Customer Reviews for

The Opposite of Love

Average Rating 4.5
( 56 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(32)

4 Star

(14)

3 Star

(9)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted January 2, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A great read--I loved it!!

    I loved this book. I recommend this book to every one!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2008

    LOVED IT, LOVED IT, LOVED IT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book should not be characterized as 'chick lit' it is so much more than that I must admit it was what I expected, however, especially as a first novel (please keep writing more), I was blown away it was heartfelt, inspiring, funny, and most of all, hard to put down. By the end of the book, I felt that Emily was someone I would love to know, as a sister, friend, sister-in-law, etc. WHAT A JOY AND DELIGHT THIS BOOK WAS.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    All Time Favorite!!

    This book had me reading until it was done. I am a person that gets distracted easily and forget that I was reading a book, well with this book I wanted to read more all the time. I could not put it down and I hope that Julie writes more like it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2013

    This is my favorite book in all the world. The way Buxbaum crea

    This is my favorite book in all the world. The way Buxbaum creates complete characters, I felt like I knew all of them and loved them all. The characters are very human, with frailties and souls. I could read this book over and over and I have!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Highly recommend!

    Really love the wrting of Julie Buxbaum

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2012

    NotGrassfire

    Not Not-OPPOSITE-Clan's nursurey

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 29, 2011

    More than I expected, deep and heartfelt!

    The author conveys one's fears and how defensive mechanisms are put in place very well. The main character breaks up with her boyfriend before he can propose, fearing the hurt the future may bring. The story feels real; it is very touching, deep, and inspirational. She has to accept and deal with her grandpa's ill health who has been more like a parent to her, she's bothered by her fading memory of her mom, she's irritated that her father is not as involved, and she's not quite comfortable and happy with herself. There are so many levels to this book. It tackles grief, communication, fear, and the journey to find oneself and happiness. It was a pleasant surprise and worth the read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Love it. A must read.

    First of all I love this book. After reading this book I am now a fan of Julie Buxbaum. This was her first book, and I am glad to say she has another one, After You, coming out August 25, 2009. The Opposite of Love was a great read. It was so well written and funny. Great humor, I read it with a smile on my face most of the time. The novel is threaded beautifully with humorous moments and tear jerking scenes. You feel Emily struggles and are rooting for her all the way. Emily's life is so messed up, by her own doing, but you can totally relate to her. "Come on Emily get it together" you want scream at her. I guess it is catagorized as Chick-Lit., but it is written so much better than most of the Chick-Lit. I read. I can't imagine being disappointed by reading, The Opposite of Love. Highly recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2010

    Great Book!!!

    Great Book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    Love this!

    I don't usually read modern, 'bestseller'-type fiction, but this book fell into my hands and I started reading it on a lunch break at work. I couldn't put it down thereafter. Not since I was a girl have I been so lost in a novel! It's been pure enjoyment! I didn't want it to end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2008

    LOVE this book!!!

    I thought The Opposite of Love was one of the best 'romantic comedy' novels I have ever read. Maybe THE best! It was so good because it felt like it had some intelligence and insight behind it that everyday romance novels do not. I found myself underlining many quotes because of Julie's inspirational words. I cannot wait until she comes out with another novel. I admire her education and obvious passion for writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2008

    A Breath of Fresh Air...

    I was blown away by this book. I found Emily's apathy towards life to be completely unlike the main character in most 'women's' fiction - yet is something that many people, myself included have struggled with. I highly recommend this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2008

    Wonderful 1st book

    What a wonderful first book for Julie Buxbaum! I can relate to Emily so well in the book. A must read! I just started the other night and just can't seem to put it down. Looking forward to the ending. And can't wait for Julie's next book. Keep em coming!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2008

    Incredible

    By far one of the best books I have read. The characters are depicted in a way that allows the reader to literally feel their emotions. I started and finished the book within the same day - a must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2008

    Amazing!!!

    This book really captures the emotions of the character! Great book to read if you ever had doubts about your relationship or fear a marriage! I read the book in a day...I couldn't put it down! By the end of the book I was bawling! Definitely recommended! Looking forward to more books by this author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 11, 2008

    Outstanding

    Barnes & Noble highlights this book as part of their 'Discover Great New Writers' program and the accolade couldn't be more apt. Ms. Buxbaum's debut novel is expertly constructed, movingly told, and ultimately refreshing. And did I mention disarmingly funny? I thoroughly enjoyed this honest, deep, and witty read. In fact, I found that I missed spending time with Buxbaum's characters so much that I read it a second time!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2008

    Marvellous debut

    What a fantastic first! This has everything you could want in a book. A compelling tale of a captivating young woman. Haven't read a book quite so laugh out loud and tear- jerking. The saddest part was when it ended.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Good storytelling

    The night before twenty-nine years old Yale law graduate Emily Haxby dreams of slicing and dicing her boyfriend into Mu Shu Andrew the next day just before he appears ready to propose she ends their relationship. Her friends are stunned as they thought Emily and Andrew were the perfect couple. More confusing to them is that Emily cannot explain why except that it is her not him. Her best friend tells Emily that she is a masochist.------- Emily also worries about her beloved Grandpa Jack, who seems to be fading rapidly he is everything to her unlike her icy relationship with her father, lieutenant governor Kirk Haxby who wants her to follow in his footsteps by becoming a Manhattan attorney defending big corporations from lawsuits. Instead she escapes the Big Apple, her job and her relationship pressures to spend time with her Grandpa Jack and his best friend at the retirement home. There she learns what life is all about as THE OPPOSITE OF LOVE is not hate it is a soulless emptiness, but Emily struggles to understand how to refill the void once it has become a vacuum.----------------- This is a fascinating look at a woman who seems to have everything yet feels her life is vacuous as she believes she has nothing worthwhile except for Grandpa Jack once he dies Emily assumes that except for her memories, she turns empty. Emily is a terrific protagonist struggling with the meaning of life. Although the climax seems too perfect, readers will appreciate Julie Buxbaum¿s deep look at THE OPPOSITE OF LOVE.--------------- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 5, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 32 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2