BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Ophelia Speaks: Adolescent Girls Write about Their Search for Self

Average Rating 4.5
( 17 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(13)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted January 13, 2009

    Ophelia Speaks

    Ophelia Speaks is the first non fiction book I've really read. I borrowed this book from a teacher for a book report, thinking that because it was non fiction, I would not like it as much as the other books I've read. Well, I was wrong, and this book got me to think about life from a whole new perspective. After the first two chapters, I felt like I really understood what these girls were going through, and it scared me to death. For these girls to be able to share their life-changing stories for anyone to read, took courage, and I admire all the girls in this book, including the author. I really learned a lot about myself from this book, and I know I'll never forget it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2007

    every teen girl needs to read this book!!

    i completley love this book sooo much. i really hate to read,but this book made me want to read all the time. i never put the book down i would be reading the book in classes when im not even supposed to be reading for that class! this book made me feel as if i was in the story like i was the main character in the story. i think that every teenage girl needs and should read this book. it makes me realize that wow people are going through that and you have no idea. people are going through these types of things that you would never guess that would be going through that. i recomned this book to ever teenage girl

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2007

    read

    i think it was a great i told a lot of people that i know that they should read it. A lot of it was really sad but you have to face the facts that all of it really happened and that it goes on everyday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2005

    What about the rest of you?

    There are so many books about normal people and nobody is perfect. Everyone has thoughts and feelings, everyone is negative at some point of time. Just because talking about anorexica isnt uncommon each author has there own opinion. I think this book was amazing. Just because there are some people who are 'normal' diease free, so they say, why can't books say how they feel about this subject. It's an epidemic in the world today. Women not liking there body, People who are sucidical. I think these books are great for those kind of guys and girls to seek help.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2002

    4 Years & STILL reading

    On my way to New York for a field trip 4 years ago I read a review of Ophelia Speaks in a magazine. When my bus stopped in Baltimore, I found a bookstore and bought it then. I had half of the book read before I came home and have since read it countless times. This book has managed to keep me sane when I thought I was the only person feeling "that way." I recommend it to any girl who feels alone or one who simply needs a good cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 5, 2001

    Extravagant

    This is the absolute best book I have ever read and will read for the rest of my life. Even if you aren't into readining this is such a page-turning book you won't be able to put it down until your done readinding it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2001

    All adolescent girls and parents should read this

    Like Sara Shandler, I read Reviving Ophelia. I found it to be generalizing and not at all accurate. Ophelia Speaks shows girls that they are not alone in their thoughts. And for girls that cannot relate to these problems, it shows them how trivial some problems really are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2001

    What about the rest of us?

    I applaud Ophelia Speaks for successfully detailing the lives of the abused, neglected, diseased and impoverished young women of America. I now can see through the eyes of an anorexic or a suicidal. But I am neither of these. I am simply a healthy, well-adjusted teenage girl seeking guidance and support from other normal teenagers. I can sympathize with the girls in this well written book, but I can not relate to them. I know that these specific girls deal with life threatening problems, and I comend them for the strength to share their stories. But I ask you this- when was the last time you saw a contemporary book written by a contemporary female author that did not deal with weight issues, suicide, teen pregnancy or drugs? I know there is more to the lives of today's young adult population than this. The media has just yet to recognize this fact.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2000

    WOW!!!!!!

    This was the best book in the whole world. I didnt used to enjoy reading but i just couldn't put this book down. I cried a lot because i realted to the media fed images as well as eating disorders and self hatred chapters and almost every chapter in the book. This book also helped point out to me that i am not the only one going through these problems and it helped me realize that i dont want to incounter intoxication, rape,suicide and things of that nature. It makes you realize how lucky you really are and i recomend for every girl world wide to read this book!!! There is no doubt in my mind that this book will forever and always be my favorite and thats why it is getting **5stars** from me. This is a book that u cant put down even if u dont enjoy reading you will want to read this book more than once!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 19, 2000

    #1 must read!!

    I recomend this book. I've owned a copy since 1998 and still haven't read it cover to cover because of the deep emotional impact it has on me. It is an awesome and true book. I applaud all the girls who wrote in for this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2000

    Amazing

    Ophelia Speaks is one of the best books that I've read. This is a book that every adolescent girl should read because it speaks the truth and we could relate to the stories. I laughed and cried out my heart reading this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2000

    A book that will make you laugh and cry

    I could not put this book down. It was so fascinating to read what other girls had to say about life in general. I reccomend this book to anyone, especially those teenagers who are looking to find who they really are.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 30, 2000

    Amazing!!

    Just like the headline says, this book was amazing. The stories I read all contained experiences that I could relate to in some way or another and I think that is what touched me the most. I can't remember the last time I read a book and ended up either laughing my a$$ off, crying a river or biting my nails so hard due to the seriousness and suspense found in the stories. You'll have to see how amazing this book is for yourself, I gave it FIVE stars..... it's DEFINITELY one that needs to be bought and read again and again!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 6, 2000

    Every girl must read this.

    This book was excellent. It displayed for me what 'reality' actually is. I enjoyed reading real life experiences of teenage girls just like me. Nothing is censored, held-back, or sugar coated. The honesty is truly touching and you feel as if these girls' stories are your own. This is a book that anyone can relate and learn from.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1