Customer Reviews for

Only Time Will Tell (Clifton Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

good read

I enjoyed reading this book. Very entertaining and intelligently written.

posted by BookaholicTracy on September 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A waste of money!

How anyone could compare this book to Kane and Abel is astounding! If Kane and Abel was one of the best books that I have ever read, this definitely was the worst book that I have ever read. Just the fact that it kept reiterating chapters was so annoying, but the story ...
How anyone could compare this book to Kane and Abel is astounding! If Kane and Abel was one of the best books that I have ever read, this definitely was the worst book that I have ever read. Just the fact that it kept reiterating chapters was so annoying, but the story line was completely ridiculous. I can't imagine a sequel to this book. I continued reading this because I was hoping it would get better. It only got worse. Actually I don't even believe that Jeffrey Archer wrote this.

posted by 9386148 on September 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 188 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    good read

    I enjoyed reading this book. Very entertaining and intelligently written.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So very enjoyable !

    I am not completely finished with this book, but just had to add my review so that those who may be hesitating because of the Nook price of $14.99 will decide to read it anyway. Absolutely one of my best books of the year so far. I am so very glad that this is a series. Don't you hate it when a book you love ends, knowing there is no continuation ahead? I do.

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cheesy Title - Great Book

    I really enjoyed this book, the writing was simple and straight forward; it's the plot and characters that draw you in. I finished the book in only a few sittings, the last one keeping me up until 1 in the morning because I had to find out what happened to Harry.

    My only criticism would be the strange way the author keeps changing the point of view. I enjoyed having different sections focusing on different characters, but I don't think the first person point of view chapters really added anything to the story and at first they only confused me. They also don't really sound different enough to be believable.

    Overall, an enjoyable quick read and I'm excited for the next in the series.

    I won this book through Goodreads FirstReads.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Great Read

    Would recommend. This was a little difficult to get into because the story goes back and forth with it's characters. However, it is well written and kept me reading. The only downside is that the story ends up in the air and you need to wait until next year when the sequel follows!

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    A waste of money!

    How anyone could compare this book to Kane and Abel is astounding! If Kane and Abel was one of the best books that I have ever read, this definitely was the worst book that I have ever read. Just the fact that it kept reiterating chapters was so annoying, but the story line was completely ridiculous. I can't imagine a sequel to this book. I continued reading this because I was hoping it would get better. It only got worse. Actually I don't even believe that Jeffrey Archer wrote this.

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 30, 2012

    Great for Junior High

    I have made it to page sixty something out of 344 pages on my NOOK. I now want to scream. I bought this book because it has a sequel and I love good, long books that I can get involved in for awhile. I won't be buying the sequel but I will force my way through this one because I paid ten dollars for it. No insult to the author intended here. He probably intentionally writes to a teenage audience. No sex, violence or four-letter words here which is great; many authors use too much. I would recommend this to any beginning or intermediate reader but not to the mature, avid reader. I just finished Ken Follet's WORLD WITHOUT END, nearly 1,000 pages on my NOOK and I guess this book is too much of a come-down from something like that.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    A must read

    Will add to my list of favorites, worth every penny Ellenkate

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2012

    Good read - stayed up too late to read more! Very likeable characters.

    A little off beat because Archer changes the narrator throughout but overall it was a good book and I am looking forward to the series.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 4, 2011

    Disappointing

    I have read other books by Jeffrey Archer, couldn't wait to read this one. Found the story lines shallow and the writing was elementary at best. Read like it was written for junior high readers. A great saga is Fall Of Giants by Ken Follett. Don't waste your time on this one.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Okay, Ready For Part 2

    Part one of the Clifton Chronicles seems to be all about introducing us to the characters. Not much happens, but we have a rich/poor intersection that may or may not be problematic if Harry ever returns to Britain. Right now he is busy elsewhere, under an assumed name. I am neither here nor there on the the book just yet.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Great story telling

    I just dowloaded the sample and enjoyed it very much. I found it quite captivating. Will definitely buy it.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Good!!

    I fell in love with Jeffrey ARcher when he wrote Cain and Abel and Prodigal Daughter. Some of his books after those were not as good. When I read what this book was about and that it was going to be a 5 book set I thought I would try it. It is wonderful. It starts a little shakey but after about 30 pages you really get into the flow of the book. The twists and turns make you want to keep reading. Can't wait for next spring when the next book comes out!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Not impressed

    Seems a rather flat, drawn out tragedy. Maybe it's due to understated / reserved Brittish writing.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2014

    Serial but enough going on to interest you in each

    If you dont mind open ends again if in doubt there is always the e book library loan which i wish could figure out so do hard cover loan the library will tell you if it can only be found on e book which is a little hint if contebts pageturner @sparta

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 14, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Disappointing

    I was enjoying this book until I got to the very end. Then I wanted to strangle the author. I immediately bought the sequel, "Sins of the Father," and had the same reaction at the end. Perhaps the author plans another book, but I'm not sure I would bother reading it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Archers best book yet?

    Well, this may not be and it may be.
    I fell in love with the charactors in this book.
    The plot and development was outsanding. Not a brain teaser but flowed well and solidly written.
    Not a hard read but entertaining.
    I read approximately thirty pages and put it down. Later that nite i picked it back up for a bed time read. Read halfway thru, tried to go to sleep...... didnt work.

    Finished the book which resulted in one and a half hours of sleep. No regrets. But I am tired. Loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2012

    I kept telling myself what was going to happen next in this stor

    I kept telling myself what was going to happen next in this story and the sad part of it all was that's what happened.
    I think the whole story was telegraphed from beginning to end.
    I like the way the author writes but I think the story line here was not good.
    The ending of this, obviously not the ending of the main character, was just plain goofy.
    Particularly the ending scene that has the police reading Harry his rights. Nope, the police did not read rights in late '30's early 40's. They just told you that you were "under arrest". How would an author not know that??

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    Great book!

    Love the writing style. Each chapter gives you the narratuve from a different main character.....moving the storyline forward just a bit. What a great way to really absorb the story which is full of twists and rurns and scandal and love and friendship. Can't wait to read the next book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    this book was amazing. I couldn't read it fast enough. A gre

    this book was amazing. I couldn't read it fast enough. A great story -- will written. I am looking forward to the next Harry tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Can't wait for the next book in the series.

    Wonderful story, hated for it to end. Waiting impatiently for the next in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 188 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 10