Customer Reviews for

Oogy: The Dog Only a Family Could Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 352 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(216)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Must read

I was there the night Oogy came in. I worked at Ardmore Animal Hospital. I saw the brutality that this poor puppy went through. He has the heart of a warrior and the spirit of an angel. Must read this book, he will touch your heart as he touched mine.

posted by Elizabeth71 on December 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

The Oogy parts are good, but...

I have difficulty recommending this book. I love animal stories, especially when they win after being abused. However, while the Oogy parts of this story were good, it wasn't a story about him. The title should read, "The Levin Family, and oh yeah, we have a dog named O...
I have difficulty recommending this book. I love animal stories, especially when they win after being abused. However, while the Oogy parts of this story were good, it wasn't a story about him. The title should read, "The Levin Family, and oh yeah, we have a dog named Oogy." The family parts were overdone, to the point that I skipped pages. I would have rather read a lot more about Oogy, who is my kind of dog: big, silly, and misunderstood. Also, I have personal issues with owners who rhapsodize about never letting their dog be hurt again and then putting a shock collar on him instead of building a fence. I won't be buying this one for my library.

posted by BeccaN on October 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 354 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    The Oogy parts are good, but...

    I have difficulty recommending this book. I love animal stories, especially when they win after being abused. However, while the Oogy parts of this story were good, it wasn't a story about him. The title should read, "The Levin Family, and oh yeah, we have a dog named Oogy." The family parts were overdone, to the point that I skipped pages. I would have rather read a lot more about Oogy, who is my kind of dog: big, silly, and misunderstood. Also, I have personal issues with owners who rhapsodize about never letting their dog be hurt again and then putting a shock collar on him instead of building a fence. I won't be buying this one for my library.

    26 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 2, 2010

    Must read

    I was there the night Oogy came in. I worked at Ardmore Animal Hospital. I saw the brutality that this poor puppy went through. He has the heart of a warrior and the spirit of an angel. Must read this book, he will touch your heart as he touched mine.

    22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ...

    This book had good writing and very interesting research, but it is not one of those books that you're not able to put down. I learned a lot of information from this book, but i feel like the book was more educational, than it was about the dog's life. When I picked this book out at the store, i expected a heart warming, touching book, but then when i read it, it was more of a text book giving me information about animal societies and dog fights, than a story.

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 1, 2010

    Wonderful

    Love, Loved, Loved this book. I laughed and cried thru the whole book. As a dog lover this book is really special. My own dog sits in my recliner with me as I read and gets very upset when I cry when I . I know the feelings that the author had for Oogey, they love you, tear up things, make unmentionable messes on the floor. One look from those eyes can get forgiven in a heartbeat. Read Ooogey and you to will fall in love.

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Gotta Love Oogy!

    I'm torn on how to rate this book. Oogy's story is gripping, the writing is not.

    Oogy was just a puppy when he was used as bait for fighting dogs. Police rescued him, an amazing veterinarian staff saved his life, and the Levin family eventually adopted him. Larry Levin attempts to piece together Oogy's beginning, as well as tell us the tale of Oogy's life after adoption. However, his writing is sort of a mess, particularly in the first third of the book. At times it reads more like a personal memoir than the story of Oogy.

    Levin's timeline is all over the place and his writing is often dry. For me, there were too many small, unnecessary details (such as the minutiae of cooking breakfast) and not enough of the details that make Oogy's tragic story a heartwarming tale of love and redemption.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Oogy is a True Canine Hero

    As I have long stated, I am a sucker for animal stories. I love animals and hearing any type of tale of animal cruelty will have me crushed for days on end. Very few things in life absolutely confound me and leave me utterly without an answer and viciousness toward pets is one of them.

    So I picked up Oogy with a bit of hesitation. Seeing that endearing, lopsided face on the cover put a lump in my throat before I even read the first sentence. Oogy's eyes are so deep, so intense that he practically dares you to read his story and not fall in love with him.

    I read the story. I fell in love with him. Simple as that.

    Oogy is a touching story, it's an uplifting story and it's a tragic story but at its heart and soul, it's an inspirational story - - not only the tale of a dog that suffered the worst kind of horror imaginable but the adoptive family that pulled together for him and benefitted from his love and unexpected teachings. This is a terrific book for animal lovers and for entire families to read, although smaller children may have a difficult time with the descriptions of Oogy's injuries. In fact, I had to put the book down for a moment and look away while reading about Oogy's sad life before he adopted the Levin family so be forewarned. Author (and Oogy dad) Larry Levin pulls no punches and tells it like it is, a stark and brutal reminder of those animals who are not fortunate to walk away as Oogy did. And yet reading those horrific descriptions made me appreciate Oogy all the more, and find him that much more awe inspiring and tenacious.

    Oogy, in this reader's mind, is a hero, a shining example of the brilliance of the spirit. Not just the human spirit but the living spirit. This dog never gave up. He never gave up on life, he never gave up on people (despite the horrible beginning he had) and he never gave up on love. He held no grudges, no ill will and wanted only to be loved and to give love. Certainly a life lesson for all of us.

