Customer Reviews for

Opal (Lux Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 340 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(277)

4 Star

(41)

3 Star

(16)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

42 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Better than the corner piece of birthday cake!

When you slice up a birthday cake you usually scrape the knife off between each slice otherwise the pieces look messy and unappetizing when you serve it. By the time you're finished there's a pile of leftover frosting and cake bits on the plate that a lot of people thro...
When you slice up a birthday cake you usually scrape the knife off between each slice otherwise the pieces look messy and unappetizing when you serve it. By the time you're finished there's a pile of leftover frosting and cake bits on the plate that a lot of people throw away, but not me. That happens to be my favorite part of the cake, right behind the corner piece, you know, the one will all the frosting? If you're wondering what any of this has to do with Opal, just hold your Luxen, I'm getting there. *winks* I was so.very.excited to read this, I mean, it is Daemon Black we're talking about but you add Dawson to the mix and it's like scoring the corner piece of birthday cake AND getting to lick the plate it was served on. (Now I want cake.) I thoroughly enjoy Jennifer's writing style and she has a way of giving readers what they want, maybe not at the exact moment they want it, but just when we need it. Opal picks up where Onyx leaves off and while it didn't move as quickly as the previous books that was totally OK because it lent some much needed time for adjusting to life with Dawson, healing, preparation for the fight ahead, and of course, kissing. These characters learn hard lessons about love, loss and exactly what it means to "keep your friends close, and your enemies closer." Dawson rarely speaks but it's painfully obvious he's racked with guilt and wants nothing more than to get Beth back. *hugs Dawson* Dee is harboring anger and hurt over Adam as well feeling betrayed by Katy and Daemon and her inability to be in the same room with Katy, let alone "friends" is hard for everyone. Daemon is torn between his feelings for Katy and his need to protect both she and Dawson and there are some truly heartbreaking moments for him. *clutches Daemon* Katy struggles with the changes that have happened to her over the past few months and the guilt she feels about being responsible for it all. She even begins to question her own humanity but Daemon does a great job of supporting and encouraging her. Now, if he would just say those three little words, you know, in English. *shakes him* Their scenes are definitely steamier than before *fans face* but as always, Jennifer keeps it classy. Everything builds up to this ending and while I had an idea of what would happen (there are a few clues scattered about) and I knew we wouldn't get another "calm" ending like with Onyx, I still...well, let's just say the Source really hit the fan and left me feeling all the feels. I can't wait to see how this all ends! Btw, If you don't fall in love with Daemon by the end of this book then I think it's safe to assume, you're either an Arum or a Zombie. And yes Dee, I know what happens when you "assume" things. ;D

posted by Cupcakegirly on December 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Why cant i get the nook book!!

Why cant i get the nook book!!

posted by MyBFismynook on December 7, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 340 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17
  • Posted October 16, 2014

               

               

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2014

    CANDY TO LYDIA

    Ive always wondered how you could hyperventalate

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Finally, they're together!

    This is the novel when Katy and Daemon’s relationship really heats up and betrayals and some answers come to the surface. Finally. I was waiting for it and waiting for it and waiting for it! It doesn’t disappoint! JLArmentrout is amazing at the heat between these two and yet she also masterfully keeps from from jumping in the sack, without immediately saying “I’m not ready, let’s wait and hold hands” etc. It was masterfully done and I honestly don’t have anything to complain about there. Again, 5 stars!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Candylover

    Good night

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2014

    Lydia

    Talking to a friend about what guns ive shot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2014

    Ashley

    Lol

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2014

    Hi im bob im gay

    I want gay sexs

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2014

    Manson

    Oooh cool

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 31, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    5 stars -I didn't think I could love Daemon more but I do. I me

    5 stars -I didn't think I could love Daemon more but I do.

    I met this boy in Obsidian whose mouth was always getting him in trouble. I fell in love with him because I could see that he was really protecting the people he loved by being such an ass AND he was an ass in Obsidian. But by the end of Obsidian, Katy had become one of the people he loved (though he wasn't admitting it) and I was happy. Next, I found him in Onyx. A changed boy in that he allowed Katy to see more of the real sweet guy that he could be, when he wanted to be. I loved him because he didn't give up on Katy when she made the stupid mistake of trusting Blake. He proved to her that there was more to them then that alien connection. His feeling were clear to me, thought he still wasn't admitting he loved her. His reaction to her captivity by Will was all the proof I needed and had me in a puddle at his feet. I love Daemon Black. As big an ass as he is capable of being, he is also protective, sweet, determined, powerful, and sexy as hell. I didn't think I could love him more.

    Opal proved me wrong. I love so much that this book has so much together time for Daemon and Katy. Most series books feel the need to keep the mains at risk of losing each other through every book and the fun together time only lasts for a brief time near the end. BUT, Opal doesn't do that. The risks are truly not between Katy and Daemon and I so enjoyed the time they spent together.

