in her songs but she has a great, powerful voice that can hardly get on your nerves, and her songs are full of meaning even, &quot Ur So Gay&quot .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Also a Mom

    Great CD. Some fun stuff on it. It is not the job of an artist to be our children's role model. If you have to explain to a teenager that there are people who like people of the same sex I'd say you have bigger issues to worry about, like moving out from under that rock. If she asks if she should like girls instead of boys perhaps the only answer you should have given her is: I'll love you no matter who you love!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 20 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1