Customer Reviews for

Onion John

Average Rating 3.5
( 15 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2010

    Onion John reveiw

    Andy Rusch becomes friends with Onion John. Onion John is very strange, superstitious, and can't speak English but can understand it. One day Andy somehow understands Onion John. Nobody else can understand him so Andy translates. Then suddenly Andys dad wants to help Onion John. He decides he wants to build him a house. He takes his idea to the rest of the town and they like the idea. They make a big schedule and the day they will build his house is called Onion John day.After they build onion Johns house he accidentily burns it down and runs away.
    I give this book one star because I thought it was very boring. It kept on going on about the same thing. There was no plot in this book, it was all about Onion john's and Andy's friendship. If you like exciting adventures and mysteries this book is not for you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 15, 2009

    Awesome Book For Dads

    The only reason this masterpiece would ever be included on any school reading list is if not one person at the school has ever read it (which is, I'm sure, probably pretty often). Newbery Award does = (99% of the time) books that read like exquisite symphonies; but many award winners (especially the "older" books) fall somewhat flat because most kids' ears aren't quite ready for symphonies (yet). Having said that, this book is an undeniable work of genius for adults (who have children ten or above). It has so many interesting, surreal, haunting themes that people without a lot of life experience (kids) are unlikely to "get" or enjoy. <BR/><BR/>And that is perfectly OK...so children, I totally get you not liking it. I wouldn't recommend it at all. But...adults with children looking for an easy read that will haunt and provoke...this one's for you...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2009

    Onion John┬┐the Worst Book in the World!

    Blah. Blah. Blah. That¿s what I got from this book. I would give it negative 1,000,000,000,000,000 stars! It¿s about this ugly hobo who people try to change his life. Then this boy called Peter decides to be his friend. Next, they try to change his life. In the end, Peter tries to run away with John. Unless you like boring books, I wouldn¿t recommend it. Example; `Buufvjkfd¿, John cried as they started to tear down his house.<BR/><BR/><BR/> OrphansJSJMCKM

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2008

    This sucked

    This book was one of the worst books i have read i would never recommend this book do not wast your time reading this horrible book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2008

    Onion John, an excellent book......

    I found Onion John a very well-written masterpiece of a children's book. It is about a boy who befriends a foreign man that is completely different from himself. The boy, Andy, is challenged with many different thoughts about the man, Onion John, and their friendship is a very realistic one. Overall, Onion John is an excellent book about growing up, making dicisions for yourself, and most of all, friendship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2007

    Similar to another American classic!

    Onion John and Andy are very different, but very much the same, as Huck Finn and Jim. They learn from one another and learn from all else.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2007

    A Great Novel Presenting True Friendship.

    Onion John is a great story about friendship, the characters and settings meet expectations and fit perfectly, and I made so many connections this book should be read by those who believe in true friendship. Onion was written by Joesph Krumgold in 1959. Onion John's main theme is about a boy who finds true friendship in a man who is greatly underestimated. This book also tied in with my life as I read this novel, presented in a third person point of view. Joesph Krumgold wrote this novel and presented a great lesson in friendship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2007

    Onion John, Joseph Krumgold

    This is a great book that everyone should read! It has an interesting storyline that you won¿t get bored of. Something new keeps happening throughout the book. The whole city built a house for Onion John and he burnt it down. It¿s very funny how dumb Onion John can be. He doesn¿t understand how things work. He has his own ways for everything. Onion John can¿t even speak good English. Andy I the only person in the whole town that can understand what Onion John is saying. Andy even tried to teach Etch how to listen to Onion John. Onion John is a unique character. I have never read a book about a man who couldn¿t speak English and burned his own house down. This is different from many other books, but it was a great story. It was very interesting to read and you can¿t wait to find out what is going to happen next. Onion John is an unpredictable character you can¿t tell what he will do next. He also likes to do some weird things. He hangs rocks on apple trees. He makes his own gold. Onion john also knows a lot about spirits. He taught the kids a lot at their Halloween party. Onion John is a wonderful book that disserves five stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2006

    onion john

    Onion John is about a little boy who learns a lot about growing up! In this book John learns quite a bit about himself and how to treat other people. John had a friend named Andy and Andy¿s dad made up a plan to try to change John. John was always a very happy person this made Andy and his father wonder about John. John loved onions, ¿John ate onions the way other people ate apples or pears.¿ I think that this book is great for elementary school age boys. However, any child would love this book. I classified this book into the realistic genre. Joseph Krumgold was the first author to receive the Newberry medal for excellence in American children's literature twice. He was born in New Jersey and became fascinated with the movies at a young age because his father operated movie theatres. Later on in his life he was hired by the United States Department of State to make a movie about Hispanic workers in rural America. He won the Newberry Medal for Uncle John in 1959. Krumgold, Joseph. Onion John. New York: Thomas Y. Crowell Company, 1959.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2006

    An interesting story about friendship and helping others

    Onion John is an interesting story about the friendship of two very different people. It is also about how people view each other in terms of how we are expected to live. And when help is forced, unexpected things happen. I enjoyed reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2005

    Dissapointed in school reading choices

    I am a 12 year old girl who has to read this in school. I found it confusing, because the main character Andy keeps switching subjects. Also Onion John doesn't speak english but his own made up language which is hard to follow because you don't know what the words mean. There is nothing to catch or hold onto your attention.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 5, 2003

    Excellent moral

    I loved this book in that it really exposes one to thinking about their morals and how they portray them onto other people. Sometimes what is right for you and the 'society' isn't what is right for other people. I think the old saying, 'do onto others as you would have them do onto you' is shattered in this story...it should be 'do onto others as they want you to do.'

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2003

    it wasnt that great

    Im a teen who has read the book. I found it very confusing. I think it is for kids who are older and not childed preteens would be best.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2003

    great!!

    this story is about the friendship between a forigner and a country farmer boy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 13, 2000

    Beautiful

    It's one of the most beautiful childrens' books I've ever read. Honesty, purity, and humor - the essential elements of a good children's book, are all invluded here.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1