Customer Reviews for

Open and Shut (Andy Carpenter Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Funny & Easy Reading

An easy reading book that doesn't bore you with mundane details. Whenever I read a crime story, I know that clues are left for us to try to figure out the ending.... but this time I never saw it coming. Andy is so down to earth and a nice guy that if he didn't grow up...
An easy reading book that doesn't bore you with mundane details. Whenever I read a crime story, I know that clues are left for us to try to figure out the ending.... but this time I never saw it coming. Andy is so down to earth and a nice guy that if he didn't grow up with the senator's daughter, they probably never would have gotten married. I am glad this didn't get in the way of the truth.

posted by Anonymous on March 1, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Okay

It was an okay book. It had many unexpecting events take place. The plot took a while to really pick up speed. I have to admit my favorite character is Tara, the golden retriever. :) I hope the next book is better than this one.

posted by stunning on August 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2004

    Funny & Easy Reading

    An easy reading book that doesn't bore you with mundane details. Whenever I read a crime story, I know that clues are left for us to try to figure out the ending.... but this time I never saw it coming. Andy is so down to earth and a nice guy that if he didn't grow up with the senator's daughter, they probably never would have gotten married. I am glad this didn't get in the way of the truth.

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Fun and Offbeat Escape

    I happened to pick up Open and Shut when my current list of "must read" authors had nothing new. I found an enjoyable story with characters-both two and four legged-that held my attention through the entire read. Many of us wish we had Andy Carpenter's lifestyle but the way he decides to deal with his windfall is both touching and enviable. Andy comes across as a good guy with a sense of humor about himself and life and is refreshing to read. I enjoyed my first Andy Capenter story enough to go back and purchase two more in the series.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2007

    Fantastic Author

    I absolutely could not put this book down! Andy Carpenter's sense of humor is what made the book. As soon as I finished it, I went out and ordered his other 4 books. David Rosenthal is now one of my favorite authors along with James Patterson, Stuart Woods, Phillip Margolin, Janet Evanovich. Harlan Cobin, Robert Crais and Sue Grafon. That's a pretty high ranking for a first book. I do hope the rest are just as great.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 20, 2010

    Recommended

    Just finished #1 & 2 in the series and rate both 4 stars. I just added all the rest (except cannot find #4) to my list to buy. Fast reads, witty, and informative. Gets right to the point and does repeat things over and over. Will recommend to my friends. J.Dee

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Tara

    Loved it. Can't wait to finish the last one. Hope there is more coming, really loved Andy.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    Open and Shut

    David Rosenfelt does an excellent job of pulling you into the story of OPEN and SHUT! My book club chose this for an "easy" read, but now we call it an "Excellent" read.

    Rosenfelt has you wondering "who did it" through out the book. You think you have it solved and then there is a new twist. The ending is SO unexpected.

    Great read!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    Great writing and story.

    I picked up this book at the airport and found my cross country flight was the fastest ever. I loved the story and the writing. I have recently purchased all of David Rosenfelt's books and love them all. I am so happy to find a new author that I enjoy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2006

    Excellent Lazy Summer Read

    I enjoyed this book very much. I consider it a perfect summer read. Not so heavy that you need to think a lot, but still with enough suspense to keep you going.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 5, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Okay

    It was an okay book. It had many unexpecting events take place. The plot took a while to really pick up speed. I have to admit my favorite character is Tara, the golden retriever. :) I hope the next book is better than this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    highly recommended, one of the best i have read lately

    i loved this debut book and i plan to start the others in the series soon. writing style was not too heavy but just right

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    Fabulous Read

    This is a great book if you enjoy courtroom mysteries,witty main characters, and a storyline that grabs you from the first page to the last. I loved every page and just wish it had lasted longer. I can't wait for Mr Rosenfelt's next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Lots of fun...

    Delightful! Well-plotted whodunit with witty protagonist; wry, dry humor is great in any season. Glad I tried this series; bought more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    Fast paced, easy reading, funny, and griping tale.

    Fast paced, easy reading, funny, and griping tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Fun read

    Witty and entertaining, whodunit read with the added "realism" of a great Golden Retriever, Tara. Since we also have a Golden, we can identify with Andy's love for a great dog and enjoy the humor of the author in his twisted tales, full of dry and not so dry, humor. Find ourselves reading funny excerpts out loud to each other. Very entertaining!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Very enjoyable

    I've been looking for another series that would stay interesting and not just rehash the previous story so I started with this one - I love the characters, especially the way the dog is worked in but doesn't take over - terrific!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    Highly recommend this series

    Enjoyable series, looking forward to reading next one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 18, 2011

    !Check this one out! Great lighthearted mystery~!

    I really liked this murder mystery and upon finishing it, I went on to read five more David Rosenfelt novels! Hs style is great! I love it when Andy goes against the grain of legalese and still comes out the winner! The dialogue is very refreshing and brought many laughs--not something I find in many courtroom dramas!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This is a very good book. Witty and suspenseful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    fabulous legal thriller

    In New Jersey judicial circles, the name Nelson Carpenter is legendary as the former District Attorney earned the respect of the entire state. In Passaic County, Nelson¿s oldest born, defense attorney Andy Carpenter abuses that reputation that enables him to avoid contempt charges due to his questionable courtroom antics that irritate judges and prosecutors, but frees his clients. <P>Nelson asks Andy to defend Willie Miller in the felon¿s appeal of a murder conviction that the older Carpenter prosecuted. Witnesses stated that they found the accused standing over the murdered corpse of Denise McGregor and Willie¿s fingerprints and blood were all over the murder weapon. When Nelson dies while attending a baseball game with Andy, the latter knows he must honor his father¿s last wish of him. As he begins to become more familiar with the Miller case, Andy is stunned to inherit a fortune and find a seemingly incriminating photo of his dad. Soon someone threatens to kill Andy if he insists on working the Miller appeal. <P>OPEN AND SHUT is a fabulous legal thriller that is at its best when Andy stays on center stage as a loose cannon attorney. When the subplot involves Andy¿s personal relationships with his wife and his private investigator, it loses an edge though having the sleuth capable of kicking butt is a nice gender bender twist. Overall, the story line is fast-paced providing readers a thrilling ride through the New Jersey judiciary system. Jurors will discover David Rosenfelt¿s debut is quite appealing and sentence the author to providing more tales starring Andy. <P>Harriet Klausner

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Good read for all Andy Carpenter fans who didn't read the first one.

    Great book like all the newer ones in the Andy Carpenter series. Being the first one, it gave me a lot of background information that helped me understand some of Andy's relationships a little better (like Laurie & Willie).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5