Customer Reviews for

Only Yesterday: An Informal History of the 1920's

Average Rating 4
( 11 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(5)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Highly Recommended

Interesting account of the "roaring twenties" from the speakeasy's to the big crash. The author wrote the book in the early '30's, thus, the evidence of firsthand experience to lend credence to the book.

posted by EileenGalen on January 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Alert!! This e-book version contains hard-coded line brakes, wh

Alert!! This e-book version contains hard-coded line brakes, which cannot be removed. As a result, the layout is horrible, unless one uses the default tiny font size! I would suggest getting a different version.

The real book itself is a gem - nearly 5 stars. An am...
Alert!! This e-book version contains hard-coded line brakes, which cannot be removed. As a result, the layout is horrible, unless one uses the default tiny font size! I would suggest getting a different version.

The real book itself is a gem - nearly 5 stars. An amusing, informative, close-up look at what it was like in this country nearly 100 years ago. I only wish there were more like it. Great light read, but with a lot in it.

posted by bjacobs on May 17, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Highly Recommended

    Interesting account of the "roaring twenties" from the speakeasy's to the big crash. The author wrote the book in the early '30's, thus, the evidence of firsthand experience to lend credence to the book.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Better than anticipated

    I was tasked with writting a paper in an American History class in college which I was completely dreading. I had never studied the 1920's though and the word, 'Informal' made me perk up a little bit. For me this book covered the major instances of the 1920's and occasionally touched on topics that were not so mainstream American History. The way the book read more as a compellation of stories allowed the book to be picked up and sat down easily which can be necessary if you aren't a history loving individual. If you have to read a book for American history this is a good choice, if you are curious about the economy in the 1920's this is a pretty decent read and finally if you don't know a darn thing about the 1920's this is the best book out there.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 17, 2012

    Alert!! This e-book version contains hard-coded line brakes, wh

    Alert!! This e-book version contains hard-coded line brakes, which cannot be removed. As a result, the layout is horrible, unless one uses the default tiny font size! I would suggest getting a different version.

    The real book itself is a gem - nearly 5 stars. An amusing, informative, close-up look at what it was like in this country nearly 100 years ago. I only wish there were more like it. Great light read, but with a lot in it.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 25, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Human Stupidity

    Having read this book, one can easily get a snapshot of the 1920s with their salient events. However, given today's turbulent world with the financial crisis leaving all of us searching for seemingly unfathomable reasons, this book is a must-read because it proves in chapter after chapter, in excruciating detail, that mankind and its follies have not changed even an iota in the last 90 years and our memories have become so bad that we are condemned to repeat history with increasing frequency !

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Book still important today

    This book was required for me to read during high school. In the last few years as the problems with our financial system became more apparent, I reread it. The companies and events are not exactly the same as today, but the events substance and greed are no different. The 1920's were ignored by us today, but the the lessons are ones we will have to remember and reconstruct. I would suggest reading SINCE YESTERDAY if a copy can be found. It is also written by the same author.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2001

    i like pizza and i hope you do, too

    Its had to say that a history book is good, especially when you are taking AP US history (oh, the torture!). However, Allen's narrative of the 1920's proved to be rather interesting...at the beginning. It started out well, depicting an average couple from the 20's. he showed their opinions and everyday struggles. But when he started to probe the political aspects of the 20's, the book fell flat. The social issues were well persented, but i skimmed most of the presidential scandals and such. Overall, it was pretty good. Better than Minutemen and their (incredibly boring)World, that's for sure!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2006

    Not worth the read

    I am a 17 yr. old A.P. U.S. History student who had the experience of reading this book by assignment. I must say, although the factual information provided in the reading is plentiful, to call this book a piece of syntheic journalism is a stretch of the term. Most of the book entails the author describing a general depiction of the 1920s by major events, and it never goes much farther beyond that. I thoroughly enjoy studying history, but I found the book to be extremely dry and did not find myself being interested in the story being told. Perhaps it I am alone in this point of view, or maybe what I was looking for in the book for my assignment made me overlook what is meant to be enjoyed in the text. But, as for what I have experienced from reading this text, I would not recommend it for 'a good read'.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2004

