Customer Reviews for

Operation Mincemeat: How a Dead Man and a Bizarre Plan Fooled the Nazis and Assured an Allied Victory

Average Rating 4
( 113 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(43)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(17)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

As engaging as the best fiction....

You can't make this stuff up, and this book about a plan to fool the Nazis into believing the Allies would attack Greece instead of Sicily, was more gripping than well-written murder mysteries, and all the more so for being true. Mr. Macintryre clearly loves his subjec...
You can't make this stuff up, and this book about a plan to fool the Nazis into believing the Allies would attack Greece instead of Sicily, was more gripping than well-written murder mysteries, and all the more so for being true. Mr. Macintryre clearly loves his subject, an ingenious deception plot employed during WWII by the Allies, and his enthusiasm is deliciously contagious. It almost seems inappropriate to have enjoyed this story as much as I did, dealing as it does with life and death issues on an enormous scale. Some of the real life characters who played roles in Operation Mincemeat are fascinating, and fleshed out very well, such as the German intelligence officer who, because of his Jewish ancestry, was overly anxious to please his superiors and was only too happy to believe the incredible. Others I would have liked to hear more about, especially the man whose creative spark was the genesis of the project, Chomedeley.

posted by sscMA on May 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

A report, not a book!

This book is a report, not a story about the events. I found it very disappointing. It would have made such an exciting spy thriller but it reads like a report. I had to stop after 250 pages because I was sooo bored with the report like writing

posted by 4376005 on November 26, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Posted May 21, 2010

    As engaging as the best fiction....

    You can't make this stuff up, and this book about a plan to fool the Nazis into believing the Allies would attack Greece instead of Sicily, was more gripping than well-written murder mysteries, and all the more so for being true. Mr. Macintryre clearly loves his subject, an ingenious deception plot employed during WWII by the Allies, and his enthusiasm is deliciously contagious. It almost seems inappropriate to have enjoyed this story as much as I did, dealing as it does with life and death issues on an enormous scale. Some of the real life characters who played roles in Operation Mincemeat are fascinating, and fleshed out very well, such as the German intelligence officer who, because of his Jewish ancestry, was overly anxious to please his superiors and was only too happy to believe the incredible. Others I would have liked to hear more about, especially the man whose creative spark was the genesis of the project, Chomedeley.

    11 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Exciting reading about a little known operation during WWII

    I had seen brief mentions of this in other histories, but not really any information. When I saw this book, I hoped it would give details - and it does. The top secret, almost unknown intelligence group's variety tricks and misinformation operations reads almost like a spy thriller that can be found on the Best Sellers List. The photos included are helpful to follow the story. That this story is true makes it all more exciting. The planning, the problems and the mistakes that almost destroyed the operation kept me on the edge of my seat, even though I knew it succeeded. A fast read, it was hard to put down. Highly recommended for history buffs and spy thriller readers alike.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This book was wonderful. It had the read of the best fiction and

    This book was wonderful. It had the read of the best fiction and unfolded at a satisfactory pace, while still giving all the factual background information. I couldn't put it down, and I didn't mind what I might have been missing. 

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2012

    highly recommend

    As a boy I read "The Man Who Never Was" and was fascinated. What a pleasure it was to read, nearly 60 years later, the full account.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2011

    Reads like a thriller..

    "Operation Mincemeat" reads like a well written thriller. While extremely entertaining, it is also very enlightening. The story of "The Man Who Never Was" has been written before, but what we find out in Ben Macintyre's account is the rest of the story. The 1953 version written by one of the protagonists, Ewen Montaggu, was an expurgated version approved by the British Secret Services. It was an instant best-seller and the subsequent Hollywood film was a major hit. By serendipitous circumstances Macintyre came across information that opened up this incredible story. What is most interesting in this account is the way Macintyre weaves the stories of the other key players together. Each character has a compelling story individually; put together they provide a fascinating account of one of the Second World War's most successful espionage operations. If you have an interest in the Second World War or espionage this is a must-read book. You will have trouble putting it down until you read the last word.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2010

    A report, not a book!

    This book is a report, not a story about the events. I found it very disappointing. It would have made such an exciting spy thriller but it reads like a report. I had to stop after 250 pages because I was sooo bored with the report like writing

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2010

    RECOMMEND

    After all these years the whole story of The Man Who Never Was. I read of this story as a young man and now as an old man. A wonderful story that seems more Hollywood then fact. Interesting how someone who died with so little dignity did so much for the wars outcome. A nice read.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2013

    Great Book for the serious wwII enthusiast. Great Book for the serious wwII enthusiast. Great Book for the serious wwII enthusiast. Great Book for the serious wwII enthusiast.

    Operation mincemeat is the cover name for a scheme developed by British intelligence agency to deceive Hitler into believing that the Allied forces main attack plan was not Sicily ,but Greece and Sardinia. Knowledge of this ploy comes from records of one of the British Intelligence operators which was just recently found. The story is presented with meticulous detail, describing aspects of the intelligence agency operations that I had no idea existed. The problem I had with the book, may be more of my level of knowledge and interest in world war two activities, than the book but I had difficulty staying with it about half way through because of the in depth analysis and detail. I would definitely recommend this book to war enthusiasts who could appreciate the fine level of analysis and detail.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 7, 2012

    I don't understand the low ratings some have given this book. I

    I don't understand the low ratings some have given this book. I for one found it hard to stop reading and found the material utterly fascinating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2012

    True story of courage and luck

    It's amazing that it worked and helped turn the tide of WWII, a little slow at times, but still a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2011

    fantastic book

    reads like a novel. fastidiously researched.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2012

    never gets to the point

    long and plodding

    1 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2013

    Heaven

    She looks at bhp and giggles

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    hi

    anyone here want some sex? ill fuq u hard ladies... ive got a big d.i.c.k. and when i say big i mean BIG. like 12 inches big.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Will

    Ok ill leave after this but i have to s this.ITS A FREE COUNTRY

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 24, 2013

    Thomas

    Hey. Dude......

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    told before and better

    told before and better

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 23, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Sounds great, but it's really, really boring.  So many mundane d

    Sounds great, but it's really, really boring.  So many mundane details that go on and on.  I barely made it through.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2012

    WARRIORS' DEN

    Golddropstar

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2012

    :-)

    This a great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 114 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6