BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Open Explorer

Average Rating 4
( 187 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(104)

4 Star

(47)

3 Star

(12)

2 Star

(12)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

78 out of 91 people found this review helpful.

Really handy

Similar to the file browser capabilities within Quickoffice Pro and OfficeSuite Pro, but free! Actually has a few options and capabilities not found in those other apps—for example, showing thumbnails of your image files, choosing between list and tile layouts, and book...
Similar to the file browser capabilities within Quickoffice Pro and OfficeSuite Pro, but free! Actually has a few options and capabilities not found in those other apps—for example, showing thumbnails of your image files, choosing between list and tile layouts, and bookmarking commonly-used folders for quick access. Has a LOT of settings and options, which can be daunting at first, but it's well worth playing around with.

It can be a little buggy, specifically being sometimes slow to respond (which I assume to be a side effect of the many cusromization options it has to keep track of). I would like to see some of the smaller buttons increased in size, which might help smooth out the operation. I am also looking forward to the updates that promise to include cloud service syncing.

A little off-topic side note to the reviewer who commented on B&N's supposedly slow response in creating this app or whatever: that's not how it works! B&N does not create any of the content dowloaded from the shop. They only work on the OS developments. Apps we want to see nave to come from third-party developers just like apps on any other platform. So, thanks to the devs of this app for taking the initiative to create or port it to Nook.

posted by Ravenquill on June 5, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Open explorer

Ok, i bought this. Its cool. But thats not why I'm here.... this izs to barnes and noble. You guys need better apps..... like TEMPLE RUN and INSTAGRAM not flipstagram. The nook apps are getting boring. So please gives us mire apps like on the i pod

posted by Anonymous on December 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    Good & much needed on the nook.

    A very good file manager. Lets u move files between your nook and computer over your home network. Excellent support from author. Unfortunately B&N is very slow at uploading updates. I sent a bug report to the author, he fixed the bug and uploaded the update last week and B & N still hasnt placed the update in its store!

    21 out of 23 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Just what the nook needed

    Look forward to updates but so far so good. Love being able to create new folders and moving content into different folders without having to do it on the computer. Thank you devs.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2013

    Excellent Application

    In Windows I use Windows Explorer all the time. It always helps to know your file system. This file explorer does everything Windows Explorer does. Good job! I depend on it. I do a lot of file moving and copying. Best tool for the Nook!

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2012

    Must Have. Done.

    What else is therr to say, if you have a nook, thus app is a MUST. I can cofindently saw that this app is one of the best in th enook app library, easily. I want to thank the dev for creating this app, it deffinitely breathe life into b&n's barren library. Highly recommended for anyone who owns a nook, just makes it so much more easier to move around content without having to hook it up to a computer all thr damn time.
    Just takes some time to figure how everuthing works but once you do, your golden.

    6 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2012

    Best!

    Best app ever! And if you dont like it...who cares its free!

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2013

    Nice

    Nice look now all we need is to disable third part installation block

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2013

    Really helpful app. Works like a charm, and there are new updates and additions on their way.

    Great app, works like a charm, very user friendly, with frequent updates and functional additions. I'm using it on a Nook HD+ tablet and really pleased. Even if you have Office Pro, this app is a solid addition to your Nook.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2013

    Like a lot

    Very good for moving files and even better since I don't need a separate computer.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    Great app

    This app has been great to organize files. It seems pretty easy to navigate as well.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    Excellent! Thanks for your effort.

    Excellent! Thanks for your effort. A+++++

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2013

    Best File Manager for Nook

    This is the best file manager available for Nook. It is under active development and its free & open-source so I know that its safe!

    There are a few issues but less and less all the time!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2012

    Very useful app

    This may be the only free file manager for the Nook, and it is greatly appreciated. You can see a lot of what is on your device, though certain areas (like the apps) seem to be hidden. At least I could not find them through a "search," which is available on this app.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 27, 2012

    Works great

    I can view, find, and edit files while viewing there extensions.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    It works as expected.

    I definitely recommend this app.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2014

    Excellent

    Others have come and gone this app. Is here to stay

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2013

    Awesome

    5 stars all the way this is amazing and it is fun to tinker with plus it lets you play files that you could not normally play

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Great

    Love it

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    Helpful

    This was the only way I can find the music I transfer wit wifi sync.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2013

    Awesome

    This app lets me find files in my nook like a computer without a computer.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2013

    Excellent!

    Great and smoothly running app. Very useful!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 104 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 6