    Reform of Morals and Manners in the 1920's

    The 1920¿s brought with them a drastic change in the way people acted. It was the general belief that young women acted perfectly. They never drank, smoked, or did anything wrong, for that matter. Some young men could be expected to slip up, and give into the temptations of sex, but that was only with women of low class and disrespected families. Thus, boys and girls had a lot of freedom to be together. Parents just assumed that they wouldn¿t take advantage of the situation. This wasn¿t the case. Young women began to smoke and drink much more. The way women acted wasn¿t the only thing that changed, however. Women were beginning to wear clothing that revealed way too much skin. The skirts, in fact, were now beginning to show kneecaps. Yet another reform was in music and dance. The good ole¿ elegant music of the violin was being replaced by the loud, up-beat saxophone. Kids were now even dancing with their bodies touching each other. For the elders of America, this was too much. Most felt that these kids were morally lost. There were a couple of reasons for this revolution in morals. First, these kids had just gone off and fought a war. They had been through hell in Europe and now came back to America after facing some emotional times. They returned home expecting an exciting life. They just couldn¿t settle down and live by the moral code already laid down. Also, women were growing more and more independent at the time. They had just won women¿s suffrage in 1920, giving them equality to men. Women¿s role of housekeeping was also becoming less important. Another big cause to the moral reform was the automobile. At a time when cars were becoming more and more popular, kids saw a great opportunity for freedom in the automobile. At any time, kids could just jump in and go somewhere without supervision from a parent or chaperone. Kids could drive out to a dance in another town, where they could act more freely, without people they knew all around them. Finally, there was prohibition. The 18th Amendment, passed by 1919, banned any sale of alcohol in the United States. This law, of course, was never followed. Bootleggers and speakeasies were created as safe havens for alcohol. Drinking became thing to do because it was a way to revolt. The change in women¿s dress was another key change in the `20¿s. From 1921 to 1924, the skirt length only shortened by a little bit. Paris, in fact, predicted that skirts would return to longer length, but women just kept on buying the shortest length they could find. By the end of the decade, the knee-length skirt was the regular skirt length. Women began to wear rayon, too. Rayon was a skin-colored stocking that was extremely popular. They were wearing less and less clothing in general. The amount of fabric needed for a woman¿s outfit had shrunk from 19.25 yards to just 7 yards. Clothing wasn¿t the only big change. Women also started to wear their hair shorter, another freedom that they had never experienced before. Barriers between men and women were being broken. Both views of drinking and smoking were changing drastically, too. Women began to widely accept smoking. Before the `20¿s, it was something women didn¿t do. Another such barrier was found in drinking. Men and women were now drinking together. Speakeasies were one popular scene for mixed parties. People would also go out to hotels to drink. Men and women would lie on the beds in their rooms and drink away. During these years of prohibition, alcohol was drunk in more abundance than ever before. With the weakening of morals and the increase in sexual activity among kids, the divorce rate began to rise. In only 8 years, the divorce rate rose by nearly 8 percent. Divorce, in earlier years, was really looked down upon. To get a divorce was a shameful disgrace to you and your family. By the end of the `20¿s, however, it wasn¿t such a bad thing anymore. At the beginning of the decad

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2013

    Anyone who reads this book will be forever interested in that &q

    Anyone who reads this book will be forever interested in that "Roaring" decade.  The concepts are broad but as a result of the chapter arrangements  great detail is presented.  As a result, once one reads "Only Yesterday" those years will remain not in history but current as while reading the newspaper, the repetition of the news will be reflected by the history of what Allen has related. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    Daiblo

    "I belive you. And i shall make my final decision tomarrow night."

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 25, 2012

    X

    Fine keeps walkin

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1