Customer Reviews for

Only For You

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(42)

4 Star

(43)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

I received a free copy for an honest review. What to say? The be

I received a free copy for an honest review.
What to say? The beginning of the book for me was a little slow. It took me a few chapters to finally get sucked in to the story. Did I get sucked in? Of course. The book was well written and once I got in a few chapters I di...
I received a free copy for an honest review.
What to say? The beginning of the book for me was a little slow. It took me a few chapters to finally get sucked in to the story. Did I get sucked in? Of course. The book was well written and once I got in a few chapters I didn’t want to put it down. Some of the things were a little predictable between Sean and Scarlet but plenty kept you on your toes.




I loved Scarlet. At first I thought she is nuts for acting like she did during a certain part but then I thought about it and honestly women mistaken things like that often. So I understood. It was sad to see her heart broken but nice to see her pull herself back together. To watch her relationship with her brother was awesome. I have a brother that I am very close to like them and it made me smile to read about them.




“Should I enroll you at daycare?” I asked. “So you can find some new friends to play with?”




“Actually, I wouldn’t mind that at this point. My own sibling is too busy for me.”




Sean on the other hand had mixed feelings from me. I loved him then I was mad at him and with the ending I’m just not sure how I feel about him. I think the ending did save him some but the fact that he went to her and still saying in his head that he still loved the ex just rubbed me the wrong way. If you’re not completely over the ex you have no right to tell someone new that you love them and to start a relationship with them. That has me worried for Scar.




Cortland had me laughing. At one point I did wish that him and Scar ended up together and she said screw Sean. I loved him and how he was with Scar. Would love to read more about him.




So basically I loved all the characters. They were all played out well. There are some steamy sex scenes. Which if I had to admit to anything it would be that I actually laughed at the dialogue during these scenes. I know that people really do talk like that in real life during sex but it was the first time I read it like that in a book and it actually threw me off a little. All in all a great book. Would definitely recommend it.

posted by AmyChrisWWB on November 26, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

14 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

Just...okay!

I bought this book because I loved the cover. Sadly, the book did not live up to the hype. I managed to get through the book, but was often frustrated while doing so.

At this point I have not purchased the second book and am not sure if I am going to. I think it ...
I bought this book because I loved the cover. Sadly, the book did not live up to the hype. I managed to get through the book, but was often frustrated while doing so.

At this point I have not purchased the second book and am not sure if I am going to. I think it is better if I just quit here. Read at your own risk! Enjoy!

posted by celesteworld on April 9, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2015

    Amazing

    I loved it so much ,the book made me laught and cry tears of joy i say this is a must read:)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 28, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    Drove me 5 Star Crazy!

    Lack of communication and complete misunderstanding is always, ALWAYS the key ingredient to heartbreak, heartache and devastation, not to mention embarrassment. Scarlet and Sean have been best friends forever, never crossing that line of being friends with benefits, until the woman of Sean’s dreams dumps him with brutal efficiency. As Scarlet was there for her best friends, something happened, a need for human contact? A need to validate one’s worthiness to be loved and wanted? Whatever it was, Sean assumed it was a one-time deal, and Scarlet lost her heart, thinking they had crossed over into the realm of boyfriend/girlfriend. When the the next most humiliating day of her life came less than 24 hours later, Scarlet ran, far and fast, lost, alone and afraid. What was there to keep her here? Her ex-boss was a pig, literally waving body parts in her face in exchange for work favors and promotions and she had no one who cared, not even Sean.

    To family was the only place Scarlet could think of, and her protector/brother whom she had not seen in a while was there for her. So was one of his best friends, but is that what Scarlet needed? In spite of everything, she loves Sean and always would…bad things happen to good people and it seems Scarlet is once again in the middle of another problem, but this time, she is the one who can help her brother. Is she growing up emotionally? Is she getting over Sean? Was it time to cut the final strings that lead from Sean to her heart?

    Only For You by E. L. Todd is almost too realistic to handle from the heartbreak, the mistakes made in all corners and the feelings of deep, deep pain from Scarlet. Was Sean so perfect that he had earned her love? Being drawn completely in, like a fly on the wall, I wanted to strap that girl down and talk some sense into her. I then wanted to share a piece of my mind with Sean, I mean, really? Talk about being self-centered and needing to get over himself! Sure, he was hurting from a break up, so wouldn’t he have been more sensitive to Scarlet and the message he was sending? Loved Scarlet’s brother, what a guy, even with his own set of problems.