    Oogy isn't a long read but prepare for the story to stay with you. Mr. Levin includes various photographs of Oogy with his adoptive family. Oogy is a must read.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Bridget's Review

    I am a HUGE dog-lover. I will never understand how some people can be so cruel to a helpless animal. This book made me cry so hard but it also made me smile. It's amazing how a dog can come into your life and change you just because you took the time to look at them. My dogs are not pets, they are a member of my family. I take care of them and they take care of me. They are my Oogy. If you are an animal lover, you HAVE to read this amazing story.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Recommended to everybody!!

    A beautiful story about a family and their dog. Oogy -the sweatest dog ever- brakes steriotypes and expectations of everybody! This book might make you chage your mind about dogs if you aren't a dog person.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Awesoe

    It's a lovely heartwarming book. Very well written.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    3.75 Stars.

    After a very slow first chapter, I really enjoyed this heartfelt homage to Oogy, a treasured family pet. Oogy was one of the thousands of dogs used for baiting in dog fighting. The author truly has felt a true love for the Oogy and I always wonder why many are unable to understand why certain people are drawn to pets who are injured, sick, or debilitated. I think these people empathize with these animals and wonder, "Would anyone be there for me if I were maimed or sick?" This book portrays what many of these pets have to offer in return for the human's help.

    Perhaps the most eye-opening part of this book was the realization that dog fighters look for "Dog free to good home" type of advertisements in order to add victims to their fight dog training. In today's economy, many people are forced to relinquish their beloved pets and I see so many of these ads. I wonder how many of these pets were adopted by dog fighters to be torn apart in training? If anything, hopefully this book will educate the public to try to relinquish their pets to valid rescue operations if at all possible.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 18, 2011

    Good read

    Its a bit slow in the beginning. In the morning the author explains too much about what he was doing. Very tedious but other than that, it was so touching and I can't wait to read another book like this!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    MORE ABOUT HIM AND HIS BOYS

    I WAS LOOKING MORE FOR A STORY ABOUT A DOG THIS IS MORE ABOUT THE AUTHOR AND HIS SONS, AND HIM PATTING HIMSELF ON THE BACK.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 14, 2010

    Touching

    This was the most heart warming book I have read about the relationship between a dog and his owner. This was a wonderful journey to take with them and I thank Larry for sharing this very special story with his readers.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Oogy

    The latter part of the story is much better than the beginning. I have loved it. Oogy is a dog, who at two months old, was used as "bait" for fighting dogs. The "bait" that these owners use can be anything, cats, small animals of all sorts, including this pup. White he was being attacked by these two fighting dogs, they literally ripped half his face off. For whatever reason, the dogs stop viciously attacking. It has been estimated, because of the decay that his face sustained, that he was left for dead for 7-10 days before a kind hearted policeman came, and took him to a pet-hospital who's intentions are to always try to save before putting an animal to sleep. After many facial surgeries, this dog, formally known as Eli, survives. His looks are that of a pit bull, which makes many people automatically assume that he is a "bad" dog. Oogy's heart however, is pure gold. When Kevin makes his way to a vet clinic one day to have his cat put to sleep, he meets "Eli" and the connection is immediate. This story is about the remarkable comeback that Oogy makes from his 2 month old incident, how he overcame that obstacle, and how he won the hearts of everyone that came in contact with him. While the story started out with such heartache, is ended with pure joy. A must read for anyone who has a tender heart for animals, especially those who have been neglected or abused.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Moving Story About Triumphing

    This book grabbed my heart long before I ever read it with the amazing picture of Oogy on the cover and with the very moving trailer online (below). When I finally got my hands on this book, it did not disappoint in any way. It is, in fact, just as moving as all the good press lead me to believe.

    The story behind Oogy's mistreatment and subsequent welcome into the Levin household is one that will instantly grab anyone's heart. The idea that a dog could survive such treatment and not only survive but thrive is a message that resonates with all people - we are all survivors of something in some way. It's amazing to see a mere animal that can be an example for weathering life's trials and still having a great, productive life.

    One of the most moving things about this book is the way the theme of adoption is treated. The story of how Levin's children were adopted and his thoughts about being a father greatly strengthen the positive and inspirational message. Their household is one that is all about inviting and giving second chances and being successful in life.

    This book is for all ages, really. Children old enough to understand, teens, adults - everyone has the potential to fall in love with Oogy. I will be placing it in my classroom library so that my middle-schoolers can enjoy the story.

    A small (but, to me, very important) side note: Oogy does not die at the end of this book!

    This book was provided by the publisher for a fair review. I was not required to write a positive review.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2013

    Oogy!

    This book is so wonderful but i wouldn't reccomend it for younger children.keep a box of tissues near by and sit close to your own dog because you may know why they nibble feet,and alot about dog fighting and the most touching story, PLEASE READ!!!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Oogy

    What an inspiring and feel good story!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Awesome book, highly recommend

    I really love this book. Its hard for me to review without giving it away. It totally touches your heart throughout. I read this book while in the process of adopting my first bully puppy.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2013

    Cute book

    This is a very toutching story so cute LOVE IT!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    I wasn't sure if I wanted to read this, but am glad I did. It didn't go into too much of the horrifying details of the cruelty that this dog went through, but enough to let you know how cruel and stupid people are, and can be when it comes to dog fighting. Or of any abuse. It had a great ending for Oogie and his family that took him in. It was a well written book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 354 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 18