Customer Reviews for

Opening Moves (Patrick Bowers Files Series #6)

Average Rating 4.5
( 42 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(34)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Addie

Comesto kato and sits on him more?

posted by 16590664 on December 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Too graphic

I have read all the other Patrick Bowers books and could not wait for this one. However once I started reading it I was sadly disappointed because of the graphic and gory subject matter.

posted by 4607783 on September 28, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 24, 2012

    Addie

    Comesto kato and sits on him more?

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 7, 2013

    Exceptional beyond words. Invest in every word he has written, y

    Exceptional beyond words. Invest in every word he has written, you'll thank me later.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2013

    Loved it!

    I love Steven James. This prequel did not disappoint! I can not wait until the next in the series comes out. I believe it is titled The King.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2012

    April

    Pole dances

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2012

    I love Patrick Bowers!

    Great book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2012

    Very good prequel

    I've enjoyed the entire Patrick Bowers series and this one is no different. Enjoyed the twists and turns and liked the way everything was brought together. Still has a little room left for another book before the first one. Hint, hint. I will not give away the plot or expected unexpected twists. Let's just say this is Patrick Bowers that "Queen" talked about.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 14, 2012

    So Much More Than Just a Thriller I should start by saying that

    So Much More Than Just a Thriller

    I should start by saying that I'm not the typical thriller reader, but I love all of Steven's novels! For me they are beautifully written forays into difficult psychological and philosophical questions that force me to take a deep look at life and into my true beliefs. This latest offering is the most disturbing and therefore the most challenging of the bunch. My favorite aspect is that while the villains are unbelievably creepy and evil, you also get inside of their heads and see what caused them to become who they are. In a strange way, it creates a sense of compassion for the villains. While a part of me was screaming for justice, another part of me was longing for these men to find healing and redemption. It's the rare writer who can create such exceptionally rounded characters.

    Opening Moves is the prequel to the Bowers series. It did take me a few chapters to orient to the new time and place and to adjust to the younger Patrick. However, once I did, I was hooked as usual. And while it might be nice to read the books in chronological order if you're new to the series, there are also advantages to reading it as the sixth book, most notably the fact that these crimes are more vicious than any we've seen before and therefore create a sense of escalation for the series. Also, there are many fun and humorous elements that only longtime Bowers fans will appreciate.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    Great read

    Excellent book by Steven James. He kept you guessing throughout the whole book.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 5, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I think Opening Moves might be one of Steven James' most chillin

    I think Opening Moves might be one of Steven James' most chilling and creepy Patrick Bowers book yet (although all of them are creepy in their own way).




    I found Opening Moves very interesting and I loved getting to see Patrick Bowers in the way that we do and finding out more about this case (which was mentioned in other Patrick Bowers books).




    The story was super suspenseful and (at times) very gruesome - even I had trouble reading it at times and I don't get creeped out by many books - so I'd only recommend this to people who like scary books and can take gruesome scenes. There were a few things I personally didn't like, including when someone said "oh my ***" and a few other edgy things. That said, I did love the story very much and am still giving it five stars because it was so great!




    One thing I definitely have taken away from reading the Patrick Bowers series (and especially this book) is a reminder of how depraved humanity is and how we are all born sinners and in need of salvation which can only be found through faith in Jesus Christ. While Opening Moves does contain evil, it doesn't glamorize it or show it in a positive light.




    Some of the crimes talked about in Opening Moves actually occurred in real life which made this book all the more chilling and (at times) hard to read. This book made me think, held my attention throughout, and there were a lot of twists I didn't see coming! A great read that, as long as you enjoy thrillers and don't mind some gruesome/violent scenes, I completely recommend! You don't need to have read the other books in the Patrick Bowers series first because this is considered a prequel.




    After reading Opening Moves I now can hardly wait to read the next Patrick Bowers book, The King, which is set to release July 2013!




    *I received a complimentary copy of this book for my review. I was not required to give a positive review, only my honest opinion - which I've done. All thoughts and opinions expressed are my own.*

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2012

    Steven James brought us Patrick Bowers in his debut novel ┬┐The

    Steven James brought us Patrick Bowers in his debut novel “The Pawn” and the series has continued onward, earning Steven rave reviews and many awards along the way. His last book “The Queen” continued the events of Patrick Bowers both professionally and personally, but one thing was always in the back of my mind, how did Patrick get this way?
    With many series characters, the author sets you in the middle of their life, leaving the reader to wonder what happened to them in the beginning. Steven answers that question with his latest book “Opening Moves.” While this book is the sixth in the series, it should be read as the first. Steven is not only a master storyteller, but actually does have a master’s degree in storytelling from ETSU.
    “Opening Moves” takes the reader back to 1997 in Milwaukee, WI at the height of the Dahmer crimes. With a city still recovering from those events, Patrick is now on the hunt for a copycat killer. At that time, Bowers was a homicide detective and thrust into a deadly game of cat and mouse, giving the reader the exact point at which Patrick’s life changed. “Opening Moves” is a high octane thriller that expands on the life of Patrick, while taking the reader through a journey that is both horrifying and suspenseful.
    Put “Opening Moves” in your library, and then continue on through the rest of the series. Very few writers can do what Steven has done with this series and that is what puts him at the top of the thriller genre today.
    Reviewed by John Raab, CEO/Publisher for Suspense Magazine

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2012

    Do yourself a favor...read all of Steven James' books...you won't regret it

    I can't wait for the next Patrick Bowers story!! Steven James rocks!!!

    Hey Steven....I think Tessa needs to follow in Patrick's footsteps. I love that kid!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2014

    Great book!

    I started reading this author through a free sample than B&N was featuring and have become addicted! I love the Patrick Bowers series... if you're not familiar with this series, think Criminal Minds in a book... definitely start with book one, although each book has its own plot and story, there is enough carry through from prior books to warrant it. Buy it - you will not be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 19, 2014

    Great read

    Loved this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2014

    Opening Moves

    I have really enjoyed the Patrick Bowers series, they are well written, interesting and enjoyable to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2012

    To rose

    Post your numberif your hot

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Page

    Walks in

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2014

    Great

    Good Series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 34 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2