Customer Reviews for

Only Time Will Tell (Clifton Chronicles Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 188 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(88)

4 Star

(40)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(17)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

good read

I enjoyed reading this book. Very entertaining and intelligently written.

posted by BookaholicTracy on September 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

A waste of money!

How anyone could compare this book to Kane and Abel is astounding! If Kane and Abel was one of the best books that I have ever read, this definitely was the worst book that I have ever read. Just the fact that it kept reiterating chapters was so annoying, but the story ...
How anyone could compare this book to Kane and Abel is astounding! If Kane and Abel was one of the best books that I have ever read, this definitely was the worst book that I have ever read. Just the fact that it kept reiterating chapters was so annoying, but the story line was completely ridiculous. I can't imagine a sequel to this book. I continued reading this because I was hoping it would get better. It only got worse. Actually I don't even believe that Jeffrey Archer wrote this.

posted by 9386148 on September 26, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 13, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    good read

    I enjoyed reading this book. Very entertaining and intelligently written.

    18 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    So very enjoyable !

    I am not completely finished with this book, but just had to add my review so that those who may be hesitating because of the Nook price of $14.99 will decide to read it anyway. Absolutely one of my best books of the year so far. I am so very glad that this is a series. Don't you hate it when a book you love ends, knowing there is no continuation ahead? I do.

    14 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Cheesy Title - Great Book

    I really enjoyed this book, the writing was simple and straight forward; it's the plot and characters that draw you in. I finished the book in only a few sittings, the last one keeping me up until 1 in the morning because I had to find out what happened to Harry.

    My only criticism would be the strange way the author keeps changing the point of view. I enjoyed having different sections focusing on different characters, but I don't think the first person point of view chapters really added anything to the story and at first they only confused me. They also don't really sound different enough to be believable.

    Overall, an enjoyable quick read and I'm excited for the next in the series.

    I won this book through Goodreads FirstReads.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2011

    A must read

    Will add to my list of favorites, worth every penny Ellenkate

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 8, 2011

    Great story telling

    I just dowloaded the sample and enjoyed it very much. I found it quite captivating. Will definitely buy it.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Archers best book yet?

    Well, this may not be and it may be.
    I fell in love with the charactors in this book.
    The plot and development was outsanding. Not a brain teaser but flowed well and solidly written.
    Not a hard read but entertaining.
    I read approximately thirty pages and put it down. Later that nite i picked it back up for a bed time read. Read halfway thru, tried to go to sleep...... didnt work.

    Finished the book which resulted in one and a half hours of sleep. No regrets. But I am tired. Loved it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    this book was amazing. I couldn't read it fast enough. A gre

    this book was amazing. I couldn't read it fast enough. A great story -- will written. I am looking forward to the next Harry tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2012

    Can't wait for the next book in the series.

    Wonderful story, hated for it to end. Waiting impatiently for the next in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2011

    Love Jeffrey!

    I have read every book he has ever written, starting with "As the Crow Flies! This book will get you into the characters, the next one comes out in late winter. Can't wait. Jeffrey is always worth it!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Very Entertaining audiobook from a master storyteller

    This audio book comes in a 10-CD compilation, read by Roger Allam and Emelia Fox.

    The plot is quite interesting and will keep you entertained and paying close attention till the end. The author tells us the saga of the Clifton's family, a lower class family of dock workers from which Harry Clifton is a talented son from Maisie, and the Barrington's family, a wealthy family from which Giles and Emma, children of Hugo and Elizabeth, turn to be and important part of Harry's life. The story starts with Harry fighting to rise in life through his studies. He finds an old man named Jack leaving in the docks, who tutors him and both ended up being great friends. And as he progress with studies through scholarships, life presents very tricky to Harry, with bullies and real friends crossing his path. The story is full of twists, some predictable, but the end is really unexpected.
    This is suppose to be the first part out of five book series that is called "The Clifton's Chronicles", this first one in particular covering the period between 1920 and 1940. The whole story is told from different perspectives. There is an introduction from Harry's mother, Maisie, followed by the main stream by Harry, back to his mother, them to Hugo Barrignton, Old Jack, Emma and Giles points of view, before returning to Harry for the final part.
    The only detail is that as this book is the first part of a series, the story does not wrap up on itself, on the contrary, it is left open on a hook for the next part.

    Overall this is a masterpice composed by Mr. Jeffrey Archer, where each character is described in rich details and the voice that Roger Allam uses for each one is simply priceless. The female characters are read by Emelia Fox. Their narration is superb and contributes a lot to the success of this audiobook. Excellent fiction novel, a must have in the permanent library of any reader that enjoys this genre.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 27, 2011

    Wonderful, wonderful book!

    I listened to the audio version in my car and more than once sat in my driveway to listen to more of the book. I absolutely loved it and I cannot WAIT for the next book in the series. Anyone know when it will be coming out?

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2014

    Wonderfully Written

    I just finished this book and I can't wait to read the next one!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    GREAT BOOK!!!!! I was hooked from page one. could not put the b

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!

    I was hooked from page one. could not put the book down. Can't wait to read #2.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2014

    Very good book!

    Couldn't wait to read the next series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    Very good

    I like Jeffery Archer's books and this series enforces that. When each ends, I'm eager for the next to see what continues!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 4, 2014

    This book begins a saga that starts in England in 1919 and goes

    This book begins a saga that starts in England in 1919 and goes to the beginning of WW2 in this book one of four books that continue through the 1960's.  As many stories begin, sex with two men confuses the parentage of our main character.  Is Harry Clifton the son of a dock worker or the son of an English nobleman?  This question affects Harry throughout this book even though he knows nothing of this secret.




    All has been compounded by the mysterious death of his dock worker father.  Then one day Harry wins a marvelous scholarship to an exclusive boy's school, where he makes two best friends.  One just happens to be the legitimate son of the nobleman.  The boys know nothing about their possible relationship, but they are aware that Harry's presence is never welcome in his friends house. 




    This book is written very cleverly with sections from many of the main character's points of view.  We often learn things when they do, keeping the story a bit mysterious.  While we are reading about Harry, we are getting history as he lives it.  Definitely looking forward to reading the final three books to see how Harry fairs in his later years.  

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2013

    Jlru

    ?IPVXVRIIuip

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2013

    Excellent reading

    I haven't read a trilogy like this in years. I only hope there is a fourth book. So the saga can continue.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 7, 2013

    Total waste of time!

    I should have stopped when I was ahead, about 20 years ago.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Only t Only Time Will Tell

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 88 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5