Customer Reviews for

Open and Shut (Andy Carpenter Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 91 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(30)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Funny & Easy Reading

An easy reading book that doesn't bore you with mundane details. Whenever I read a crime story, I know that clues are left for us to try to figure out the ending.... but this time I never saw it coming. Andy is so down to earth and a nice guy that if he didn't grow up...
An easy reading book that doesn't bore you with mundane details. Whenever I read a crime story, I know that clues are left for us to try to figure out the ending.... but this time I never saw it coming. Andy is so down to earth and a nice guy that if he didn't grow up with the senator's daughter, they probably never would have gotten married. I am glad this didn't get in the way of the truth.

posted by Anonymous on March 1, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Okay

It was an okay book. It had many unexpecting events take place. The plot took a while to really pick up speed. I have to admit my favorite character is Tara, the golden retriever. :) I hope the next book is better than this one.

posted by stunning on August 5, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2007

    Fantastic Author

    I absolutely could not put this book down! Andy Carpenter's sense of humor is what made the book. As soon as I finished it, I went out and ordered his other 4 books. David Rosenthal is now one of my favorite authors along with James Patterson, Stuart Woods, Phillip Margolin, Janet Evanovich. Harlan Cobin, Robert Crais and Sue Grafon. That's a pretty high ranking for a first book. I do hope the rest are just as great.

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2010

    Tara

    Loved it. Can't wait to finish the last one. Hope there is more coming, really loved Andy.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    Open and Shut

    David Rosenfelt does an excellent job of pulling you into the story of OPEN and SHUT! My book club chose this for an "easy" read, but now we call it an "Excellent" read.

    Rosenfelt has you wondering "who did it" through out the book. You think you have it solved and then there is a new twist. The ending is SO unexpected.

    Great read!!!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2009

    Great writing and story.

    I picked up this book at the airport and found my cross country flight was the fastest ever. I loved the story and the writing. I have recently purchased all of David Rosenfelt's books and love them all. I am so happy to find a new author that I enjoy.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2006

    Excellent Lazy Summer Read

    I enjoyed this book very much. I consider it a perfect summer read. Not so heavy that you need to think a lot, but still with enough suspense to keep you going.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 16, 2011

    highly recommended, one of the best i have read lately

    i loved this debut book and i plan to start the others in the series soon. writing style was not too heavy but just right

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 5, 2002

    Fabulous Read

    This is a great book if you enjoy courtroom mysteries,witty main characters, and a storyline that grabs you from the first page to the last. I loved every page and just wish it had lasted longer. I can't wait for Mr Rosenfelt's next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 3, 2013

    Lots of fun...

    Delightful! Well-plotted whodunit with witty protagonist; wry, dry humor is great in any season. Glad I tried this series; bought more.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 6, 2013

    Fast paced, easy reading, funny, and griping tale.

    Fast paced, easy reading, funny, and griping tale.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Fun read

    Witty and entertaining, whodunit read with the added "realism" of a great Golden Retriever, Tara. Since we also have a Golden, we can identify with Andy's love for a great dog and enjoy the humor of the author in his twisted tales, full of dry and not so dry, humor. Find ourselves reading funny excerpts out loud to each other. Very entertaining!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    Very enjoyable

    I've been looking for another series that would stay interesting and not just rehash the previous story so I started with this one - I love the characters, especially the way the dog is worked in but doesn't take over - terrific!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 8, 2012

    Highly recommend this series

    Enjoyable series, looking forward to reading next one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2011

    Highly Recommend

    This is a very good book. Witty and suspenseful.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2013

    Good read for all Andy Carpenter fans who didn't read the first one.

    Great book like all the newer ones in the Andy Carpenter series. Being the first one, it gave me a lot of background information that helped me understand some of Andy's relationships a little better (like Laurie & Willie).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Great Everything! Plot, dialogue, characters and maybe best of all lol dry humor

    Well written. Includes truly gem-oneliners and lol dry humor throughout, sometimes when least expected which makes it even more funny. Rosenfelt is a joy to read. Plot has suspense, strategy, engaging characters, terrific dialogue. The characters and plot evoke thoughtfulness and emotion from the reader. Rosenfelt draws you in completely and gives you a very satisfying read. This is the first book of his I've read and now I will be looking to read All his books!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 20, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Excellent!!

    When the latest Rosemfelt book made the best seller list, I decided to start at the beginning of the series with #1 first. I immediately ordered the remaining 6 of the series and can't wait for the newest one to be published. Each book is a page turner with a surprise ending. Great reading!

    It doesn't hurt to have a Golden Retriever of your own!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 12, 2009

    Highly Recommended

    I have been looking for different authors to read, since many of my favorite authors are deceased, seem to have retired or are not writing books as frequently as they did. After reading this book, the first in the Andy Carpenter series, I have now purchased three more -- guess no more needs to be said as to how much I enjoyed this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 11, 2003

    Thoroughly Enjoyable

    Quick easy read...hated to see it end...Recommend this book highly.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 3, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 44 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3