Customer Reviews for

Onward: How Starbucks Fought for Its Life without Losing Its Soul

Average Rating 4
( 114 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

Why you cannot rest on your laurels...

I worked for the company 10 years ago and to this day I still tell people that it was one of the best companies I have EVER worked for. I left before the economy went sour but I continue to be a Starbucks customer to this day. There is a chapter where Howard mentions th...
I worked for the company 10 years ago and to this day I still tell people that it was one of the best companies I have EVER worked for. I left before the economy went sour but I continue to be a Starbucks customer to this day. There is a chapter where Howard mentions that the atmosphere of Starbucks had changed and what they did to turn things around. This should be a lesson to heads of business everywhere. Part of the reason why Starbucks is such a powerful brand is that it constantly monitors how customers and staff react to changes. This book may have limited appeal to people who aren't familiar with Howard Schultz, but it should be very interesting to entrepreneurs and CEOs who find themselves in a rut and could use some inspiration to navigate their business.

posted by TheAurickle on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

What has he really done??

As I'm sure the book paints a wonderful picture and a great story, starbucks needs to go back to the basics of customer service. My wife was recently racially/verbally AND physically assaulted by an employee on duty in uniform AND it was caught on tape and Starbucks did...
As I'm sure the book paints a wonderful picture and a great story, starbucks needs to go back to the basics of customer service. My wife was recently racially/verbally AND physically assaulted by an employee on duty in uniform AND it was caught on tape and Starbucks did absolutely nothing. Not even an apology and we are talking about this having supposedly been run up the ladder. Books/words are one thing. Actions are another. Why not tell how customer service really means nothing to Starbucks and what does matter is the $5 they charge for a $1 cup of coffee. Keep ignoring your employees assaulting your customers and you will soon have to charge $20 a cup to keep the sales up from losing so many customers. No kidding- not even an "im sorry" from the company or employee. You think I believe anything in this book??? Hope its in the fiction section.....thats where it belongs....

posted by DOGYA on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Why you cannot rest on your laurels...

    I worked for the company 10 years ago and to this day I still tell people that it was one of the best companies I have EVER worked for. I left before the economy went sour but I continue to be a Starbucks customer to this day. There is a chapter where Howard mentions that the atmosphere of Starbucks had changed and what they did to turn things around. This should be a lesson to heads of business everywhere. Part of the reason why Starbucks is such a powerful brand is that it constantly monitors how customers and staff react to changes. This book may have limited appeal to people who aren't familiar with Howard Schultz, but it should be very interesting to entrepreneurs and CEOs who find themselves in a rut and could use some inspiration to navigate their business.

    15 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 27, 2011

    Great for Any Business Owner

    I have always said that no one will take care of your creation better than you and Howard Shultz shows it. This is a great read. Very much inspired me to take a completely revitalized look at my own small business.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 19, 2011

    Great book

    For anyone trying to turn a business around.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Righting the ship through stormy economic times

    My only connection to Starbucks has been the Kenyan bulk coffee I'd buy and brew at home. So I was somewhat familiar with the company but by no means am I a hardcore customer. This book was a nice, quick read on how ceo Howard Schultz helped put the venerable coffee brand back on track following the economic meltdown a few years ago.

    Pleasantly devoid of business cliches - the worst was their reference to Starbucks as "the third place" behind only home and office - Schultz does a solid job recounting the initiatives that helped Starbucks right the ship and once again become a growth company.

    The most impressive aspect of the book is the social responsibility impact of their actions, which included holding a massive company meeting in New Orleans following hurricane Katrina, and their fair trade initiatives in Rwanda. It's impossible not to be incredibly impressed when a recently hired "partner" offers to pay it forward and buy a Rwandan farmer a cow for milk. That kick-started a program where Starbucks is providing these cows to farmers in impoverished areas along with training on how to care for the animals.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2013

    Very cool story that shows the passion of the author. Gives the

    Very cool story that shows the passion of the author. Gives the interesting history of how Starbucks became the icon that it is today.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    Good read

    Very interesting and informative

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Entertaining and a handful of business and customer service insi

    Entertaining and a handful of business and customer service insides, highly useful for retail people

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Great book for a manager and someone who wants an insight on Starbucks!

    Really great book, reads quickly and informative. Good insight on the inner workings of Starbucks and what the company stands for. Howard Schultz seems like a great leader and someone that I'd work for. Anyone who wants to become a better leader/manager needs to read this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A Must Read for your Reading list

    This book has a great inside into the Starbucks company. Howard Schultz opened my eyes about the importance of a good business practices and customer service. His input on how a company should come together and focus on the goals was a breath of fresh air.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2011

    Not just about coffee!

    Great book for anyone the loves reading business books. Howard S. passion and belief in Starbucks is inspirational. Makes me feel less guilty about my daily visits to my local Starbucks.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A must read!

    I recently finished reading this amazing book. I have always been a big Starbucks coffee fan and after reading this turnaround story from Howard himself, I have more respect for the company, employees and products. Very inspiring!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 30, 2011

    Coffee and a comeback

    Fascinating read. Great story of a company's turn around. Got me going to Starbucks for my morning coffee.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 20, 2011

    Move Onward

    I have this book and I personally love it. Five stars to move ONWARD!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 3, 2011

    A must read

    Interesting way of writing - shorter chapters, I felt like Mr. Schultz was talking to ME-very impressive and truly worth reading!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Howard is Great!

    I haven't finished reading this yet, but I wanted to make a comment about the review where the reader said the Siren lady was 'shooting herself'. She's not. Those aren't guns in her hands, I'm pretty sure they're her legs. Look up pics of sirens. Starbucks would not put a violent image on a cover of a book. I will further say that I can't wait to see how this book ends. I've worked at Starbucks for four years while going to school and love it. I love Starbucks values. They treat partners and customers extremely well. I was also working at Starbucks when they had to close stores. Lucky for me, my store didn't close. I love how the company reacted. Howard evaluated what the company needed to come back to, Starbucks is always trying to improve and make themselves better. They make drinks, merchandise, and atmosphere personal. Starbucks wants their customers and employees(partners) to be family.... family for years and years to come.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    weird

    i keeping seeing this book everywhere. here, at starbucks. it sounds interesting but it sounds more interesting for older people

    0 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 117 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6