Customer Reviews for

Open Season (Joe Pickett Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(48)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(32)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

entertaining police procedural

While still a Wyoming state game warden trainee, Joe Pickett ticketed a man fishing without a license. The man turned out to be the state governor. One week after being assigned to Twelve Sleep County, Joe fines outfitter Ote Keeley for shooting a buck out of season. ...
While still a Wyoming state game warden trainee, Joe Pickett ticketed a man fishing without a license. The man turned out to be the state governor. One week after being assigned to Twelve Sleep County, Joe fines outfitter Ote Keeley for shooting a buck out of season. However, Ote takes Joe¿s gun away and points it at the game warden¿s head before calmly accepting his ticket. Though he continues working hard, Joe has never fully recovered from the Keeley incident.

A few months later, Keeley reenters Joe¿s life when his daughter finds the outfitter dead at the woodpile near the Pickett home. Next to the corpse is a cooler containing pellets of excrement. Joe and fellow warden Wacey Hedeman assist sheriff Bud Barnum with the investigation. However, soon Joe is in trouble with his superiors, his pregnant wife for jeopardizing his job, and with a killer trying to add a nosy game warden to the list.

OPEN SEASON is an entertaining police procedural tale that works because the author steps out of the box by insuring his star is not superman. Instead he is just an average Joe struggling with learning his new job, obtaining a decent standard of living for his family, and still trying to do the right thing. The story line is filled with twists and turns so that the audience into thinking the wrong person is the villain. The endangered species issue is well designed within the plot with C.J. Box cleverly laying it out so that the reader can decide on this complex question. Fans will want more Wyoming mysteries starring a guy named Joe.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not a "can't put down" kinda book but an entertaining, easy read.

I'm an avid outdoorsman so any book that features hunting and outdoor adventure will get my attention. This book has plenty of outdoor reference and it seems obvious Mr. Box knows what he's talking about, but his writing is simple and fairly predictable. This is my fi...
I'm an avid outdoorsman so any book that features hunting and outdoor adventure will get my attention. This book has plenty of outdoor reference and it seems obvious Mr. Box knows what he's talking about, but his writing is simple and fairly predictable. This is my first book with this author and I'll likely try another of his books, but I'm in no hurry.

posted by 9283560 on October 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    entertaining police procedural

    While still a Wyoming state game warden trainee, Joe Pickett ticketed a man fishing without a license. The man turned out to be the state governor. One week after being assigned to Twelve Sleep County, Joe fines outfitter Ote Keeley for shooting a buck out of season. However, Ote takes Joe¿s gun away and points it at the game warden¿s head before calmly accepting his ticket. Though he continues working hard, Joe has never fully recovered from the Keeley incident. <P> A few months later, Keeley reenters Joe¿s life when his daughter finds the outfitter dead at the woodpile near the Pickett home. Next to the corpse is a cooler containing pellets of excrement. Joe and fellow warden Wacey Hedeman assist sheriff Bud Barnum with the investigation. However, soon Joe is in trouble with his superiors, his pregnant wife for jeopardizing his job, and with a killer trying to add a nosy game warden to the list. <P> OPEN SEASON is an entertaining police procedural tale that works because the author steps out of the box by insuring his star is not superman. Instead he is just an average Joe struggling with learning his new job, obtaining a decent standard of living for his family, and still trying to do the right thing. The story line is filled with twists and turns so that the audience into thinking the wrong person is the villain. The endangered species issue is well designed within the plot with C.J. Box cleverly laying it out so that the reader can decide on this complex question. Fans will want more Wyoming mysteries starring a guy named Joe. <P>Harriet Klausner

    17 out of 27 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2012

    Great book.

    I was skeptical at first, but the book took off and kept my interest very well. A little predictable, but worth the read. I'll definitely try the next book in the series.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 3, 2012

    On

    Great book i love the entire serise

    10 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2013

    Easy Read

    This is the first book I've read by this author. I thoroughly enjoyed the authors Wyoming settings. I also found the main character very appealing. Joe Pickett is such a normal sort of person. He loves his family, cares about his job and strives to do what's right. I liked him and wanted to see how he handled the situations that arose. The book was a bit slow at the beginning but an easy satisfying read. I'll be trying another in this series.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2013

    Recommend

    What a story it was shocking and scary I would read it again that is how much I liked it.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2014

