Customer Reviews for

Online Investing: Everything You Need to Know Explained Simply

Be the first to write a review
( 0 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(0)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted August 13, 2009

    The Complete Guide to Online Investing

    Excellent book for anyone diving into the stock market. Trading terms are explained in clear, easy to understand language. Examples of the many types of stock trades are shown and the book actually walks you step-by-step through how a trade is done.

    The book is absolutely loaded with clear, easy to understand, pertinent information. What I really liked about the book is the number of websites listed for additional information. Government websites, stock company websites, financial sites, stock tracking sites, needed but not commonly known or easily found websites, the list is phenomenal! Some of this information I have been trying to find for years. You can find the information quickly and easily. I wish I had this book when I first started investing!

    Very, very clear explanations on how to do online investing, great tips and suggestions on keeping your money safe, the types of retirement vehicles and why it is important to get started young and why not to panic if you are older, non-boring tax information, the difference between after-hours trading and day trading, how to start an investment club, how to chose between a broker and an investment advisor.

    I highly recommend this book to ALL high school and college students. In fact, I really wish this book would be taught in all high schools. Knowledge is power and Online Investing is the beginning for a powerful, new life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2008

    A Must Read Guide To Online Investing!

    Do you have the knowledge to do online investing? In this outstanding book you will find all the answers you need and answers to things you didn¿t even know about. Author Michelle Hooper brings it down to terms that everyone can understand whether you are a beginner or a more seasoned investor. And Hopper is no novice to investing she has the classes and knowledge to backup her information. You will learn about what is investing, the history behind investing, how to invest, the different types of stock markets, researching, computer software, how to watch your money, the safety of online investing, brokers and financial advisers, finding your investment style, how to read charts and graphs, and figuring taxes. There are plenty of websites and examples listed to help with such things as help if you need a broker and what companies to trust, short-term and long-term investing, how to setup your portfolio, what are IPOs and DPOs, the difference between after hour trading and day trading as well as what is an investment club and how to start one. The information is precise and complete the tips are fantastic. Perfect for beginners and seasoned pros but also a useful tool for high school and college students to learn the ins and outs of online investing. You can never start too young to build your future and this is one book that should be in everyone¿s home even if you don¿t have stocks or bonds you may have a 401k or other types of retirement plans that you should be aware of what¿s going on - after all it¿s your money!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    What a Find!

    With the overwhelming array of financial information and resources available, it was an inspiring relief to find a book that so effectively provides so much information on finances and investing, in such an easily digestible format. I¿ve always wanted to learn more about investing, but felt it was something better left to those ¿in the know.¿ It seemed too complicated for someone like me whose financial experience is limited to struggling with balancing my checkbook. But the examples, case studies, comparison charts, checklists, description of important key terms, links to additional resources and even some history have given me the confidence to pursue investing in a more sound financial future for me and my family. The sections on researching brokers and brokerages, navigation software, the safety of online investing, and finding your investment style were particularly enlightening. I now find myself watching the financial shows and segments on TV and actually understanding what they are talking about. And if I come across an unknown term or concept, I can usually find it in this book. It is and will continue to be a great reference and resource tool.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 10, 2008

    Great Advice for Beginners

    As a student still struggling to learn the importance and benefits of investing, reading this book helped me to understand how investments can really help you in the future. The author provides many different ways of investing online and helps give ideas as to which method of investment is best suited for you. In this book, the author provides examples and case studies of real people who have taken part in one of the many possible ways of investing, and the outcome of their investments. I feel that these case studies were very helpful to me, and could be very helpful to any other reader as well. I found this book to be very resourceful, informative, and useful in discussing and comparing the different ways of investing to help you decide which is best suited for you. I recommend it to anyone looking for a detailed description, and detailed examples of each of these investments.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2008

    Highly readable and a fantastic reference!

