Customer Reviews for

Open Minds: (Book One of the Mindjack Trilogy)

Average Rating 4.5
( 142 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(77)

4 Star

(46)

3 Star

(18)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

Told from Kira Moore's first-person perspective, Open Minds has

Told from Kira Moore's first-person perspective, Open Minds has a strong voice that puts the reader right into the mind of a young girl tackling complex problems, while the futuristic setting Susan Kaye Quinn creates seems like it could be just around the corner.

...
Told from Kira Moore's first-person perspective, Open Minds has a strong voice that puts the reader right into the mind of a young girl tackling complex problems, while the futuristic setting Susan Kaye Quinn creates seems like it could be just around the corner.

Sixteen year-old Kira Moore hasn't changed like the rest of the kids; she isn't telepathic, and her mind is closed to the "readers" of the world...which is everyone else. She's an outcast, a "zero," and her few friends have abandoned her. If you can't be "read," then you can lie, and if you can lie, then how can you be trusted? Cut off from normal relationships, Kira exists in a world where the fluid sharing of emotions is an ecstasy, and the lack thereof is an agony. Tortured by her outcast status and denied the ordinary things that most kids take for granted, invisibility is her best defense.

But when Rafael - soccer star, school heartthrob, and her best friend since childhood - makes a move on Kira, it's the catalyst for a psychic change and she quickly discovers that she's not just a "zero."

When shady Simon Zagan enters the fold and begins to teach Kira what she can really do, life starts to change and Kira is finally accepted by her classmates. She is soon swept into a dangerous world of political criminals, corrupt government officials, and a dark conspiracy with global ramifications.

She's not a "zero." She's something worse.

Open Minds is addictive, and I had trouble putting it down, even though it's one of those reads that might not appeal to many grown men. I mean, it's about a teenage girl tackling all the normal problems that a teenage girl has, like dating and who to kiss. Not usually my cup of tea! But it also has some great sci-fi dynamics that really carry the book, especially around the ability to lie, invade peoples' minds, change memories, and influence dreams. As Kira begins to crave being a "zero" again, the adventure grows darker and she's swept out of a life she believed couldn't get much worse. Other authors often rely on violence or subversive elements, but Quinn successfully navigates the darker elements of her story without becoming gory or explicit, making Open Minds a great read for pre-teens and Young Adults. And it obviously appeals to thirty-something year-old men as well!

I'm looking forward to reading the sequel because simply put, Quinn has hit a home run!

~Vlad Vaslyn ~ Author of Brachman's Underworld ~

posted by VladVaslyn on July 3, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

10 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

I just finished the trilogy and wish to give 2.5 for average, bu

I just finished the trilogy and wish to give 2.5 for average, but that isnt possible. This is a coming of age story from a teen girls perspective mote than anything else. The mind jacking and reading are not well explored, though inter and intrapersonal drama are entert...
I just finished the trilogy and wish to give 2.5 for average, but that isnt possible. This is a coming of age story from a teen girls perspective mote than anything else. The mind jacking and reading are not well explored, though inter and intrapersonal drama are entertaining. The first and thrird book are best. I wish the author had spent a bit more time developing a background for the jacking and reading as this would have justified the inclusion of these stories as science fiction. As is stands, I would call it a coming of age drama with a tiny bit of scifi. It saddens me that somone that apparently earned sciece degrees could not remember freshman biology and physiology. Kira's ability to turn her muscles into fast twich function by thought alone was a complete misreading of the science and bothersome to those who know. One would think one of her editors would catch shuch glaring errors. With that said, just a tiny bit more of a biological and neurological basis for mindjacking and reading would have been both very easily accomplished and made the story more believable and enjoyable to read. Do not read these books if you are looking for anything more than emotional teenage girl drama, because it just isnt there. As for my overall rating as 2.5, pleas know that it amuses me that nearly every review at this site is excelent or above average. I save 4 and 5 star reviews for those that rise above the average novel and this series, while good, is just average. I hope other reviewers start rating similarly, or some can explain to me why the average review places the average book up there with those ofnthe masters.

posted by ssl829 on January 6, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    AWESOME!