    Of course, the plot thickens and the risks are EVERYWHERE. I was guessing wrong left and right. I will also admit to worrying too much about the ending as I read. I was wrong about it so don't even try to figure it out.

    Daemon Black makes this book, this series all that it is, which is totally out of this world good. (um...pun intended there) He truly is a sexy alien that just makes it worth the suffering. I cannot wait to read Origin, book 4 in the Lux series. I cannot wait to read Obsession, the adult spin off of this series. Really, I cannot wait to read anything that JLA writes because she is STILL my favorite author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    Because I can¿t discuss anything that goes on in this book witho

    Because I can’t discuss anything that goes on in this book without giving major spoilers (and who wants that) this review will be comprised of my feelings. And boy did I have a lot of them.

    Let me start with Katy. I love this chick, but my God she drives me insane! Katy goes full emo on us and prattles on how everything is her fault because she just didn’t listen in the first two books. But then SHE CONTINUES TO NOT LISTEN! Katy realizes she’s a liability, but apparently that isn’t enough to make her listen to anyone and make a smart decision.

    Daemon was still amazing balls. I just love him. First he’s able to put with Katy and still loves her even when she makes stupid decisions and doesn’t listen. That right there earns him book boyfriend points. Second, he’s still that same protective and sweet Daemon I’ve grown to love over the course of this series.

    I found Opal to be the darkest of the series so far. I don’t mean my normal idea of dark, it was just sad and took on more serious topics. They are really getting into the meat of the whole situation the series is about. Basically everything is going to hell. Understandably because of the whole hell in a hand-basket thing there is less humor in this installment, which I missed a bit but the story is so intense I didn’t notice it until the end.

    I was so sad about the changes that happened with Dee. Dee was one of my favorite characters in this series, right after Daemon. I tried to sympathize with her and what she’s going through, but her inability to take responsibility for the part she played in the whole mess was upsetting. I hope Dee can get her stuff together in future books, I want her back.

    Opal is a bit slower than the first two in the series, but man there were some great wth moments? Some of them I even saw coming, but they still hit me hard when they were revealed. I miss the cute banter between Daemon and Katy, but I’m just so glad they are finally together.

    The ending was a cluster… a horribly-wonderful cluster. Holy heck, that wasn’t just a cliffhanger, that was the cliffy to end all cliffies. I’m quite sure Jennifer L. Armentrout is the devil with the way she delivers the end of a book. I cannot wait to get started on the 4th, Origin, but I’m forcing myself to wait till we’re closer to book five, Opposition’s release. Remember how I was going to read one of these books a week until the release, yeah that didn’t happen. But really I win because now I’ll get to read the entire series again in August.

    If you haven’t read the Lux series yet, GET ON IT! This is a must read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2014

    The Wilderness

    You were sunning yourself on a rock. You are extremely bored. A lizard succuries by you. You look at it. Then unfourtantely you mom calls you. Do you: <p> &starf Choose to chase the lizard, go to next res. <p> &starf If you choose to awnserer your mother, go to calling res one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 1, 2014

    The third book in the Lux series is every bit as delicious as th

    The third book in the Lux series is every bit as delicious as the first two. Katy deals with soul-crushing guilt because of what happened at the end of Onyx and she’ll do anything to try to make things right. Because of that, she’s willing to take risks she might not have before. I love that all of the characters grow and develop through the series and are profoundly affected by the choices they make. This is the darkest book in the series so far, but in a deep way.

    Plot
    Once again, JLA delivers a solid plot that keeps you on the edge of your seat, or bed, or wherever it is you read. The story starts off strong and only builds from there. New, interesting characters are introduced that bring all sorts of possibilities into play and take us places we never dreamed. The return of some of the characters we love to hate the most make Opal an exhilarating ride that is over far too soon.

    Characters
    The characters develop and grow and that makes them infinitely more interesting. They might not have had strong backstories coming into the series, but the things that Armentrout puts her characters through creates tortured souls that become far more intriguing as a result. They now have the depth that was lacking in the earlier books, but remain characters we like and root for.

    Bottom Line
    Another great book in the Lux series that doesn’t just bridge the divide until the next one, but is a fantastic read in its own right.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2014

    Warning: slight spoilers ahead for Obsidian, Onyx and Opal (Lux

    Warning: slight spoilers ahead for Obsidian, Onyx and Opal (Lux #1, #2 and #3)

    Since I've finished Onyx, the second book in the Lux series, it took a while for me to start the third book. It was not like I expected it to be, and that's what made me curious about what this one had to offer. Everything was left on a rather hectic point in the story. This one, however, was so much better! Though I did have little issues, Opal surprised me in a very good way.

    The romance has to be one of the best things out of the entire book. The relationship between Katy and Daemon first started off in a unusual way, you can't not admit that. Yet with each book you feel their connection growing, and it has reached perfection. They're finally accepted their love for each other and their passion is there.Their dates and sweet moments are to die for, everyone wants a relationship like that. At least, I do. Oh, I just loved how their relationship developed and all their sweet moments. They're both so caring for each other. The romance showed Daemon's soft side, and I loved it. I love it. I absolutely love it.

