Customer Reviews for

Oogy: The Dog Only a Family Could Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 353 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(217)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Must read

I was there the night Oogy came in. I worked at Ardmore Animal Hospital. I saw the brutality that this poor puppy went through. He has the heart of a warrior and the spirit of an angel. Must read this book, he will touch your heart as he touched mine.

posted by Elizabeth71 on December 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

The Oogy parts are good, but...

I have difficulty recommending this book. I love animal stories, especially when they win after being abused. However, while the Oogy parts of this story were good, it wasn't a story about him. The title should read, "The Levin Family, and oh yeah, we have a dog named O...
I have difficulty recommending this book. I love animal stories, especially when they win after being abused. However, while the Oogy parts of this story were good, it wasn't a story about him. The title should read, "The Levin Family, and oh yeah, we have a dog named Oogy." The family parts were overdone, to the point that I skipped pages. I would have rather read a lot more about Oogy, who is my kind of dog: big, silly, and misunderstood. Also, I have personal issues with owners who rhapsodize about never letting their dog be hurt again and then putting a shock collar on him instead of building a fence. I won't be buying this one for my library.

posted by BeccaN on October 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    The Oogy parts are good, but...

    I have difficulty recommending this book. I love animal stories, especially when they win after being abused. However, while the Oogy parts of this story were good, it wasn't a story about him. The title should read, "The Levin Family, and oh yeah, we have a dog named Oogy." The family parts were overdone, to the point that I skipped pages. I would have rather read a lot more about Oogy, who is my kind of dog: big, silly, and misunderstood. Also, I have personal issues with owners who rhapsodize about never letting their dog be hurt again and then putting a shock collar on him instead of building a fence. I won't be buying this one for my library.

    26 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    ...

    This book had good writing and very interesting research, but it is not one of those books that you're not able to put down. I learned a lot of information from this book, but i feel like the book was more educational, than it was about the dog's life. When I picked this book out at the store, i expected a heart warming, touching book, but then when i read it, it was more of a text book giving me information about animal societies and dog fights, than a story.

    19 out of 22 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 4, 2011

    MORE ABOUT HIM AND HIS BOYS

    I WAS LOOKING MORE FOR A STORY ABOUT A DOG THIS IS MORE ABOUT THE AUTHOR AND HIS SONS, AND HIM PATTING HIMSELF ON THE BACK.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    not one of my favorites...

    I was looking forward to reading this book, but was greatly disappointed. Being a huge animal lover, and one who has worked in the profession, I was slightly annoyed by the author. I am very happy this dog is with someone who is obviously willing to do whatever it takes to keep the dog alive and physically healthy, but the dog obviously suffered/suffers from terrible anxiety and frustration. As a animal professional that is what I was picking up from some of the events the author described in his book. Levin seems to avoid or give up on situations that cause Oogy anxiety rather than try to help the dog overcome the anxiety by having him push through it in a positive way. This can build self esteem and confidence in a dog. Most of this story was about him and his family, not so much Oogy. I didn't need to read detailed descriptions about Levins morning routine... how he makes breakfast... and even how he dresses in the morning. Throughout the book I just felt like the author was trying to tell the world how great he is and patting himself on the back. This book is not so much about Oogy as it is about how heroic Mr. Levin is. I wanted to hear Oogy's story.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 17, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Not what it seems...

    I purchased this book because I love animals, and the story seemed like it would be happy and inspirational. However, a lot of writing was wasted just on the author's family. The book just wasn't what I had expected. Also, the first few pages are so agonizing because he lists every single thing he does in the morning, from turning on the coffee maker to the stove. So much could have just been left out. I've never read such a tedious book. If you want to read this, I suggest picking it up at your library rather than buying it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 2 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1