    Unique concept that captivates you from the beginning and keeps you enthralled throughout! I'm usually not a fan of dystopian novels, but this one i thoroughly enjoyed =)

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 4, 2012

    Great novel - I highly recommend it!

    Open Minds is a novel on a whole new frequency of brainwave functionality. It entertains new possibilities of thought. Of secrets and governmental cover ups. It's intense and exciting. And it will keep you glued to the edge of your seat.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    This is a great story that has a heroine who doesn't make you wa

    This is a great story that has a heroine who doesn't make you want to shake some sense into her. It was a well thought out story that didn't lead you in all the predictable places.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 26, 2012

    Oh my God! What a fantastic story! The author had me clinging to

    Oh my God! What a fantastic story!
    The author had me clinging to the edge of my seat though out the entire book. From the beginng to the end I never knew what would happen to Kira Morre and the other characters next. This was a wonderful read. I am so glad that I was given the opportunity to review this book by the author. I sincerely urge readers of all ages to give this book a try. You will not be disappointed. I will give you a warning though; have a box of tissues nearby! The only thing that I am not happy about is that I have to wait for the next installment to come out before I can find out what happens next. If it were possible I would give this book six stars, but since I can't I will gladly give it five out of five.
    Jessica

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    a must read

    great book

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    Susan plunges readers into a compelling and frightening world where nearly everyone can read minds when they come of age. The very idea makes me shudder. This is easily one of the best books I've read not only this year, but in recent years. I loved it and highly recommend it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 18, 2015

    more from this reviewer

    The best dystopias are often based on one simple premise that ch

    The best dystopias are often based on one simple premise that changes reality. In Susan Kaye Quinn’s Mindjack series, the premise is that people can read minds. The first mind-readers were locked away of course, since their presence would cause havoc with modern society. But now, as the series begins in a not-too-distant future, mindreading is normal. School-teachers assume it. Students live in a wildly noisy silence. And the girl who can’t read minds is a nobody, a zero.




    The author reveals her world convincingly through Kira’s honest narration. Well-imagined future words (“something totally mesh...”) make perfect sense without explanation. And details of the “past” leading up to this dystopia are very gently sprinkled, with no heavy-handed explanation. Playing to the intelligence of her readers, the author invites us to listen through ears that can’t hear, and to share that fear of never fitting in.




    Of course, Kira will find a way. She’ll overcome her perceived inadequacies, and cope with her sudden strengths. She’ll struggle to choose between the normal guy who loves her, and the stranger who seems to understand. And eventually she’ll join an epic struggle to change a world that never seems to change. I guess this, in a way, is the hidden strength and power of dystopian fiction. Whatever we change, we humans remain the same. We choose new zeros and heroes, fear anyone different from ourselves, and pour scorn on those who don’t fit in.




    Open Minds tells a complete and absorbing story, leading Kira from zero to hero. But the rest is yet to be learned in remaining novels of the trilogy. It’s a great start to a thought-provoking, enthralling, and exciting series.




    Disclosure: I’d read the Mindjack short stories before and was already hooked. But the novel offered even more than I expected and I really enjoyed it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2014

    Great

    Loved it. Can't wait to read the next in the series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 22, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great Start to a new Dystopian YA Trilogy!

    Looking for a futuristic YA dystopian adventure where the angst is low and the creativity is on full throttle? Open Minds by Susan Kaye Quinn follows one teen girl as she attempts to function as a zero (non-gifted) in a world filled with humans with the ability to read minds. Is she a late bloomer or is there more to her than meets the mind? “Readers” are accepted, but there are a few who can overpower them mentally, “Mindjackers,”who are considered dangerous and are herded into camps to control and experiment on them. The genetic family tree gave Kira powers far beyond any Jacker know before. With her life in danger, she is determined to save young “changelings” who are being used as lab rats. Her only hope is to overpower other Jackers and expose the government’s heinous actions. Will she succeed or will history repeat itself once again as the threat of mass genocide looms over those who are different?

