BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Only Astrology Book You'll Ever Need: Twenty-First-Century Edition

Average Rating 4.5
( 79 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(51)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(8)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

This is a fabulous book

I would recommend this book to anyone that is interested in astrology. It really is the only book you'll ever need. The computer disk it comes with is amazingly helpful because you don't have to do all the math and look through a bunch of charts to make a birthchart a...
I would recommend this book to anyone that is interested in astrology. It really is the only book you'll ever need. The computer disk it comes with is amazingly helpful because you don't have to do all the math and look through a bunch of charts to make a birthchart any more. I have had lots of fun giving everyone I know their astrology readings and have learned lots about my friends, family and myself. I don't think I could ever get tired of this book and am thrilled to have it in my library.

posted by sugarplumfaery1 on March 30, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Very specific in certain areas, too vague in other areas

I did enjoy the details about every sun sign and moon sign. The section about planets is quite informative. There's also a chapter that explains in details the history and legend behind every sign. I find that entertaining.

However, I did not like the chapter on h...
I did enjoy the details about every sun sign and moon sign. The section about planets is quite informative. There's also a chapter that explains in details the history and legend behind every sign. I find that entertaining.

However, I did not like the chapter on how to interpret your birth chart. It was not specific enough. For example, my North node is in Taurus and in the 11th House. There was a page which describes my node in the 11th House, even though it was extremely short. Too short, in fact. But there was nothing about my north node being in Taurus. What's the point of me finding out on the CDrom that my North node is in Taurus if it's not being explained in the book?

All other chapters are very, very detailed, except for the chapter that explains how to intrepret your birth chart. It's as if the author spends too much on other chapters that by the time she got to this chapter, she got tired and decided to half-ass it.

I'd say this is good for beginners, but not for high-esteemed astrologers. However, it did motivate me to buy other books on areas, which this book is missing.

posted by Lazea on April 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted May 20, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Best Astrology book ever

    A terrific book!the best i've
    ever read on this subject and
    problably the most informative
    astrology book on the market!!
    A must read for any astologer
    or any beginners.I absoulutely
    love this book and the cd rom
    it comes with !!!!!!!!!!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    This is a fabulous book

    I would recommend this book to anyone that is interested in astrology. It really is the only book you'll ever need. The computer disk it comes with is amazingly helpful because you don't have to do all the math and look through a bunch of charts to make a birthchart any more. I have had lots of fun giving everyone I know their astrology readings and have learned lots about my friends, family and myself. I don't think I could ever get tired of this book and am thrilled to have it in my library.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Stupid Barnes&Noble!

    If you have a nook color and you are thinking about purchasing this. DONT. There is a lot of errors and the CD-ROM is not included. Very angry I bought this /; However I have had this book before and it is awesome to own. AS LONG AS IT IS NOT ON A NOOK

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    Very specific in certain areas, too vague in other areas

    I did enjoy the details about every sun sign and moon sign. The section about planets is quite informative. There's also a chapter that explains in details the history and legend behind every sign. I find that entertaining.

    However, I did not like the chapter on how to interpret your birth chart. It was not specific enough. For example, my North node is in Taurus and in the 11th House. There was a page which describes my node in the 11th House, even though it was extremely short. Too short, in fact. But there was nothing about my north node being in Taurus. What's the point of me finding out on the CDrom that my North node is in Taurus if it's not being explained in the book?

    All other chapters are very, very detailed, except for the chapter that explains how to intrepret your birth chart. It's as if the author spends too much on other chapters that by the time she got to this chapter, she got tired and decided to half-ass it.

    I'd say this is good for beginners, but not for high-esteemed astrologers. However, it did motivate me to buy other books on areas, which this book is missing.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2012

    Ummm how do I get the cd-rom ???

    I ordered this book on my Nook Tablet ... the book is great., however I want the cd-rom that is supposed to come with it :(

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The title says it all!

    A MUST-HAVE for any serious student of Astrology.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    I wish

    I have been waiting for this book since July , keeps getting delayed!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 28, 2013

    I love this book. This will be the 3rd time I have bought this

    I love this book. This will be the 3rd time I have bought this book. Whenever I show it to someone, it disappears. This time it will never leave my room. I love this book, it gives such good information and so accurate. I would recommend this book to everyone who wants to know about astrology.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 21, 2012

    I am highly disappointed; I have the older version and honestly,

    I am highly disappointed; I have the older version and honestly, this "updated" version really is not updated or new at all...unless the addition of words and terms related to the newer technology justifies this "updated/expanded" version. I am also almost positive that when I initially placed my order, a CD-Rom was to be included with the book. Upon receiving it (over a month late due to a never-admitted publishing delay), there was no CD. Instead, a link is provided on the cover of the book (it is buried within the back pages, furthering me to believe that this was part of the reason for the publishing delay and the publisher chose to slap a sticker on the cover in place of the aforementioned CD-Rom). When I attempt to use the link provided to view my birth chart, there is no such active link. It is temporarily (and seemingly, temporarily is subjective here), unavailable. VERY DISAPPOINTED. If you already have the previous edition, don't bother wasting your money on this one.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 19, 2012

    The new 21st Century Edition

    For anyone who purchased The new 21st Century Edition of this book its release date has been pushed back several times since february and was pushed back again this month until the second week in september it really sucks a** that the publisher apparently has its head up its a** and laying down on the job but if the revisions are as good as i anticipate i dare say itll be worth the wait

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    not rated

    i can not rate it you only have it on e book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2011

    not able to review

    never received it from barnes and knoble !!!!!!!!

    not happy

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 15, 2001

    Wow!

    This book is fasinating. Everything is true and I couldn't put it down. It also gives some great tips to help your love life. This book is one you can use throughout your life. ~The Only Astrology Book You'll Ever Need~ is for all ages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2001

    This book is truly 'The Only Astrology Book You`ll Ever Need'.

    I`ve never seen another astrology book that can even come close to this one. The you/your mate section and the 'do your own horoscope' sections are unbelievable. A must have.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    Wonderful book! Very informative and a great starting point. I h

    Wonderful book! Very informative and a great starting point. I have only recently began to study astrology and this book was recommended to me by a friend. Does anyone have to the web link for creating your chart online? My toddler niece scratched the sticker with the link off the front cover :/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2013

    this book is great, but its also a book to help you put together

    this book is great, but its also a book to help you put together a birth chart and is suppose to have a cd with it. it didnt come with it! an the gold sticker for the link is just as bogus! you cant put in the time of birth or hit create! even though i like this book without the cd or a working link its kind of a waste for most of the book. i paid for a cd included with this book i should have gotten the cd with the book! is it everywhere or barnes  an noble? laame!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 28, 2012

    STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED MY COPY

    I order this book in NOVEMBER when they were saying it was coming out NOVEMBER 16, it is now almost MARCH and there is no word on when i will get this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2012

    Great book!

    This really is the only astrology book you will need. I've recommended it to everyone i know interested in astrology.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    cant use my cd

    well the books great but wenn trying to play cd on computer it says that it is black and cant use it is there a trick to use it or something?
    please help

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 27, 2011

    A Must For Any Self-Astrologer

    I absolutly love this book. It is extremely informative and useful for any seeking to know more about astrology. It was lent to me about a year ago and I have been in total disaray since having to give it back. I highly recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 80 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4