Customer Reviews for

Open Explorer

Average Rating 4
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(99)

4 Star

(42)

3 Star

(11)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

75 out of 87 people found this review helpful.

Really handy

Similar to the file browser capabilities within Quickoffice Pro and OfficeSuite Pro, but free! Actually has a few options and capabilities not found in those other apps—for example, showing thumbnails of your image files, choosing between list and tile layouts, and book...
Similar to the file browser capabilities within Quickoffice Pro and OfficeSuite Pro, but free! Actually has a few options and capabilities not found in those other apps—for example, showing thumbnails of your image files, choosing between list and tile layouts, and bookmarking commonly-used folders for quick access. Has a LOT of settings and options, which can be daunting at first, but it's well worth playing around with.

It can be a little buggy, specifically being sometimes slow to respond (which I assume to be a side effect of the many cusromization options it has to keep track of). I would like to see some of the smaller buttons increased in size, which might help smooth out the operation. I am also looking forward to the updates that promise to include cloud service syncing.

A little off-topic side note to the reviewer who commented on B&N's supposedly slow response in creating this app or whatever: that's not how it works! B&N does not create any of the content dowloaded from the shop. They only work on the OS developments. Apps we want to see nave to come from third-party developers just like apps on any other platform. So, thanks to the devs of this app for taking the initiative to create or port it to Nook.

posted by Ravenquill on June 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Open explorer

Ok, i bought this. Its cool. But thats not why I'm here.... this izs to barnes and noble. You guys need better apps..... like TEMPLE RUN and INSTAGRAM not flipstagram. The nook apps are getting boring. So please gives us mire apps like on the i pod

posted by Anonymous on December 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted December 13, 2012

    It's great that you can browse ALL the files and folders on YOUR

    It's great that you can browse ALL the files and folders on YOUR device, including all the hidden ones. However, this app often crashes for no reason when moving between folders or especially when you choose "select all" when trying to delete multiple junk files that B&N and various apps collect on your device. For that reason I give it three stars.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2012

    To "List View" or "Grid View" ... that is the question?

    I'm not feeling so crazy over this beta version! Both list and grid views look the same to me! I expect the list view to be ONE column, not two! It makes selecting single files EXTREMELY difficult even with a stylus ... I try tapping files one by one and end up with the folder, file, or pic trying to open when all I am trying to do is select it for doing a bulk operation! The version before I was more able to select or deselect file by file without it trying to open!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 6, 2012

    Can't install

    Just gets hung up and nothing else is installing now, either. B&N up to usual games?
    Not rooted, and have turned device off (powered down) 3 times...

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    A bit confused.

    I am confused on how to use the "Add server" part of the app. I wish there was a help menu for those who first buy the app and for those who tend to forget and need a helpful reminder now and then. Please add a help guide it would really help.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Really helpful app. Works like a charm, and there are new updates and additions on their way.

    Great app, works like a charm, very user friendly, with frequent updates and functional additions. I'm using it on a Nook HD+ tablet and really pleased. Even if you have Office Pro, this app is a solid addition to your Nook.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Like a lot

    Very good for moving files and even better since I don't need a separate computer.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Great app

    This app has been great to organize files. It seems pretty easy to navigate as well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 10, 2013

    Odd bug

    For some reason, when I try to browse to the third level, it bugs out and will open a .gz file even though I'm not opening that file. Please fix!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Highly useful

    The ability to easily manipulate the files on the Nook and the SD card was long overdue. This app is great and allows you to locate, rename and move files with ease.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Excellent! Thanks for your effort.

    Excellent! Thanks for your effort. A+++++

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Best File Manager for Nook

    This is the best file manager available for Nook. It is under active development and its free & open-source so I know that its safe!

    There are a few issues but less and less all the time!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2012

    Thumbs down

    Does not work on my nook color

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Very useful app

    This may be the only free file manager for the Nook, and it is greatly appreciated. You can see a lot of what is on your device, though certain areas (like the apps) seem to be hidden. At least I could not find them through a "search," which is available on this app.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Works great

    I can view, find, and edit files while viewing there extensions.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2012

    Dissapointing for now

    This ha to be inproved. Got many folder from my networked HD appeared and unable to delete. Found that md sd card was badly whrited and I got to fix it in windows to correct the systeme files.
    The windows not displayed also at the top when in full screen mode and make it bad to use it.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    It works as expected.

    I definitely recommend this app.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    This

    I like it. I'm able to make the back ground dark. My eyes like it better.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Awesome

    5 stars all the way this is amazing and it is fun to tinker with plus it lets you play files that you could not normally play

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2013

    STUPID

    Dude, this app does the same thing as a crazy toddler : takes up space, makes you cry, makes you want to get rid of it, and makes you go crazy.

    KK

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    :(

    I liked this organizer untill a sign popped up saying that because we payed for this, the maker was able to buy a NOOK Color, and is now BEGGING for donations so that they can buy a NOOK HD+. NO WAY! I'm deleting this NOW!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 176 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9