    So, I’m going to say that E. L. Todd can write drama! I didn’t need to agree with her characters, or even like them, but on the “art imitates life” scale, this is a gut-clenching, frustration building ten! And yes, I am off to start the second in this series in 3…2…1…antacids in hand...I just feel something HUGE is going to happen!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2015

    Awesome

    Awesome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2015

    Beautifulgirl2001

    This looks like a very good book.I havent quit read it yet what do you guys thik bout the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2015

    Love love

    I coul serously relate to thid book, i havena bestfriend named sean and so much of this book described our relationship, things are a little different but i couldnt stop reading, i will be reading more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2015

    Interesting read.  Look forward to reading the rest of this seri

    Interesting read.  Look forward to reading the rest of this series. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2014

    Loved IT

    This book was tragic but heartwarming

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2014

    Loved it

    I love the book from the begining. I was so into the book that i didnt hardly put it down at all.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 9, 2014

    Good read

    I felt like I could relate to Scarlet, and the part of how you fall for your best friend but don't realize it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2014

    Blah

    Hahahaha

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Grea

    I loved this book. It was easy and comfortable. Once you read it you'll understand that comment

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2014

    Ashley

    Want nook sex go to the book a blow job and butt sex

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2014

    O.my.god what a good book

    A great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2014

    FEMALE SEX SLAVE

    SUCKERS!!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    .

    .

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    Okay, I did receive a free ARC of this for an honest review




    Okay, I did receive a free ARC of this for an honest review and I can honestly say I couldn't put this book down!

    Scarlet and Sean have been best friends for years. Scarlet secretly has more serious feelings for Sean but has never told him. Sean is in a serious relationship with Penelope but she dumps him, crushing his heart, and he turns to Scarlet for comfort. Unfortunately that comfort leads to a night in bed and Scarlet believes it means they're in a relationship while Sean believes it was just a one-time thing. That misunderstanding combined with problems Scarlet is having at work cause her to unexpectedly move back to Seattle to live with her brother.

    The characters were done really well with the perfect amount of detail, the storyline was engaging and the bedroom scenes were hot! I was really pleased the editing was done so well - poor editing is a big pet peeve of mine! Some of the things the characters did bugged me but I'd rather be annoyed than feel apathetic when I read a book.

    Two small things - this book was set in Seattle, where I live, and nobody here says "Pike's Market". They say "Pike's Place Market" or just "The Market". Also, most people in Seattle own cars and don't rely on cabs like they do in New York.

    Other than those two small details (because I'm picky!!) I really enjoyed this book and can't wait to read book 2 in this series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2013

    **ARC provided in return for an honest review!** SP











    **ARC provided in return for an honest review!**


    SPOILER ALERT!!!



    First off I want to thank E.L. Todd for giving me the chance to read this book. This is the first book I have read by this author and I must say, for me, it was a captivating story and I would read additional books by this author. It was slow to start but it picked up and grabbed my attention.

    This story is about two people, Scarlet and Sean, who have been best friends since college. We start off with Sean being devastated by the recent break up between him and his fiancé Penelope. After some time and drinks things begin to change, Scarlet begins to have feelings for Sean and starts to believe Sean feels something in return. One night after too much to drink they end up sleeping together. But what is meant to be a happy time for Scarlet turns out to be devastating when she comes home from work to find her friend/co-worker and Sean have slept together (I was seriously pissed at Sean when he did that). After a big argument Scarlet then up and moves back to Seattle to live with her brother Ryan. Enter Cortland, Ryan's best friend (Now I just got to say I loved Cortland). Scarlet is heartbroken, depressed and wants nothing more than to just stay in her bed forever. But Ryan and Cortland try to help her out of her funk and get her to move on. Scarlet and Cortland begin to become really close. Cortland has his secrets that we find out later on he is in a relationship that no longer has that spark, after of course him and Scarlet have slept together. Scarlet convinces Cortland to come clean and end things with his girlfriend since they both aren't happy together anymore anyway. Scarlet and Cortland decide to only stay friends as they have no feelings for each other because they were both using each other as a way to forget pain in their lives. Scarlet's life eventually picks up, she starts her own editing company and is finally ready to move on, although she is still hurting over Sean. Scarlet believes Sean never cared for her because he never contacts her, although she doesn't know that Sean has been talking to Ryan to see how she is. Sean finally realizes he has always had feelings for Scarlet and decides to win her back. We end with Sean finally winning Scarlet back.