    Susan Kaye Quinn has poured her creative genius into this dystopian tale and never skipped a beat, regardless of how fast the pace was or how many twists she tossed in! Her main character, Kira is strong, well-developed and honorable, being deceitful or using her powers for anything but good just wasn’t part of her make up. As a role model, she gives off positive vibes, with brilliant reasoning powers.

    Each scene in Ms. Quinn’s world is full of action, tension and so much realism that I couldn’t help but feel I was there, feeling what Kira felt, racing against time and the government to save innocent young souls. In a literary world full of amazing dystopian tales, Open Minds deserves to right up near the top of the heap! That this is book one of a trilogy, makes it even more special! Ms. Quinn definitely has a hit here!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2014

    Such an amazing Author

    Buy the trilogy. You will thank me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2014

    Social Social Nightmare

    Very interesring look at telepathy in society, highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great concept, Great book. I was given a copy of this book in e

    Great concept, Great book.

    I was given a copy of this book in exchange for an honest review.




    I loved the concept of this book. This is a unique, well thought out story. Once I started reading it I couldn't put it down.The story is well written,very riveting and very fast paced.
    I loved the characters. Kira's world is turned upside down when she discovers that she is different then everyone else in society. Her life becomes dangerous and scary for her. She has to make decisions the could affect anyone like her. She suffers hate, love, loss and indecision every step of the way. I loved this book so much that I immediately bought the next book in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 4, 2014

     NOT SPOILER FREE In general I thought that this book was essen

     NOT SPOILER FREE

    In general I thought that this book was essentially a relatively new, and fresh novel. It instantly drew me in with the story of Kira and how she was an outcast amongst her fellow peers - or in this world she's known as a "zero". However, there is her amazing best friend named Raf who is there to support and protect her (can I just say that their relationship was such a tender and precious thing?) 

    But then, all things change when Kira meets Simon - essentially the bad boy of the novel. Another male character that I outright adored despite some shady actions on his part. I truly loved him and his story line [spoiler]Why did he have to die? I was more upset about this part than I thought I would be considering all the terrible things he did but I know he died for a purpose and that he did care for Kira.[spoiler] and how he did, in a way, save Kira by showing her that she wasn't some useless zero who had no future. He took away her loneliness and showed her happiness - even if it was short lived.

    Kira's adventures and journey was terrible, but she stood strong and rallied against her foes. Another thing I loved was how realistic she [Kira] was. As a teenage girl, I can say that her experiences and how Quinn is able to portray the right emotions in her work is simply amazing. Kira proved to be a character that is remarkably easy to attach yourself to which makes the novel twice the more fun to read.

    Overall, I found that Open Minds was a compelling read that I enjoyed through and through. I was so please with how it went that I even think I'll be reading the rest of the series sometime in the near future. If your looking for a book with a female who GROWS into a strong heroine, and a likable one at that, then this book is for you. I loved it and believe it was a very well written novel. 

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2014

    Loved It!!

    This was a great book with amazing writing and a touch of romance. You can really feel the characters emotions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2014

    Great book

    Well written, easy read, love the whole trilogy

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2014

    Great Book!

    I am halfway through the second one and can't wait to get started on the third. I couldn't put this one down.

    The author takes mind reading to an interesting level. The main character, Kira, is spunky. Great, unassuming heroine! She's a great girl with a lot of heart.

    Definitely worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2013

    Omg i love it

    I really love this book it gets my attention i fail in love with this book wen i got bored at home i started reading this book an i was not bored anymore i really recomand u to read this book i bet u will like it have fun it keeps u awake i promise

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2013

    To:anyone who finds it hard to find clean books

    I want to thank the author for making a book that i can read without worrying over content. If you wants some free clean books, look up Chanda Hahn. She has at least two free and clean books. Unenchanted, and The Iron Butterfly. Both of them are great. I highly recommend this book and the ones mentioned. Happy reading. <br>
    -Nicole Grey &#9824

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2013

    Really good read

    I enjoyed this book immensely. It was a totally original plot. I had no idea what was going to happen next. Highly recommended!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2013

    It was great but sad...i cried

    ...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 77 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 4