Customer Reviews for

Oogy: The Dog Only a Family Could Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 353 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(217)

4 Star

(74)

3 Star

(31)

2 Star

(19)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Must read

I was there the night Oogy came in. I worked at Ardmore Animal Hospital. I saw the brutality that this poor puppy went through. He has the heart of a warrior and the spirit of an angel. Must read this book, he will touch your heart as he touched mine.

posted by Elizabeth71 on December 2, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

26 out of 33 people found this review helpful.

The Oogy parts are good, but...

I have difficulty recommending this book. I love animal stories, especially when they win after being abused. However, while the Oogy parts of this story were good, it wasn't a story about him. The title should read, "The Levin Family, and oh yeah, we have a dog named O...
I have difficulty recommending this book. I love animal stories, especially when they win after being abused. However, while the Oogy parts of this story were good, it wasn't a story about him. The title should read, "The Levin Family, and oh yeah, we have a dog named Oogy." The family parts were overdone, to the point that I skipped pages. I would have rather read a lot more about Oogy, who is my kind of dog: big, silly, and misunderstood. Also, I have personal issues with owners who rhapsodize about never letting their dog be hurt again and then putting a shock collar on him instead of building a fence. I won't be buying this one for my library.

posted by BeccaN on October 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 17, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Gotta Love Oogy!

    I'm torn on how to rate this book. Oogy's story is gripping, the writing is not.

    Oogy was just a puppy when he was used as bait for fighting dogs. Police rescued him, an amazing veterinarian staff saved his life, and the Levin family eventually adopted him. Larry Levin attempts to piece together Oogy's beginning, as well as tell us the tale of Oogy's life after adoption. However, his writing is sort of a mess, particularly in the first third of the book. At times it reads more like a personal memoir than the story of Oogy.

    Levin's timeline is all over the place and his writing is often dry. For me, there were too many small, unnecessary details (such as the minutiae of cooking breakfast) and not enough of the details that make Oogy's tragic story a heartwarming tale of love and redemption.

    12 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 5, 2012

    What. WHAT?

    What is the story really about ? A dogs life or what things the owners do with the dog? I haven't read this book because I don' t know if I will like it. I put 3 stars because I didn't know how well I was going to like it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    A good read but not the best

    I agree that this book spent as much if not more time discussing the author and his family than Oogy. While some of this is necessary, I would have liked more to hear more about Oogy and stories that involved him. It was a good read but not one that I absolutely could not put down. I'm glad I read it but there are better books about inspirational dogs and their relationships with their owners out there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    Not a really good read

    For the $$ this book was pretty short..132 pages. While some background (kids, wife, family) is necessary..this book went to far. I found myself speed reading to get to more writing about the dog. This is the 2nd book I recently purchased that wasn't worth the $$. Soooo Caviat Emptor (sure hope that's spelled right!!)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2011

    pretty good!

    "Oogy" is a great story is about a family of four (the levin family) and how they rescued a dog that suffered being bait at dog fights when he was only a puppy. The family met Oogy at the vet when they were putting their old cat down and the minute Oogy ran up to them, they fell in love even though he was missing an ear and was covered in scar tissue. Oogy was found by a police officer after being beat up at a dog fight. vets saved Oogy and his life was turned around by the Levins. A major theme of this story is that everyone and everything can have a second chance at life and a very bad life can be completely turned around. Another message of this story is that animal fighting is cruel and should be stopped. No animal deserves to be put in situations like that. i liked this story because it was touching and I love stories with happy endings. I also love animals. I didn't like this story because i feel like the story was more about the Leving family and the writter went on and on about boring and useless details about the family. I learned more about them than the dog. you should read this book if you love animals and hearing about their happy endings. you should not read this book if you get annoyed easily by corny authors, or if you don't care of reading about a dog. My overall rating of this story is three stars because it was pretty good, but really boring at the same time.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 26, 2011

    Cute

    Kind of slow in the way it's written but otherwise very sweet.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 14, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 20, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 15, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 31 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2