    I've always found on-line investing to be interesting, but over-whelming. I've read several books on the subject, and this is by far my favorite. Ms. Hooper offers practical advice while avoiding the 'get-rich-quick' mentality that's often found in books on this subject. She advises the would-be investor to do plenty of research and start out slowly, testing different strategies with small amounts of money until the investor has found what works best for their individual situation. This book is loaded with facts, terminology, and history. That type of reading can be very weighty for a lay person, but Ms. Hooper has included wonderful real-life examples, in just the right places, to make the subject come alive for the reader. Her examples really made the concepts click for me. I thought this book was highly readable and a fantastic reference.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2008

    Very Good Starting Point

    This book gives you an understandable overview of investing. It is written in simple English and defines all the terminology used in the book. No one book can really define the entire spectrum of investing but this book touches on enough items to help you decide what to research next. I was impressed with the completeness and attention to detail. Both the beginning investor and the seasoned pro could use this book. As a reference book I will be referring to this one many times as I work my way into the world of online investing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 3, 2008

    Like having a financial advisor 24 hours a day

    ¿The Complete Guide to Online Investing¿ by Michelle Hooper is just what it claims to be. From beginners to seasoned professionals, the information Hooper has collected and put into one volume is impressive. Though some professionals may know, or think they know, everything in the book, it is still worth a look. Some may learn something new. Others will find their memory on key concepts and ideas refreshed. The first chapter, ¿What is Investing?¿ lists nearly every type of investment that most people can make. From stocks and bonds to real estate investment trusts, it is all covered here. Though the first section has little to do with the online part of investing, it does give a great overview and background for new investors. Hooper expands on this information, or suggest ways to put it to practical use, in subsequent chapters. The next couple of chapters explain what types of investments a person can make and the places where they can invest. It provides a great overview of investment strategies and reviews key terms that many beginning investors may not be familiar with, but the investing community already assumes everyone knows. The heart of the book really begins in chapter 4, which gives a great overview of various financial and trading Web sites. Helpful navigational tools are provided with most of the Web sites reviewed, as well as a brief discussion on what information or tools it may provide. In addition, it discusses some Web sites offering very helpful and fun applications, such as investment calculators, for those who want to dream. Those who are interested in reviews of online brokers, both full service and discount, and reviews of other online services will not be disappointed. In addition to listing the advantages and steps needed to get started on these Web sites, Hooper also explains how to make sure a broker is reputable. There is also a helpful section on scams. Those wanting to check out a variety of firms will also find dozens listed, along with their Web site addresses. Replete with a significant number of personal stories, case studies and tips, Hooper writes in a very personable and conversational tone. Discussing Johnson & Johnson, at one point she notes, ¿Those guys make everything, and it is important that people have deodorants.¿ That folksy style is refreshing in the financial book market, which often discusses things most would need a doctorate degree to understand. There are some portions of the book structured awkwardly. For example, the first chapter is 90 pages long. That may seem rather intimidating to readers who are used to breaking up their reading by chapters. However, there are numerous subsections and subheads, which help break the information up into digestible chunks. The stories she relates are relevant to the subject matter she is discussing, demonstrating how there are practical applications for the ideas she is discussing. The success stories mentioned also offer encouragement to potential investors. ¿The Complete Guide to Online Investing¿ offers everything a beginning investor could want.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2008

    All You Need to Know About Online Investing--And Then Some

    This ¿how-to¿ book of the ins and outs of online investing should appear prominently on the bookshelf of anyone who is serious about making money in the stock market. It contains a wealth of information that runs the gamut from the history of laws governing trading to an account of investing strategies, including after-hours trading, managing your investment portfolio, recognizing a bad broker, as well as information regarding tax deductions for investment newsletters and even computers used for investing! But it would be advisable to check with your tax accountant before attempting to take these deductions on your tax returns. Hooper's exhaustible research for this book is obvious in the many charts, case studies, and websites included for further reference. The book is written in a very straightforward and accessible style, even when dealing with more dense topics such as futures and commodities trading. Hooper explains that ¿A long call is simply purchasing a call option in which the investor hopes that the price of the futures market will rise.¿ In addition, Hooper uses humor to make certain points. When discussing trading of currencies, Hooper warns ¿Do not get up and take a break or you could lose a large sum of money¿, and in describing the ¿Fill or Kill¿ request, Hooper notes that this ¿does not mean that the broker will be killed if an order is not filled.¿ Books on topics such as this are often exceedingly technical and difficult to read but Hooper has really lived up to the title of this book The Complete Guide to Online Investing: Everything You Need to Know Explained Simply.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1