BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Open Season

Average Rating 4.5
( 140 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(85)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

One of her best

I love Linda Howard, although she has been known to do a "clunker" from time to time. This is an older book, it's being re-released. I love the characters in this book! The humor that they have makes you want to meet these people in reality. It's worth re-reading, b...
I love Linda Howard, although she has been known to do a "clunker" from time to time. This is an older book, it's being re-released. I love the characters in this book! The humor that they have makes you want to meet these people in reality. It's worth re-reading, but you don't want to buy it again, thinking it's a new story.

posted by LTB88 on August 24, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

adorable

Hillsboro, Alabama is a small sleepy town with a population of nine thousand people. It is a place where everybody knows their neighbors and doors are always unlocked. Daisy Minor has lived there all her life and is viewed by the town as a straight-laced spinster, who...
Hillsboro, Alabama is a small sleepy town with a population of nine thousand people. It is a place where everybody knows their neighbors and doors are always unlocked. Daisy Minor has lived there all her life and is viewed by the town as a straight-laced spinster, who dresses down and acts prissy. Daisy is aware of the townsfolk¿s opinion of her, but on her thirty-fourth birthdays, she decides she wants a life.

She moves out of the house she shared with her mother and her aunt, gets a complete make over and hits the night club scene. Even before Daisy transformed herself into a good-looking woman, she caught the attention of Jack Russo, the town¿s police chief. He finds the new Daisy adorable and goes all out in his pursuit of her. When she witnesses a murder and Jack fears the murderer will come after her, he puts a wall of protection around her and her family. When they can catch the killer, Jack intends to take his relationship with Daisy to the next level.

OPEN SEASON is a humorous tale of a woman who wants a family of her own and does what¿s needed to gain one. The situations she finds herself in are so hilarious readers will burst out laughing at odd moments. The suspense adds depth to the relationship between the lead characters yet demonstrates that not every book Linda Howard writes has to be intense to be quite good. OPEN SEASON can be summed up in one word: adorable.

Harriet Klausner

posted by harstan on December 9, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 24, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of her best

    I love Linda Howard, although she has been known to do a "clunker" from time to time. This is an older book, it's being re-released. I love the characters in this book! The humor that they have makes you want to meet these people in reality. It's worth re-reading, but you don't want to buy it again, thinking it's a new story.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2009

    One of my all time favorites!!

    There is just something about Daisy Minor that gets you into this novel from the first page. In the same way you get into Blair Mallory's head in Howard's novels featuring her, Daisy Minor makes you smile. I don't want to deceive anyone, she's nothing like Blair - she is sweet, irreverent, innocent - but her romance with Jack (a tough cop) is definitively explosive. Also, equally enjoyed the mystery plot and romance plot in this one. Some of Howard's mysteries can seem a bit tired/weird - Angel of Death, anyone? - but this one is a real goodie.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    Addicting

    This was the first book i read by linda howard. I lost my first copy and with only 50 pages every readers nightmare. Actually bought the book a second time and it was soo worth it.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 22, 2012

    Best Linda Howard book!!

    I read this book about 10 years ago and never forgot it. It was hilarious and I just read it again last month. I am a huge fan of romantic suspense and this was a very pleasant surprise because it was so funny yet kept the romantic suspense aspect. Linda Howard wrote another book too that was a funny romantic suspense and I wish she would write more!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 22, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    Highly Recommended

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2011

    Chuckler

    I love this book. Talk about jumping out of a rut in the most entertaining way. Of course there is murder and mayhem going on. The cop is clever and figures out pretty quickly he needs to snatch up the girl. Ive read this and many more of Linda howards books and i have to say she rarely misses. Kind of a spoiler here...the grabby guy in the bar gets his.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 10, 2011

    Loved it!

    I truly enjoy Linda Howard's books and this one is over the top. I was laughing so hard I couldn't see for the tears running down my face. If you need a laugh a minute, this book is for you. I can so relate to the "heroine" in this book and our "hero" is really hot. It's a little bit mystery, a little bit fluff, and I've recommended it to all my friends.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2011

    Great book!

    This is another funny, sexy read by Linda Howard. I love the interaction between street-smart cop Jack Russo and naive, small-town librarian Daisy Minor. Underneath her prudish exterior, Daisy is feisty and sassy as heck!
    If you enjoyed this romantic suspense novel, you may also like: Shades of Twilight, After the Night and Mackenzie's Mountain by the same author. You might also try: a Thin Dark Line by Tami Hoag, anything by Lavyrle Spencer and The Far Pavilions by M.M. Kaye.
    Happy reading!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Bella

    Here

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2013

    Loved it!

    I loved this book. It was so funny, the characters were great. Daisy was such a character, I love how she re-made herself and her formerly sleepy life changed from sedate to being in the middle of a major drama. This book made me laugh out loud. I read some of the other reviews and am not sure if it is one of Linda Howard's older books, but either way, it's steamy, funny, a really good story, with lots of suspense, bad guys, action, pretty much everything you could ask for in a book without being outrageously unrealistic. Highly recommend. Great book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    Best

    This is the best book Linda Howard has written. All her others that I have read, (which is almost all of them) are good. This is great. Humor, suspense, passion. All put together in a wonderful story about two very likeable people. Three people, Linda Howard, Nora Roberts, and Sandra Brown, best at what they do.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2012

    Has everything!

    This book had it all. It had mystery, romance, and some super funny episodes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2012

    My favorite Linda Howard. Sexy,romantic and quite funny, the cha

    My favorite Linda Howard. Sexy,romantic and quite funny, the characters bicker and fall in love with ease. And Aunt Joella is hilarious.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 28, 2012

    Loved it!

    Just discovered this author. I love her. Very sexy combined with murder mystery

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 16, 2012

    Open season

    Great funny

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2012

    Humerous and entertaining

    Keeper! I will re-read it!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 23, 2011

    Great read - worth going back time and again!

    Linda Howard does a great job telling a story. She never disappoints!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    My favorite Linda Howard book.

    Let me just say that if you enjoy a good mystery,with romance and a large dose of humor thrown in,you will absolutely LOVE this book!Daisy Minor is a hoot.Some of her antics,like buying a 'party-pak' of condoms in the local pharmacy because she knew word would get around about her purchase,had me laughing out loud. She wanted the local men to know she was available and figured this was the best way to do it.And her sparring with cop,Jack Russo is pretty darn funny. I saw a review comparing Daisy w/Blair Mallory,another Linda Howard character. There is no comparison! Daisy is 10 times better than the silly,spoiled,shallow Blair!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    All i need is to see is Linda Howard and i know i'll love it

    Awesome. Entertaining. Enjoyable. One of my favorites.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2008

    Oh My Gosh Good

    this book is good right from the first page. i read it in one day. Linda Howard knows how to keep me reading. keep on writing books like this and i might be going to the library a lot more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 85 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5