    What I also loved about Onyx was what it did to the characters. Some disappear for a while, as others come back as a whole new addition to the story. This definitely made the plot very interesting. I loved how the book built up to their big mission. It was something that kept me excited and at the edge of my chair, especially when I got closer to the end. I loved how their first attempt falls apart, and even the second one. It proves in what of a situation they're actually in. It's dangerous and full of suspense and mystery. However, talking about their big mission, I feel like something was off about that story line. One moment they're there to fix everything, and a few chapters later they're training again. The training and first try in general fell flat and were a little bit too easy too look over. I can't put my finger on it, I just, I feel like there's something missing with that story line. Talking about other crucial parts of the plot, I don't think there's anything that feels less well done. There's a really good balance between deeper scenes and other, more light-hearted ones. This book always had an amount of suspense, and I loved that.

    Despite what everyone else thought, I didn't feel like I was missing pages at the end. I don't have mixed feelings, because I thought it was so well done. It left on a perfect climax that doesn't make it impossible to not start Origin, the fourth book in the series, although she left it at a pretty difficult situation. It feels like I can jump right into it, without having that stupid pressure after a book with a cliffhanger. That is something I loved about this book. It opened up a whole new plot for the next book, and I can't wait what Armentrout has in store for her readers. Right now I'm in need to start typing like a crazy fangirl, but I'm just going to keep those feelings to myself and say that the ending was just heart-pounding and crazy. Be warned.

    Another issue that was noticeable while reading, was the pace. It has always been a little issue I had with this series, and after Onyx I must admit: I was scared for this in Opal. It seems like a pattern throughout the series: first the book starts off at a rather slow pace, but as it progresses it gets better and better until the end where it crushes your heart. This was the case with the previous two, and I'm kind of sad to admit that it was the same with this book. The only difference here was that the pace built up to the so-called climax, to completely fall and to start slow once again. It has always bothered me, and right now I'm crossing my fingers in the hope of a difference with Origin.

    There are quite a few new characters introduced in this book. An as I said earlier, every character brought along a story line. Looking at the overall crew of new characters, I like them all. They're all unique and have something to add to the story. I'm really looking forward to seeing more of them in the future. The changes in the regular cast, however, are palpable. While Daemon was the most likeable character in Opal, Katy managed to annoy me at times. I'm not all too crazy for her new I don't care, I love it-attitude, because it brings along recklessness, and look at where she is now.
     I adored a certain death, but was sad about others. With others, I just mean the relationship between Katy and Dee. What happened? I really don't like where this is heading. I didn't like it because the sweet moments between the two just weren't there. At times I was in need of one of their moments, and instead I got a fight with arguments that made no sense. I don't understand why Dee is acting like this. Sure, blame it all on the grieving process, but I needed that girl.

    Opal was definitely a surprise for me in a really good way. Although my stupid little issues, I did love where it ended, I certainly loved the romance. and I can't wait to pick up the sequel!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Loved it!

    From the moment I began the series I was hooked!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    Great read!

    Great book, couldn't put it down!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    Great book a must read!

    This book series is great! If you love romantic thrilling books then this one has to be my top pick! Ever since the beginning of this series I have fell in love with the characters and i'm very sure everyone who has read this book will agree. With the love between Katy and Daemon and the adventure they go through this is a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    H

    H

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    I couldn't get into this one, but the author is a really good wr

    I couldn't get into this one, but the author is a really good writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2013

    Amazing

    This book is perfect and rhe ending made me crave more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    fantastic and swoon worthy addition to the series...

    **As with all my reviews on books of a series, please do not read if you have yet to read the books before it.**

    I was so happy when OPAL made its way to the library for me to pick up and partake in. I was so excited to start it and see what mess Katy and Daemon find themselves in this time. But I was reminded once I started what went down in ONYX. Wow! How could I forget? I am so lame that I forgot we lost Adam. And Dee is most likely never going to forgive Katy for keeping her out of the loop. But as the story goes on, the group finds themselves in a bigger mess. How can it get bigger? Trust me, it can...and it does.

    I was very, very happy with the romance in this one. Thankfully Daemon is not quite the cocky turd head he has been in the past. (After reading book one, OBSIDIAN, I was contemplating not moving on to ONYX. But I am so glad I did.) He is definitely more swoonier and showing his feelings for Katy.

    Mind was blown with the ending. So not what I was expecting. I really thought that it would end differently. But am I upset? Heck no! I immediately started on my *cough* signed *cough* copy of ORIGIN. I had to know what the flip was going to happen. And I must say...I love when a guy in a story absolutely loses it over his girl. Actions definitely speak louder than words. I know it did for Daemon.

    Again, probably preaching to the Daemon Invasion Choir here...but this is a must read series. Love it and cannot get enough of it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 340 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 17