    Season story bios

    Maya Knightly: black, curly hair. Purple eyes. Weapon: a bow and arrows. Two hunting knives. Animal: a wolf named Harvey. Power: can control snow, ice and wolves. Harvey: is a white wolf with yellow eyes.||||||| Eric Lean: black, straight hair. Green eyes. Weapon: a spear. Two hunting knives. Animal: a snow leopard named Rosie. Power: can control snow, ice and snow leopards. Rosie: is a white snow leopard with dark grey spots and brown eyes.|||||||| Sierra Johnson: blonde, wavy hair. Blue eyes. Weapon: a sword. Two hunting knives. Animkal: a fox named May. Power: can control plants and foxes. May: is a dark red, almost brown, fox with reddish eyes.|||||||| Aiden Bennett: blonde, wavy hair. Blue eyes. Weapon: a battle axe. Two hunting knives. Animal: a bear named Charles. Power: can control plants and bears. Charles: is a brown bear with black eyes.|||||| Taylor Simmons: orange, frizzy hair. Green eyes. Weapon: a sword. Two hunting knives. Animal: a pheonix named Blaze. Powers: can control fire, heat and pheonixes. Blaze: is a yellow pheonix that gets orange at the buttom. It catches on fire when commended.|||||| Tyler Simmons: orange, curly hair. Green eyes. Weapon: a sword. Two hunting knives. Animal: a stag named Colt. Powers: can control fire, heat and deers. Colt: is a brown stag with large antlers.|||||| Alexus Roe: brown, straight hair. Brown eyes. Weapon: two daggers. Two hunting knives. Animal: a flying squirrel named Gracie. Power: can control wind and squirrels. Gracie: is a cinnimon colored squirrel with white on her belly.|||||| Nathen Cuse: brown, straight hair. Brown eyes. Weapon: a spear. Two hunting knives. Animal: a dragon named Windlifter. Power: can control wind and dragons. Windlifter: is a red dragon with an orange belly. He has horns, spikes that go down his back and wings. He can control wind.|||||| As you have observed, every character has two hunting knives. These hunting knives can raidiate their powers. Meaning, when commended the knives shoot their powers at whomever they are fighting. The goddess of Winter and Spring only control the bad things of each season. Meaning, Melunknie, goddess of Winter, controls frostbite, hypothermia and stuff like that. Ellennoth, goddess of Spring, controls allergies and all the bad stuff that Spring brings. The god of Fall, Asmorrath( pronuced: as- moore- rath), was defeated decades ago by a another group of kids. If you need anything else just ask. Lexi :)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Great Book......Even Greater Series

    I began to explore this C.J. box series with book 1, Open Season, and now I'm hooked! I'm reading these books in order because, frequently, the series refers to incidents in previous books. I'm just beginning book 5, Out of Range and, so far, all the books I've read are excellent. Amazing descriptions of Wyoming wildlife and way of life.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Daisypelt

    A she-cat padded into the room. She had golden fur and sparkling green eyes. "Hello!" she meowed, "I am Daisypelt. I joined AquaClan many moons ago, but they were inactive, so I left. If possible, I would like to join SeasonClan. Thank you and have a happy 4th of July!"

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 4, 2014

    Ees

    They watch the clan.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    Firepaw

    Sure

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2014

    StormSwept

    She woke up with a jump as a leaf landed on her. She pelted out to hunt.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2014

    Barkclaw

    Yes, thank you.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2014

    Arent i the leader

    Solarstar

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Hazelstar

    DEPUTY APPLICATION RES 2(LOVE AND DECAY)

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2014

    SpringStar and SummerSun

    "Yes. All may join." She mews.<p>


    "Hello, HazelHeart."

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2014

    Enjoyable Story

    Likeable family. Suspensful fast read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 19, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Great Book

    Open season was a good read .

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2015

    Looking forward to the entire series

    A good read. I'll buy all the rest of them.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2015

    Loved this book!

    I kept seeing C.J. Box's books next to Craig Johnson's wonderful Longmire series and finally decided to give it a go. What a delight! Joe is his own man (with a family to support) and I love the way the tension built in this first of his series before it lead to its conclusion. I will definitely be coming back for more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Highly Recommended

    Easy and enjoyable to read. Have read this author before, and am looking forward to reading more books by him. This book is for the reader who likes outdoor adventure mysteries. It would create lively book club discussions.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3