Customer Reviews for

Open House: A Novel

Average Rating 4
( 120 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(61)

4 Star

(21)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Wasn't sure at first, but then I couldn't put it down

At first it seemed like another book about a woman scorned but, I was pleasantly surprised to watch how she manages to find strength and pull herself out of the mess, and finally realizing who SHE was without her husband. Women really are the strongest of creation.

posted by musiqkid on October 2, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Waste of Time

I bought this book only because it was on the Oprah list and most of her suggestions are good. But this book was boring and I didn't feel anything for any of the characters. Shallow writing and the author repeated lines too often and you just didn't 'care' about any of ...
I bought this book only because it was on the Oprah list and most of her suggestions are good. But this book was boring and I didn't feel anything for any of the characters. Shallow writing and the author repeated lines too often and you just didn't 'care' about any of the characters. Stupid little novel!

posted by Anonymous on December 8, 2000

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted October 2, 2011

    Wasn't sure at first, but then I couldn't put it down

    At first it seemed like another book about a woman scorned but, I was pleasantly surprised to watch how she manages to find strength and pull herself out of the mess, and finally realizing who SHE was without her husband. Women really are the strongest of creation.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 16, 2011

    Couldn't Put This One Down!

    Great read! For some reason, the story line hit home --- and I was drawn in from beginning to end.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    Great!

    Love ELizabeth Berg! I've read Home Safe and now Open House and look forward to reading more of hers. When I pick up one of her books, I find it hard to set it down until I've finished it! ENJOY!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 23, 2009

    So Easy To Relate To!

    For any woman having a second chance at 'life'...very true painting of a marriage that fails, why it does so, how the children fare, the financial crises involved, old friends and new friends, and last, but not least the soul searching and emotions that are felt. I listened to this book on CD and enjoyed it so much, I listened a second time! I could totally relate.

    Highly recommended! I will read other books by this author in the future!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2000

    Waste of Time

    I bought this book only because it was on the Oprah list and most of her suggestions are good. But this book was boring and I didn't feel anything for any of the characters. Shallow writing and the author repeated lines too often and you just didn't 'care' about any of the characters. Stupid little novel!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 14, 2013

    Terrible .  Poor writing, poor character and plot development.  

    Terrible .  Poor writing, poor character and plot development.   Kept hoping it would get better; sadly, it only got worse.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2012

    Marni

    Hello :)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Highly recommended

    I looked this book. My first Elizabeth Berg and I now have ordered 3 more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2012

    Quick read

    Liked it, but wanted more. Ends too abruptly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2011

    Liked it, didn't love it

    I sort of have mixed emotions about this book. It was definitely entertaining and kept you interested but although the emotions were genuine, the situations and characters came off as contrite. David, the typical jerk of an ex, King, the perfect man who was too perfect to be realistic, Rita, the brassy, brutally honest friend. I liked Sam and identified with her as a chatacter but so many things in this book just didn't ring true for me. I thought the roommates would play more of a central role but they were somewhat incidental to the plot. Read if you're looking for an entertaining, quick read but not if you're looking for something different with complex character studies...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Enjoyable read

    This is a great book when one is just in the mood for a good read. It examines present day issues, is so hilarious at times that I laughed out loud, and is serious and sweet. I enjoyed this one and will likely read it again someday. a real "chick" story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2009

    Open House

    Good characters, but I have heard that kind of story before...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    Really sweet

    Never been there but seems to capture the feeling experience of divorce and starting a new life. The love story aspect of the book was truly charming and made me smile and wish for the same. Beautifully written book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    LOVE

    This book is for all women to read. It's sad and uplifting!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Fell in Love with Characters

    Beautifully written, modern characters you can relate you & the winding path of a single Mom.
    Love all the characters & the true story of how we can all build a family & start over.
    Terrific Book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 21, 2007

    The best book ever!

    The best all-time book I have ever read. Every character is great, real-life people I can relate to in my own circle of friends! The insight...outstanding! I laugh and become sad whenever I read this book. I finally bought my own copy and re-read it often...it's the only book I have ever done that with. I would suggest this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2007

    Waste of my time

    This finally made me decide not to read Elizabth Berg anymore, or at least not for quite some time. Her books are either amazing or a waste of time. Unfortunately this one was a waste of time for me. I never once cared anything about this character or anything that she did. I felt she didn't even really care that her marriage fell apart and just kind of cruised along. I listened to the audio of this and it could have been the narrator's interpretation but still....complete waste of my time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 12, 2005

    Great Book

    I absolutely LOVED this book. It made me laugh and it also made me cry. Elizabeth Berg is a whiz when it comes to writing. I recommend all of her books, she is truly a genius at writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2005

    Best read in ages!!!

    Berg's characters are human - funny, bewildered, getting by - and true to life. For the first time in ages I've read a book good enough to recommend. I laughed out loud, teared up, and flushed with remebered shame. Not your everyday divorce story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2004

    It's a keeper

    Great book. I read it around the same time I went through my divorce and scoffed at myself for just throwing my ex's clothes outside when Sam has the ingenuity to sew her dearly departed's socks and underwear flaps shut. You just have to admire a woman who does that. Sam is a gal you would love to have for a best friend. She has spirit, charactor and personality in spades. She takes what begins as an excruciatingly painful change in her life and learns to live better for it. She brings interesting new people into her life and embraces loyal old friends again and gives you a lot of laughs in the process.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 120 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6