    With all of that said I have to say I loved all of the characters in the book although Scarlet made a few bad choices. I'm giving this book 5 stars (if I could give more I would). I can't wait to read the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    First of all I would like to thank E.L Todd for giving me the op

    First of all I would like to thank E.L Todd for giving me the opportunity to read her novel. I read this book in one day. I really enjoyed the story and characters in this book. Let me start by saying some of the readers might get upset with Scarlet for some of the decisions she makes and her way of thinking at times. That being said, I believe she could of handled situations differently at times but she has many things going on from her past and in her present life that has made her think and handle things differently than maybe someone else might. I felt for everything that has happened in her life she handled it the best way she could cope with in her state of mind. I am hoping that in the next book she comes forward to expose her boss, no one man or woman should have to endure harassment or abuse from someone they work with or for. That is all I am going to say about Scarlet because I do not like to spoil the story for others.

    Sean, is Scarlet's best friend and they are there for each other all the time. Until a line is blurred and with everything else going on things are misconstrued which leaves them both to make life changing decisions.

    Ryan, is Scarlet's brother. I love his character and his unconditional love for his sister and friends. Scarlet and Ryan are very close and as for all of us life gets in the way and lose touch for a while but he is the first person Scarlet goes to when things fall apart in her world. I really enjoyed their relationship and look forward to more of this character.

    Cortland, well what can I say about this character. I really loved him. He is so sweet and has a big heart. I want to say more but do not want to spoil any of the story for other readers.

    I really enjoyed this novel and look forward to reading the second book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    Wow! What a surprise this read was for me! The storyline was unl

    Wow! What a surprise this read was for me! The storyline was unlike the hordes of other books in this genre and it really kept me intrigued. E.L. Todd knows how to write a story that's not just all fairy tales and happy endings, this book felt so REAL. It was truly something that anyone could go through. 




    What really made this read outstanding for me though were the characters. My goodness, can I just say I LOVED Scar?! She is hilarious! Her comments had me laughing out loud so often. To top that off she is warm, bright, loving, and a real badass at times. She did have her moment of extreme clinginess, but don't we all? Sean has a heart of gold, and despite the hard times he struggled with, that made him do some unfavorable things, he remained great to me. Ryan was the best brother ever, and I would love a book devoted to more of him. I really enjoyed his interactions with Scar. And finally, Courtland, oh boy. Another great guy! I didn't know who Scar should choose. He was a brilliant addition to this story! 




    The characters didn't get too deep, in my opinion, but we finally got some good background towards the end of the book. It really help set up, what's sure to be, a great sequel. 




    Overall, this book just did it for me. It had a great story, wonderful characters, and good writing. My nook had a few errors, but I hardly noticed. I literally read this 200+ pages in about 3-4 hours, I could not put it down! I will now be impatiently waiting for the next book in the series as well as keeping my eye out for more of Todd's writing. 




    I was given a ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2013

    What do you do when your best friend gets dumped? Well, you are

    What do you do when your best friend gets dumped? Well, you are not supposed to fall in love with him, right? That is exactly what happens to Scarlet. Sean is her best friend, they met while in college. Sean's girlfriend, Penelope, decides to dump him right before he proposes to her. She decides to confide in Scarlet first so she will be there for Sean. So as always as before, Scarlet is there for him, helping him to get out of his depressed state. After one drunken night, things get out of hand and they end up sleeping together and that is when all of the turmoil in the book really starts. Things explode between them, and not in a good way, and with all of her problems at work, she breaks. She goes to her brother, clear across the country asking for help. So what happens, well that is all I am going to say. You will just have to read the book for yourself to find out. I have so many conflicting feelings, not about the book but about the characters. First I loved Sean and then I was so mad at him for what he did to Scarlet. What did he do you ask, read the book!! I think Scarlet jumped to conclusions a little too fast sometimes. But man, did I love her brother, Ryan and his best friend Cortland. I really hated her boss and he got what was coming to him. And her good friend, Janice, well at first I liked her and then I didn't because she should have known just because of all of her talks with Scarlet. Ok, I know I am confusing you, right?? Well I said it twice already but I will say it again, READ THE BOOK!! I am absolutely loving this series. E.L. Todd sent me an arc for an honest review and boy oh boy, I am so glad I read Only For You. I already can't wait for the next one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 42 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3